We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, average hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Royal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schillerstrasse 11A, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 385 Hotels in Munich
santa monica, ca
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service, average hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Booked this hotel primarily for free internet and location, both of which delivered 100%. We had two rooms on the same reservation, though they had very different setups and seemed to be different sizes. Mine felt particularly small, but it was enough to get by for a few days without unpacking entirely. And it was clean and comfortable.

We were there for a trade convention and both Pasha and Kerstin (reservations and front desk) were extremely friendly and helpful start to finish. They always had ideas and recommendations at the ready and knew the area well.

Definitely a "value" hotel...no frills...but the free internet, location, and great service made Hotel Royal a winner for my needs.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    249
    54
    18
    4
See reviews for
98
154
77
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

GOOD POINTS !

I usually never write reviews, but this hotel really does deserve a mention !!!

I stayed here at the end of May 2008, and was overwhelmed by how professional the staff in all departments were, even though the price of the hotel is quite cheap !!

They were all friendly and polite and couldnt be more helpful when i needed advice on certain tours etc.

The location is very close to where all the action is. About 2 mins to the main train station and about 5 mins walk to Marienplatz.

The thing I was most impressed with was the breakfast ! A great hearty breakfast which gave us enough energey all day.
Eat in moderation as there is so much great food in Munich !!

One last positive point. There is also internet access where the breakfast is located. You can use this free 24 hrs a day, and also a printer too !!

BAD POINT -
My room was a little hot, but there are rooms located on different sides. My friend was staying in the same hotel as me in a different room which was relatively cool, even in the middle of summer.


overall - I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend this hotel !!!

  • Liked — GREAT STAFF, GREAT BREAKFAST, GREAT LOCATION !!!
  • Disliked — room temperature bit too hot
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

Hotel Royal has an excellent location, a very nice helpful staff and is very reasonably priced for an inner-city hotel. The rooms are standard German-utilitarian (that is, very small) but were clean and functional. Street noise was significant, but again we're talking about mid-city Munich, so one should be willing to sacrifice. Breakfast at the Royal is acceptable, with a nice dining area.

All-in-all, a good experience.

  • Liked — Location, front-desk staff
  • Disliked — somewhat noisy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara, ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Pros:
- clean and spacious rooms
- free wireless internet throughout the hotel
- hot breakfast included, with bacon, ham and cooked eggs!
- located well and just 10 mins walk from the old town
- plenty of public parking options around
- discount with rick-steves guidebook for 2008
Cons:
- slightly shady neighborhood, strip joints around although it felt fairly safe
- smallish bathroom but clean

  • Liked — price, breakfast
  • Disliked — dodgy area
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

I must admit I was slightly let down by the hotel but I think we just scored a bad room (large, spartan, cold room which could have fit 6 people - we were just after a double!!!)

The room was however clean, the bathroom a bit old with some mould in the shower though.

The common areas of the hotel were great and free internet extremely handy. Hotel is very close to the train station and walking distance to town if you don' want to take the U-bahn.

Breakfast was very good, usual European selection with plenty on offer.

You don't notice that the area is a supposed "red light" district - in reality there are a few X-rated clubs about but you can't see inside, and there were no undesirables hanging around at all.

Overall, very good value for Munich and very convenient for the trains. I would stay again if we got one of the regular double rooms.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

Hotel is very close to the main train station and the Marianplatz. Very clean, modern, and the staff was superb! I had a billing problem when checking in and Kerstin, who was working the front desk, went above and beyond her duties to correct it. I figured it might of been my error and was willing to pay for the mistake, but Kerstin sorted everything out in a timely fashion. I would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend the Hotel Royal.

  • Liked — Staff, location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

Clean, comfortable, and convenient to train station. Easy walk to Marienplatz. Best breakfast of all hotels stayed in on recent trip. Eggs, sausage, breads, soft croissants. Fresh orange juice. Stayed in room #60, top floor with balcony . Paid 76 euro per night for a double, which includes breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Breakfast and convenience
  • Disliked — Street scene
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Schillerstrasse 11A, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Munich
#83 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to give you a warm welcome as our guests at the first non smoking hotel in the inner city of Munich. The smoke free Hotel Royal garni (breakfast only) is located centrally just a few minutes walk from the Munich central station (Hauptbahnhof). There you will find all means of public transport, suburban trains, underground, busses and street cars to explore all the sight of the Munich area. The major highlights of the city, like the pedestrian area, town hall at Marienplatz with its famous carillon "Glockenspiel", the Frauenkirche, the world-renowned Hofbrauhaus and the Oktoberfest are all within easy walking distance. After shopping and sightseeing you may relax from the turmoil of the city in the relaxed and familiar atmosphere of the hotel. A multilingual premium-TV-program, wireless Internet access via WiFi / WLAN in all rooms, Business-Corner in the lobby, daily newspapers and magazines are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.