We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost an excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Senefelderstrasse 9 | Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Almost an excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This Mercure hotel is perfectly located, just a few minutes walk from the central station (Hauptbahnhof) and underground/tram.
Our room 523 was clean and well appointed, with a very pleasant bathroom. While Central Europe was having a heat wave, our room kept a nice cool temperature.
The mini bar, however with just water, a soft drink and a local beer, was free. To me that's for sure a plus.
The double bed had two separate duvets; we would have preferred one for the entire bed, but that's not a major point.
The room, 523, faced the court yard and was quiet.

The only two minor points are:
The two lifts are rather slow and in the morning it can be a long wait to get to use a lift.
At the breakfast buffet, which is very good, it takes a while before the staff asks if we wanted coffee; even if we wanted to get their attention to ask for coffee it took a while.

If back in Munich, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    610
    145
    39
    17
See reviews for
229
474
112
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed there in July for only 1 night with my son but was blown away by the welcoming and service I have received.
All front desk staff were smiling and assisting where ever possible. Housekeeping staff was extremely good too.
The neighborhood is not the best but when you are in the hotel, everything changes.
Very good value for price paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Mercure is about a 7 minute walk from the main railway station, which provides a train link to the airport. This was the main reason for chosing this hotel. You can't beat the location. The room was lovely, and have absolutely no issues at all. Unfortunatly the street the hotel is located on, is noisy at night. If you stick your hear out of the window and look right, you'll see at the end of the street the railway station. Because of it's location, it's in a busy part of town, and this creates road noise. The street is a sort of canyon, so any yahooing on street level tends to reverberate a fair distance, and is noticeable, even with the windows closed. It's not the Mercure's fault, as it's a great hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, mention this at reception and maybe ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
van bc
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had the opportunity to do seven city 6 country family vacation. It was a busy time in Europe but even booking days in advance for every city we decided to visit the Mercure chain was our first choice. The hotel was very consistent in the quality with nice rooms and great facilities including the breakfast buffets. When we were looking in Munich it was very tough to find a hotel as it was very busy. A young lady (Lea) at the desk of the Mercure got very creative and managed to get our family of 5 adults the space. We highly recommend this property and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff is great and the breakfast buffet is very good. The staff was very welcoming and was able to accommodate my early check-in. The rooms are clean, spacious and well appointed. The location to the train station is close and the walking distance to the sites is acceptable. If I come back to Munich, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center

Address: Senefelderstrasse 9 | Ludwigsvorstadt, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#32 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#39 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel München City Center is located just 109 yards from the main train station. Relax in our comfortable surroundings: All 167 spacious rooms are air-conditioned and have WIFI. Our CBH-certified hotel boasts five meeting rooms for up to 70 people. The hotel is situated close to the train station, which is also beneficial for air travel, and the airport is a 45-minute drive away via the S8 highway. The A9 highway will bring you to the hotel, where you can park in the public garage.Our Standard Rooms are equipped with modern LCD TVs offering 100 international channels (including Sky Cinema and Sky Sports), a high-quality bed, comfortable seating, a functional desk space with WIFI, a free minibar and a kettle.Superior Rooms with approx. 323 sq. ft (30 sq. m), our Superior Rooms offer even more room for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Munich
Mercure Hotel Munich
Mercure Muenchen City Center

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.