We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Senefelderstrasse 9 | Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have to admit that I wasn't initially very excited about going to Munich for the weekend and staying in a major chain hotel in the centre of town. However, we got tickets for the FC Bayern match and had to book the hotel with two weeks' notice. I did some quick research and thought this would be a decent place to stay as we weren't planning on spending much time in the room anyway. I was pleasantly surprised to receive a very warm welcome when we arrived fresh from the airport at 10 past midnight. The man checking us in was very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was very large given the location and featured a free minibar (just a few bottles of water, a beer, and pretzel sticks - but still a nice touch). It is not a brand new hotel and shows a few signs of wear, but the room had been cleaned properly and wasn't at all uncomfortable. The Wifi worked well and our room was fairly quiet at night. The best part about the hotel was definitely the location - the neighbourhood itself is a bit grotty, but you are literally across from the main train station so don't have to spend very much time there. We did a ton of sightseeing on a quick weekend break and loved being able to stop by the hotel as necessary and use it as our base. I wouldn't necessarily choose this hotel if I was in Munich for several days or wanted to relax as I generally prefer more atmospheric hotels outside of the centre, but for a mini break it met our needs. It wasn't particularly cheap, but then again nothing in Munich is!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    609
    144
    39
    17
See reviews for
227
472
112
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

stayed here a while back during a study abroad trip, and was thoroughly impressed. This hotel has a great location for exploring Munich, and is just a short walk away from the Hofbräuhaus, as well as the station. The front desk had outstanding customer service, and the rooms were amazing! Two story room with a spiral staircase, large bed, comfortable seating area with plenty of room for several people to hang, free mini bar (unfortunate I didn't realize that until I was checking out), amazing breakfast, and fast free WI-FI. Next time I'm in the area, I'll for sure be staying here!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex - England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mecure Hotel München City Centre makes an idea base for exploring München. It is just five minutes walk to the main train station together with it's associated tram, U-Bahn and S-Bahn links (including the one from the airport).
The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Upon arrival we had a slight problem with our room safe but the hotel technician came to fix it within five minutes so my wife and I could find no fault there whatsoever.
We had a room facing the courtyard which was both quiet and spacious. The walk-in shower was enormous and the bed was kingsize. The room even had the luxury of a free minibar and WiFi so how can you go wrong?
The breakfast was excellent and offered a wide selection of hot and cold foods as a buffet with the normal insulated jug of coffee on the table to set you up for the day. The Nürnberger sausages in particular were wonderful and my favourite.
Some reviews complain about the hostels on the same street and running the gauntlet of "smokers" huddled outside their hostels. Well, crossing the narrow road isn't too hard so I really didn't see this as an issue!
Overall we were very impressed with this hotel and would very happily stay there again. Recommended

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStaudenmaier, Assistant General Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear "Econet78"

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel München City Center. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very convenient to center, all attractions in easy reach. Rooms, service and food very good. Rooms clean, a good size and beds comfortable. Would revisit if in Munich. Short walk to center with plenty of restaurants and cafes. Also only about 300 yards from rail station with regular fast service to airport. 30 minute Train to Starnberger-See lakes a must for a two hour scenic cruise.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms overlooking court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStaudenmaier, Assistant General Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear "peterjp57"

we very much appreciate your kind review! it is always a pleasure to know our Guests enjoy their stay while spending time with us.

looking forward to welcoming you back son again.

best regards

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babgkok
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is worst ever in my stays with many Accor brand hotels including Sofitel, Mecure, Pullman, Novotel and Ibis.

The room was unclean, toiletries were unavailable, carpet was stained and dirty and no slippers were provided when I needed for dirty carpeted floor. The "free mini bar" was a gimmick with 4 bottles of water and soft drink altogether. There were broken glasses on corridor and breakfast was mediocre. Only good thing was the hotel was located close to train station albeit there were other hotels to choose from. I would never go back to this hotel again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStaudenmaier, Assistant General Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear "manatch"

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel München City Center. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Even though we "only" provided you with 4 drinks the minibar was still free of charge. My apologies for not having brought slippers to your room, there are actually slippers available at the Hotel and we would have brought them to your room had we known you needed them.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

best regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is very central, within a 5 - 8 minute walk from the main station and about 15 minutes to Marienplatz (main shopping street).

The room was a lovely large size, the breakfast selection lovely and the bar and hotel staff are very friendly. Unfortunately the air con in the room took a while to cool down when we arrived as it wasn't already on. My only negative would be that we asked for firm pillows twice, but never received them.

Aside from that - very good stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianStaudenmaier, Assistant General Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear "Jenna_du_Preez"

thank you very much for your kind review.

Please accept our apologies regarding the pillows, unfortunately I don't even have an explanation how this could have happened I assure you this was an exception though.

we are looking forward to hosting you again back soon.

best regards,

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center

Address: Senefelderstrasse 9 | Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#32 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel München City Center is located just 109 yards from the main train station. Relax in our comfortable surroundings: All 167 spacious rooms are air-conditioned and have WIFI. Our CBH-certified hotel boasts five meeting rooms for up to 70 people. The hotel is situated close to the train station, which is also beneficial for air travel, and the airport is a 45-minute drive away via the S8 highway. The A9 highway will bring you to the hotel, where you can park in the public garage.Our Standard Rooms are equipped with modern LCD TVs offering 100 international channels (including Sky Cinema and Sky Sports), a high-quality bed, comfortable seating, a functional desk space with WIFI, a free minibar and a kettle.Superior Rooms with approx. 323 sq. ft (30 sq. m), our Superior Rooms offer even more room for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Munich
Mercure Hotel Munich
Mercure Muenchen City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.