We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New category of Hotel - DIY ( Do it Yourself )” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Daniel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Daniel to your Saves list
Hotel Daniel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sonnenstrasse 5 | 80331 Muenchen, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 380 Hotels in Munich
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“New category of Hotel - DIY ( Do it Yourself )”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Great location situated right in middle of city , Great Interiors which goes well with the city heritage .. But thats it !!! it completley do it yourself type hotel except cleaning of the room .

You have to carry luggage on your own from desk to room ... there is no one called Room attendant ., no facility of ordering food to room ... Very few smoking rooms ... No zone for smoking in gallery or in restaurant . No matter how much do you beg there is no facility to early check in or late check out ..

So for Business travaller these things don't affect much but for other type if you don't look for location advantage .... i suggest to skip this hotel ..

Room Tip: Facility of Clock Room is there - Just ask receptn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    50
    48
    11
    8
See reviews for
19
45
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Discovered this almost by accident but it's a nice little hotel in a superb location, with a tram stop right outside and only a 10 minutes stroll from the main station, with the city centre even closer

The room I was in was smallish but not uncomfortably so, and was scrupulously clean, whilst breakfast was as good as a continental breakfast can ever be.

The downside of the location was the noise from the main road outside, which meant it was virtually impossible to have the windows open - but this is a centrally-located hotel in a major city, so what else could I expect?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

The hotel was average as far as the services and rooms were concerned.
Breakfast was pretty good, though!
It is located just outside a metro entrance and right in the beginning of the main pedestrial historic road of Munich.
It is very very near to some awesome food/beer places, to a bookshop with english books, to a McDonalds and to the turkish neighborhood with some excellent food.
I'd stay again for sure

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Ive stayed at Daniel for three years running now during Oktoberfest and it's perfect for a weekend visit to the city.
It's located in the heart of the city on Sonnenstrasse, only two mins walk from the s-bahn which is on the mainline from the airport. The rooms are adequately sized, with bottled water and tea making facilities fresh each day. As a nice touch the rooms have duvets, which i find rare in europe. The prices are reasonable and there's a near enough all night restaurant next door for decent food at all hours. The breakfast is a normal continental one and the staff are helpful.
Yes it can be noisey with traffic and beer tourists and its certainly not a place i'd head to for relaxing or romantic weekend stay, but for our purposes it's perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

The location is great....walkable from the train station and to Marienplatz and all other sights in the area. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. But Wi-fi was an extra charge and our booked price didn't include breakfast so that, too, was an extra charge. The breakfast buffet was good, but not the best we've had. The reception desk was accomodating, but not overly helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

I have been there in November, 2010. Location is really good, close to down-town, 1 minune from metro and tram. But there is also the other side of the coin - hotel is situated on big noisy Sonnenstrasse Street. My room (1 person room) was too tiny, I felt sometimes incomfortable in area of appr.16-18 sq.m (including shower cabin and toilet). Staff was friendly and especcially I should mention breakfasts, they were simple but really luxury=))
The things were too bad are pillow and matrass. They were terribly soft. Looks like they have no idea about orthopedics... So my sleep was worse then ever, I am only 32 btw=))

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

The best feature about the Hotel Daniel is the location. Right next to Karlsplatz Stachus and directly at the top of the Marienplatz, ts is a great value hotel for an awesome location.

The rooms are small but functional (beware the bathrooms if you are a sizable bloke like me). No in-room fridges or shampoo/conditioner bottles, but the breakfasts are good quality and of sufficient quantity to make up for these lapses.

The service staff are helpful, if not always warm and are never short a restaurant recommendation. No heating control meant we were sweltering in -4°C weather, and since you're on a very main street, opening the window is not a great option.

This hotel has a TINY elevator. I rode it everyday just for fun. It held me, my bag and about a minutes worth of oxygen. Hilarious!

All in all, a sufficient place to dump your bags and explore the best parts of Munich.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Daniel

Address: Sonnenstrasse 5 | 80331 Muenchen, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Daniel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel is steps from the Karlsplatz (Stachus) square in central Munich, a 6-minute walk from Munich Main Station. It offers large rooms and a daily breakfast buffet. All rooms at the Hotel Daniel include satellite TV, internet via cable and a private bathroom. Wi-Fi is available in all parts of the hotel for a fee. Hotel Daniel is near the Old Town and the shopping streets in Munich's pedestrian area. The Marienplatz town hall square is a 10-minute walk away. The Karlsplatz (Stachus) S-Bahn (city rail) and underground stations are a 2-minute walk from the Hotel Daniel. This provides fast links to Munich Airport and Munich's Neue Messe exhibition centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daniel Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Daniel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.