We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal to your Saves list
Hotel Royal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schillerstrasse 11A, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Paris, France
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A welcome surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

I go to Munich frequently for business and pleasure. I have stayed in many properties near the Hauptbahnhof, but the Royal Hotel gets the award. It was a beautifully renovated hotel, extremely helpful and friendly staff and a terrific breakfast/public area. There is not only WIFI which works, but there is a coffee set-up in the lobby which is open all day long, at no charge. The rooms are modern, extremely clean and comfortable. I will be back again and again. It's a jewel amongst a tremendous number of mediocre properties.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    249
    54
    18
    4
See reviews for
98
153
77
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I agree with everything that has been said about the Royal, but I need to add a caveat. Do not, I repeat, do not stay here if you have a car. Schillerstrasse is such a busy street, that you cannot even pull up to the front to drop luggage or even to run up the stairs to find where the parking garage they recommend is. We ended up missing our flight the next morning because the parking garage we used opened up at 10 AM on Sundays and holidays unbeknownst to us. Great breakfast, great room, nice touch having cappuccino at any time and using the computer in the lobby. The proximity to the Hauptbahnhof makes up for the cabarets and topless bars next door and across the street. However if you do have a vehicle, email them ahead of time to find out exactly which garage to use because you will want to park first, then walk the 2 blocks to the hotel. Our unfortunate situation was not their fault, although I feel the Royal will probably be more aggressive in the future in advising their guests who happen to have a vehicle.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is a little jewel. It's family owned, clean as can be, attractive rooms, free wifi, location convenient to the railroad station (though the neighborhood is typical of a station area) and easy to get to the tourists sights of Munich. Their breakfast room looks like a nice cafe, and you can use the automatic coffee/tea maker anytime for cappuchino, espresso etc. Best of all is the breakfast buffet, which includes fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, sausages, cheeses, breads and pastries....quite a feast. Actually "best of all" applies to the staff who were consistently friendly and helpful. And the rates are amazingly reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

This hotel suited our needs perfectly. It was basic, yet was clean and comfortable.
It was 3 blocks from the main train station and about a 15 minute walk to all the sights in the Marianplatz area. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They all spoke english. They helped us rearrange our accomodations itinerary and find local bargains for goods and services. The breakfast buffet was better than satisfactory. Now, as some reviews have mentioned, there are some strip clubs and casinos down the block from the hotel. However, don't be deterred from staying here. The neighborhood was very safe and calm even at night. Overall, staying at this hotel was stress free.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The variety of produce on offer for breakfast was very impressive. The reception staff were extremely polite and welcoming, and the room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

A small fitness room would have made a huge difference for the activebusiness traveller who likes to burn off the pork and beer that is inevitably provided by his or her host! However, this is rarely available in hotels in this price bracket, so it is merely a suggestion, not a complaint.

I would thoroughly recommend the Royal hotel to business people attending shows at the Munich Messe, as although it is not close-by, the convenience of the U-Bahn from the Haupbahnhoff to the Messe, makes it a perfect choice. After a long day visiting or exhibiting, it is nice to be able to shower and then take a leisurely walk to dinner in one of the many surrounding restaurants and beer gardens.

Room Tip: High floor at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wherever I happen to be...
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed four nights at the Royal Hotel and loved every minute. The staff were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to make us feel right at home. We had full use of the espresso machine, with free coffee, tea and hot chocolate anytime, day or night. (That saved us a bundle, as we did not have to visit any coffeehouses during our stay.) We also had full use of tables where we could sit and enjoy a take-away meal or read the daily English newspapers. Staff members were informative and helpful at every turn. We were especially impressed with Ernst, the cheerful nighttime receptionist who, upon seeing us arrive late with a take-away dinner, dug out plates, utensils, and a yummy apple cinnamon muffin left over from the breakfast buffet!

Speaking of breakfast, this place has one of the best hotel breakfasts we've ever had. There is truly something for everyone: sausages, cold cuts, eggs, different kinds of cheese, cucumbers, fruit salad, bread, cereal, doughnuts and cake. There was delicious, American-style bacon every other day and, again, the espresso machine is freely available.

The entire hotel is non-smoking. The dining area has a computer and printer for guest use, but the staff members were also happy to print stuff off the internet for us.

We had room 74, on the top floor of the hotel, facing the courtyard, with views of the cathedral spires and the ornate town hall tower. The room was clean, quiet and absolutely huge. We had a leather sofa, a desk (with free wi-fi), two comfy beds (pushed together), a wardrobe and a bathroom. The bathroom was a bit on the small side and would not be comfortable for very large people. But maybe each room is different. I don't know.

The lift only goes to the 6th floor, so people who can't do the stairs up to the 7th floor should mention that in their reservation.

The location is super convenient to the main railway station and the old town. There are numerous shops, restaurants and exchange offices on the same street, and loads of public transport options from the square in front of the railway station. At first, we were hesitant to stay south of the station, since the area is also full of strip clubs and low-income immigrants, but the other reviewers on Trip Advisor said not to worry. I am so glad we took their advice and stayed at the Royal Hotel. We will be staying at this hotel every time we go to Munich.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I booked this hotel for 2 nights after reading several great comments on TripAdvisor. As far as location goes, it is very close to the main train station and about a 10 minute walk to the old city center. However, bring earplugs with you. This hotel is located on a very busy street and on the weekends, it is incredibly loud. If you can handle the fact that the hotel is also in the midst of about 5 strip clubs, then it is a bargain. The street was clean and felt safe, but it felt a bit strange with all the strip clubs, which makes for a very noisy (drunk) clientele into the early hours of the morning. Perhaps request a room away from the street. Our first night there was on a Thursday and we even left the windows open all night. The noise wasn't bad. Friday night though, the clubs were hopping and the street noise was terrible.

The service was outstanding. There is someone at the front desk 24 hours a day and they always greeted us with a big smile. One night, after walking around the city for hours, we sat in the lobby with lattes and checked our free wifi, and the front desk clerk went into the kitchen and brought us out several pieces of cake just to be nice.

The other major bonus for this hotel is the 24 hour coffee bar that is included with your room. It was really fabulous to be able to make lattes, hot tea, or hot chocolate at any time. The breakfast buffet was awesome. Everything you could ask for.

The rooms themselves were very clean and the beds were comfortable. I would stay here again- I would just ask for a room away from the main street and bring earplugs or a noise machine :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Schillerstrasse 11A, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Munich
#83 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to give you a warm welcome as our guests at the first non smoking hotel in the inner city of Munich. The smoke free Hotel Royal garni (breakfast only) is located centrally just a few minutes walk from the Munich central station (Hauptbahnhof). There you will find all means of public transport, suburban trains, underground, busses and street cars to explore all the sight of the Munich area. The major highlights of the city, like the pedestrian area, town hall at Marienplatz with its famous carillon "Glockenspiel", the Frauenkirche, the world-renowned Hofbrauhaus and the Oktoberfest are all within easy walking distance. After shopping and sightseeing you may relax from the turmoil of the city in the relaxed and familiar atmosphere of the hotel. A multilingual premium-TV-program, wireless Internet access via WiFi / WLAN in all rooms, Business-Corner in the lobby, daily newspapers and magazines are available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.