We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You wouldn't judge a book by it's coverwould you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambiente Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ambiente Hotel to your Saves list
Ambiente Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Schillerstrasse, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 380 Hotels in Munich
NW England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“You wouldn't judge a book by it's coverwould you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

When we arrived it was dark so the approach from the station (hauptbanhof) was nothing to get concerned about, it was only the next day during daylight that we looked again and thought, "oh my word" on one side is a computer cafe type place and on the other was little shop selling mobile telephones, opposite was a casino and diagonally opposite was a "candi bar" I don't think they sold chocolate though.

The entrance is no wider than the average front door at home so it feels very tight.
When you walk through you certainly leave the outside behind you, with a nice warm and cosy reception area and a smiling receptionist.

There is a small lift to the three floors and obviously some stairs.

The rooms are spotlessly clean with nice comfy beds. Some people have mentioned noise at night from the street but with double, double glazing we experienced no noise at all.

The breakfast was of a good standard, meats, eggs, cheeses and cereals.
However, the lady who works in there really needs to learn to smile a bit at least.

The facilities of the bathroom were very good in particular the shower which was great, the toilet tight in a corner let it down slightly though.

With the main station only a two minute walk away this is an ideal hotel to stay at and at a decent price.

If you walk beyond the hotel away from the direction of the station then the area becomes a bit more questionable, probably red light, we did however walk down there to go to Tolwood (which was closed due to high winds) and experienced no negative issues at all.

I tend to be a bit fussy where hotels are concerned so would I stay there again?..... Sure would!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    57
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
40
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We had a very good stay, we arrived two hours before check in and were allowed to enter our room with no problem (or cost). Our room was of a good size with plenty of storage and a comfortable bed and was very clean. There was a decent size minibar with a decent selection and a good price. Breakfast was very good with plenty of options and attentive service by the waiting staff.

Yes the hotel seems to be in a bit of a 'interesting' area, but don't let that put you off, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone if you want a clean comfortable base for visiting Munich.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villach
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Don't let yourself get fooled by the at first glance a bit seedy look of the area in which the Ambiente is located. It is close to Munich's central railway station, just a few steps away from access to the subway. The street is never empty of people, so even when you return late at night you feel safe an never lonely. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. WiFi WAN is offered for free.

They have a great breakfast buffet and a very caring and cordial, helpful staff always eager to make your stay worthwhile. Great place to stay in Munich.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Just stayed one night on our way through Munich. Accomplished much as the hotel is five minutes walking from the train station and ten minutes walk to downtown. The facilities were excellent in everyway. The street is so-so but this is very minor. We will stay here on our next visit through Munich.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed here during the last weekend of the BeerFestival. It wasn't my first visit and hotel was chosen because it is a well located Hotel, clean, comfortable and resonably priced. Hotel is not on the nicest street in Munich but it's not a problem as Munich is a friendly city. Rooms are a good size but quite basic. Bathroom door handle was a bit loose but otherwise no real problems with the room. Reasonable breakfast and very friendly hotel staff - one of the reasons that I return to the same hotel for each Beer Festival.

Room Tip: During Oktoberfest try and get a room to the back of the hotel as Schillerstrasse can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

not recommended, rude staff. Never again in this Hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

The location is quite close to the main train station and easy to walk just about everywhere.
If you get too far... you just jump on the S Bahn to bring you back to the main. The hotel is
absolutely nothing fancy at all.... very very basic. But the receptionist were helpful and friendly and the buffet was plentiful. Being from Seattle, the coffee was fairly decent. We were able to get a back room so I feel it was very quiet. A street front room would not be so good. We walked to Oktoberfest in about 15 minutes and it was great. If you are good with the basics, a comfortable bed and pillow, very clean, minimal everything, you will like this place.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambiente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambiente Hotel

Address: 12 Schillerstrasse, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambiente Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambiente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambiente Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambiente Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.