We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant VUE Maximilian

Restaurant VUE Maximilian
17 Maximilianstrasse, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 2125-1740
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 2,700 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Friendly and attentive staff. Good food and large selection of dishes that caters to various cultural needs

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    46
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Special Evening Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were staying the Vier Jahreszeiten hotel and decided to dine in their restaurant. Location was lovely, we were seated in a window seat overlooking Maximillian Strasse and the restaurant was warm and welcoming. Service was impeccable and the staff very helpful assisting with the menu and the choice of wine to go with the meal. The Salmon starter stood out as did the superb Schnitzel, complimented with a good German white wine.

Not as expensive as you may think if you choose wisely and I would definitely recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truffles Pasta and Creme Brulee -Very Decadent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

As above, great food quality, reasonably priced for the quality. I had hoped for a more lively crowd -but then again we came for dinner at 21h00.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

we had the white truffle menu, and augmented it with caviar. excellent experience, good presentation and attention to detail. We would return again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain - Oxford
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Very disappointed Christmas dinner Goose overcooked & dry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I booked this table for two well in advance on the 11/10/2012 directly with the hotel and reserved a good window seat in theRestaurant VUE Maximilian Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munich.
We arrived at 18,00hrs as requested (We were the first guests to arrive) we were given a table that was ok but not the best position considering the alternatives available and keeping in mind we booked 2 months in advance and we are first to arrive ?!
The staff were abundant and service was attentive if not a little over zealous.
Our designated waitress was quick to get us moving and this made us feel rushed from the outset.
This rushed service turned into a pattern so followed a rushed early evening dining experience.
We ordered the following menu..

Half lobster tail on avocado-mango-salad and lobster-hazelnut foam

Fillet of turbot served with Champagne foam, Imperial caviar and truffled potato puree

Roasted goose on caramelized red cabbage, roast apple, roast chestnuts and marjoram-bread-

Pecan nuts „Monte Carlo“ with flambéed dairy ice-cream and hot Griottine cherries

I selected the recommended accompanied wine selection.
My wife a half bottle of her choice.

The first two courses of lobster and turbot were very good and met all expectations of a restaurant of this reputation.
The only let down was the speed of delivery all round very rushed with no moment to savour between courses. Not good !
Also at this point we could not fail to notice the abundance of young female staff standing in groups chatting giggling and having a good old natter as we were eating. Very poor behaviour in a restaurant of this level.
Within moments of us completing the second course of Tubot, the main course of Goose was rushed in and placed on the table with the obligatory "enjoy"
This unfortunately was not to be the case.
This Goose (Ganz) was over cooked dry and had no flavour !
So much so that the breast meat, (that was a sizeable serving) was so overlooked and dry even I could not cut it, let alone my wife !
The leg portion was stringy and the whole plate lacked flavour and presentation very disappointing food from this highly rated restaurant.
The waitress approached and asked "you enjoy" I replied
No we do not enjoy intact we would like to send the Goose back please ?
The waitress asked why and we explained that the meat was overlooked and tough.
They removed the plates and apologised.
Within less than two minutes new plates arrived and plonked down hard on the table with "Enjoy" !
These new plates were not plated up with any form of presentation and the larger portions of Goose meat were just as overcooked, the whole dish was in fact Cold and tough and the other items such as dumplings and cabbage were uninspiring.
This was very disappointing indeed.
We asked for the removal of the plates as we could not eat the offering.
Our final desert course was also very poor and a pitiful offering from this kitchen on Christmas Day.
Pecan nuts „Monte Carlo“ with flambéed dairy ice-cream and hot Griottine cherries all in name but a flop in presentation and no flavour whatsoever. A disaster desert.

Obviously my wife and I were very disappointed.
We asked for the cheque, we received no offer of apology and no offer of a reduction in compensation for our bad meal and spoilt christmas evening ?!
This is wrong and again very disappointing.
Out our politeness and not wanting to create a heated scenario on Christmas Day further destroying our Christmas evening and that of other guests.
I paid the total bill of €318.50 including tax & service
Through this trip-advisor review I now invite the manager of Restaurant VUE Maximilian to post a response offering an explanation for this complete failure in providing a quality meal on our Christmas Evening And what they intend to do in an attempt to recompense us for our disappointing meal on a special day that was booked months in advance?
This review and complaint will be sent to all relevant departments of your hotel group for complete transparency and clarity.
I await your prompt response both publicly via trip advisor and via private correspondence.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant VUE Maximilian also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Restaurant VUE Maximilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant VUE Maximilian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.