We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Definitely Stay Here Again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drei Loewen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Drei Loewen Hotel to your Saves list
Drei Loewen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schillerstrasse 8, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Would Definitely Stay Here Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated for the train station - it is literally a five minute walk away. As you enter the hotel, you are greeted by a lovely seating area to your right and the reception in front of you, which even offers I-Pads for your use. The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. The bedroom was set out very thoughtfully to take care of all your requirements, with a large en-suite bathroom. It had two bedroom doors, one was presumably a fire door which also acted as additional sound proofing. Other items eg. robe & slippers were provided free of charge from reception, upon request. The bed was very comfortable. Slight niggle was that there were several grubby splatters on the back of the bathroom door. The extensive and delicious buffet breakfast was from 6.30am until 10am in the beautiful dining area. Would have preferred the fruit salad to have been made from fresh fruit rather than from a can. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

Top Tips:

There are daily coach trips from Munich to visit two of King Ludwig II's castles - Neuschwansteine & Linderhof, stopping in a typical Bavarian village en-route. The former in-particular is breathtaking. The tour is a little pricey (we paid about 49 Euros each with castles entry of 21 Euros each and food in addition) but well worth it. We went in December and the heavy snow added to the romance of it but felt perfectly safe as the Germans are fully geared up for snow. Restaurant Haxenbauer in Munich which specialises in spit roast pork and veal is a MUST to eat in-the best meat and crackling we've ever tasted and reasonable prices too. You can see the meat spit roasting over a beechwood fire in the window. Would definitely recommend going in December for the extensive and beautiful Christmas markets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    113
    78
    11
    14
See reviews for
30
74
29
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denzlingen
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stood there in November 2012 and really enjoyed the place. The hotel is located very close to the main station and the breakfast as well as the rooms are nice. I can really recommend it to visitors who want to explore Munich downtown or want to use public transportation to visit outer areas. I regard this hotel as a three-star-plus place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rzeszow, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in January 2012, room was very very small but for one person good enough. Good location - close to the Main station, however this area of the city is not too good for walking around. Breakfast of good qualty and choice. Generally I recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed a week solo in a comfort styled room overlooking the courtyard (basically an air tunnel in centre of hotel allowing natural light) Loved the room, queen sized bed. Bathroom recently renovated had that streamlined granite and glass shower look. Soaps and towels replenished daily. Ask for rooms that don't face the noisy street full of middle eastern shops and strip joints. Hotel house detective coming in from side entrance present. Lobby hadn't yet been finished from flood renovations. Safe street walking anytime. Female hotel clerk bubbly and welcoming after a harrowing find from the subways from the airport. ( I don't speak German) Hotel a block away from train station was very convenient, station full of pretty good Euro fast food styled eateries featuring healthy fresh food. Breakfasts in hotel fantastic from silver tureens, tables dressed with a fresh rose, served on real linen and china Variety of foods hot 'n cold were replenished and staff polite and discreet. I would stay again and liked the time warp of the1930s vibe of my large suite on the 4th flr. Wifi was excellent on my laptop and even enjoyed the English Arab and Asian news channels on the flat screen. The room was good to come back to after very long days of touring history. Wished there was a small fridge and microwave or even tea/coffee maker but otherwise enjoyed the space and amenities. Very convenient for me was a coin laundromat two or so blocks away from the hotel. Dining room not open because of reno's so some evening meals were at the Marriott Garden Courtyard Hotel few streets away - 4 star on that for dinners. Paul Compassi - Edmonton, AB, Canada

Room Tip: Windows open on 4th flr and courtyard view quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel is very well placed close to the main station and within easy walking distance of the main centre.

The hotel is very well maintained, cleaning service at times too efficient, trying to clean the room around 9 am on departure day.

Breakfast was a buffet service with a good choice and quality of food.

The staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel has a free Ipad rental service to connect to the free wifi.

We made the mistake of getting a taxi from the Airport 75 euro's instead of the Bus service 10.50 Euros per person to the main station, which is then a 2 minute walk to the hotel.

If we were to return to Munich I would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey/Hants border
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel through EasyJet holidays. It had mixed reviews but I have to say I was very, very pleasantly surprised when we checked in. It is a very short walk away from the Christmas markets (the reason for our visit!) it has good transport links. A bar in reception as well as a reasonably priced mini bar in the room. The hotel is very well presented, clean and has a good atmosphere in the public areas. For breakfast you have a choice of continental or cooked options.
Our room overlooked a courtyard, was so quiet we slept really well and the bathroom has a massive two person shower! Lots of nice little touches such as free nail files, hand creams and sewing kits are also included.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope I will return soon. Munich has lots to offer and this hotel offers a great base to explore from.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Salford, Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Second stop at Drei Lowen and excellent yet again. Good quality hotel at fantastic price. Perfect location for Hauptbahnhof station and exploring Munich, far and wide. Walking distance into Old Town. Few hundred yards from station to explore further afield like Olympic Park or Dachau Concentration Camp. Good quality rooms and dining, very good breakfast including omelettes made to order. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drei Loewen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drei Loewen Hotel

Address: Schillerstrasse 8, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Drei Loewen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Drei Loewen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Drei Lowen
Drei Lowen Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drei Loewen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.