We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location for beer festival” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cristal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cristal to your Saves list
Hotel Cristal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwanthalerstrasse 36, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Hotel Cristal)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #214 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Guernsey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“superb location for beer festival”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

excellent location for beer fest, breakfast very expensive at the hotel, but go across the road and get excellent breakfast food for a fraction of the price.
Rooms ok, staff excellent and very helpfull.
10-15 min walk to all the tents, with a couple of bars along the way.
highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear beanjar51,
thank you very much for your review. We hope you enjoyed your time in Munich and at the Oktoberfest. Let’s come again next year and try our restaurant – it tastes delicious.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    159
    84
    33
    18
See reviews for
62
106
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Visiting Munich we found it a very friendly city and easy to get around town using the subway. We were in town for Oktoberfest. Yes it is crowded but full of beer drinking fun! The hotel was located just 1 block south of Haupthnhof train/subway station. The front desk staff at hotel Cristal are friendly and helpful. The room was smallish but updated and clean. The hotel also offers a small restaurant we didn’t patronize and a small bar that we had night caps in most evenings. The bartender is great originally from the United States he has great advice on all things German.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear BtripN,
thank you very much for your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Munich, in our hotel and on the Oktoberfest. We hope to welcome you again next year at the Oktoberfest, there are only 324 days left.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here for Oktoberfest. Of course the prices of hotels go up for this time of year, thats to be expected and we would normally expect more for our money but given the festival we let that slide. The hotel was perfectly located - 2 blocks from the train station (hint - make sure you come out the main entrance which is furthest away from the tube from the airport!), 10 mins walk south of the Oktoberfest site, and 20mins walk north of the city centre. Hotel is beautifully clean, staff friendly and keen to help. They all speak English very well. Complementary tea and coffee.. whats not to like?! The area was fine, yeah some casino and strip clubs about but not dodgy, just as you'd find in any city. We didn't get any hassle at all.
Only negative is the double beds and 2 twins pushed together with 2 single duvets but hey, we both slept like logs, probably better than in a norml double! (although perhaps the sleep was a bit beer fuelled...) PS Don't forget youre lederhosen!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear oscarthedogandjulie,
thank you very much for your feedback! We hope you enjoyed your time in our hotel and on the Oktoberfest. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house again for your next stay.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
195 hotel reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Sometimes looking at previous TA reviews you wonder if they've actually been to the same hotel as you. Just looking at one which says'This hotel is run down, poorly maintained, dirty and in a questionable neighborhood.' I would disagree with all that. The hotel itself is fine, the room was clean, modern and functional and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location is one block down from the train station, so there are a few slot machine arcades, take away outlets and table dancing type establishments, but nothing too 'in your face'. There were a few beggars on the streets but they werent agressive and no more than you would find in any big city. The hotel has a car park adjoining which is useful if you have a car as parking on the street wouldnt be possible. Its a 10 minute walk to the main street of Munich so excellent location. I would recommend the hotel for a weekend away or business trip. The only negative point was that the mattress and pillow were a bit too soft for my liking and if thats all I have to complain about it can't be bad!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear LS13,
thank you very much for your review! You can get other pillows at our reception, just ask for it at your next stay in our hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house again for your next stay.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with Hotel Cristal. Since we are Best Western Rewards members, I think we were upgraded to a large, recently renovated room that was clean, quiet and had wifi. The staff at the front desk and the bar were friendly and helpful. I felt safe in the neighbourhood, which seems to making the transition into respectability. Very reasonable price and very close to the main train station. We easily walked to the tourist area and restaurants, and enjoyed hopping on public transportation quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear deb M,
thank you very much for your comment! We are very happy that you had a great time in Munich and in our hotel. It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is run down, poorly maintained, dirty and in a questionable neighborhood. During my stay the television remote did not work, the a/c did not work and the elevator did not work. The accommodations are worn, the blankets are not clean, the bathroom had mold and the overall facility is poorly kept. Upon speaking with the front desk I was told this hotel is a standard four star Best Western property. I would highly recommend looking elsewhere for accommodations when visiting Munich.

Room Tip: For pleasant, clean accommodations when visiting Munich, stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear linda r,
thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry for the inconveniences in our hotel. But in our opinion the situation wasn’t as bad as you described it. Please have in mind that we are a four star hotel and we have to comply special requirements.It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good: The hotel is situated very close to the Central Train Station, the Marienplatz are within walking distance. The staff at reception spoke excellent English and was always friendly and helpful with any requests we had. We did not eat at the hotel, the train station has a wide variety of places and the food there was good and a lot cheaper.
Bad: Even though the location of the hotel is convenient, the streets surrounding the hotel are not the best area to be at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Cristal, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Marina V,
thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased hearing such a nice feedback from our guests. We are glad to forward that to our staff. Please have in mind that our hotel is located at the main station and therefore there are busy surroundings. It would be great to welcome you again at our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
BEST WESTERN Hotel Cristal Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cristal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cristal

Address: Schwanthalerstrasse 36, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Best Western Hotel Cristal)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cristal 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Cristal in the center of Munich is the ideal starting point for your stay in Munich. The central downtown location near the main railway station, the house has a very good transport link (S-and U-Bahn, tram) with direct connections to the airport (45 minutes) and the exhibition center (20 minutes). The city center nearby offers countless shopping (Kaufingerstrasse, Maximilianstrasse). Many attractions and the world-famous Oktoberfest on the Theresienwiese are just a walking distance away from the Hotel Cristal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, T4B, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Munich
Munich Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cristal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.