We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice well situated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Senefelderstrasse 9 | Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Tipperary, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice well situated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just back from munich the mercure is a nice well kept hotel with efficient, helpfull & friendly staff. Our room was clean and tidy on the 7th floor, as others said the lifts are small and so can be slow but not too bad. The breakfast choice is very good and also good quality the location is very handy very very close to the main station 10 minutes stroll to the marian platz, to sum up enjoyed our stay with no complaints

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenediktHeydweiller, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear premierman801,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel München City Center. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcome you back again in Munich.
Sincerely,
Benedikt Heydweiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    558
    136
    38
    16
See reviews for
202
425
110
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We chose this hotel as it was close to the main station and was nearby to the hotel where my business colleagues were staying. As others have pointed out, the area is a little seedy with strip clubs and some hostels around. However, there are also many other hotels and good Middle Eastern food. We chose a Privilege room which we were happy about as it faces the courtyard and not the street. The street would be noisy I think.

The room was decorated well and very large. There is a free minibar including Sekt and free wifi plus a printer in the lobby. It is great to be in a hotel where services are included.

Our only complaint would be that the towels were really small and not fluffy.

We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenediktHeydweiller, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Wombatdavid,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Hotel München City Center. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
sincerely
Benedikt Heydweiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel had the worst service I ever seen in a 4 stars. The cleaning did not clean my room on my 5 nights journey even though I complain 3 times to the reception in person.

The hotel is located on a not so recommended small street close to Munich old town. All rooms facing to the street are terribly noisy all nights due to the proximity of a youth hostel.

Internet is slow and disconnecting every second minute.

Room Tip: Avoid the street rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenediktHeydweiller, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Minoutore,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Hotel München City Center. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
After some Problems in that Period of October we already have taken measures and have completely changed the cleaning system in our hotel to prevent future occurences.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely
Benedikt Heydweiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Was here for one night and find this hotel quite good for city tour. Surrounding area is full of people from Turkey - so please don't be surprised. It is not first Mercure chain hotel I stay in - and I must admit they provide very sustainable level of service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenediktHeydweiller, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear VladimirG,

thank you a lot for the time writing a review of the Mercure Hotel München CIty Center.
It is a pleasure to read that you graded us with "sustainable service".
At Mercure, we continuosly work on our quality to ensure your next stay will be as pleasant as this one.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Munich.
Sincerely
Benedikt Heydweiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for two weeks. It's conveniently located next to the main train station in Munich. The direct neighborhood may be a bit typical with many casinos and erotica shops, but it feels safe to walk over the streets at night. I would recommend females to be extra careful when walking alone in the dark though as I've seen some typical people harass girls.

Staff in the hotel is very friendly and enjoys a laugh. English is well spoken.

Absolutely love the free minibar which is quite well stocked. Depending on the room you'll get coffee/tea, 4 to 8 types of cold drinks (including beer/wine) in your fridge and some candy/nuts to enjoy, for free. Awesome!

The internet access is free and quite decent. Low quality video streams and Skype are no problem.

The breakfast is a bit pricy at 20 euro/person, but offers a really nice and wide high quality of goods.

The bar has a built-in wireless charger for any kind of phone. Quite a neat feature, even though it doesn't always work well.

Rooms are perfectly clean and have a shower or a shower/bath combination, small safe, hot water kettle or Nespresso machine, large flatscreen TV, couch and a convinient desk.

Downsides are that this hotel has no swimming pool/sauna/gym although they do offer free access to a gym around the corner.
Also some construction is going on next door which sometimes starts as early as 7.00 AM and makes a lot of noise. It didn't happen every day though.

Bit odd was having a huge bed, but only a 1 person sheet and a single pillow.

Arriving at Munich airport, you can buy a public transport ticket to the haubtbahnhof where this hotel is located for about 10 euro/person. You might also want to consider buying a multiple day ticket. I got a week (7 days) unlimited ticket for all public transport in the complete Munich area for 46 euro which is a bargain compared to a single one way ticket for 10 euro.

The famous Marienplatz is just two stops away by S-bahn (about 5 minutes).

Loved the personal touch with the hand written welcome note in my room on my first arrival. For some reason they didn't do it for my second arrival.

Would surely stay here again when being in Munich.

Room Tip: I personally liked having a room facing the inner courtyard due to being able to have the windows op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenediktHeydweiller, Manager at Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear NL_Koen,

thank you for sharing your positiv feedback and thank you for being our guest in Munich.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
I will forward your remark concerning the size of our duvets to our headquarters, to see if we might be able to use king size duvets instead. In the meantime our team will be happy to bring you a second duvet to make your sleep even more comfortable.
Thank you again for your review.
Sincerely
Benedikt Heydweiller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center

Address: Senefelderstrasse 9 | Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#25 Family Hotel in Munich
#37 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel München City Center is located just 109 yards from the main train station. Relax in our comfortable surroundings: All 167 spacious rooms are air-conditioned and have WIFI. Our CBH-certified hotel boasts five meeting rooms for up to 70 people. The hotel is situated close to the train station, which is also beneficial for air travel, and the airport is a 45-minute drive away via the S8 highway. The A9 highway will bring you to the hotel, where you can park in the public garage.Our Standard Rooms are equipped with modern LCD TVs offering 100 international channels (including Sky Cinema and Sky Sports), a high-quality bed, comfortable seating, a functional desk space with WIFI, a free minibar and a kettle.Superior Rooms with approx. 323 sq. ft (30 sq. m), our Superior Rooms offer even more room for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Munich
Mercure Hotel Munich
Mercure Muenchen City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.