We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #87 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff was great. Whether it was check-in, dining, or concierge, it was all pain free. We are glad we made it our "home base" for the various locations we visited. it is well located in Rosenplatz only a few stops from the Munich HBF and Marienplaz, key points in Munich. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Their buffet breakfast was ample and tasty. While we had free wifi and it was fast, you could only have two devices on it. This got to be a challenge since we had to figure out how to log one off to put others on.s

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear gosees,

Season’s greetings from the Holiday Inn Munich City Center!

Thanks for your nice feedback with useful tips for our future guests. I am pleased to read that you had a good time in the hotel and in the city.
Regarding the wifi connection we are happy to inform you that you can now connect with three devices in each room.
Many thanks again for your nice feedback and thank you for choosing us for your travel needs.
Look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiasm in the days to come.

Sabrina Redl
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    700
    250
    68
    34
See reviews for
289
379
100
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was in Munich on business, so location was great. Check in was pain free. The room was a twin, which I'm not keen on, but was too lazy to change. The one thing I couldn't work out was how to turn off the fan in the bathroom. It droned on all night (my colleague's was the same). Decor is fine, if starting to look a little dated.
The hotel is "buzzy" in the bar area, which in my experience, is unusual and the staff were really good. Friendly and efficient.
The main gripe would be the time it took to catch someone in reception. There were only 2 people on at any time and the time it took to make any request was ridiculous.
Other than that it was fine, as long as you pay the right price I'm sure you will not regret staying there.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff were very cooperative and made my visit flawless. Thee front desk staff though swamped with clients, always found time to attend to all of us ad make everyone happy. I would definitely come back to this hotel

Room Tip: rooms on the fourth floor are very quiet and great for reading
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear JeffOtieno,

Thank you very much for your time to share your experience during your stay.
We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I will certainly share your encouraging words with the rest of the team.
It would be a great pleasure for us to be your host again in the near future.

Happy Holidays from your own Holiday Inn Munich City Center!

Sabrina Redl
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hethersett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You know what to expect with this brand and we got it. Hotel staff were absolutely fantastic and even the bar had lots of atmosphere. Yes it is a bit of a walk to the city but a great way to sober yourself up on the way home after a few too many beers. Coming from the airport we took to S-8 train for €10.40 each and got off at Munchen Rosenheimer Platz and didn't even have to go outside all the way from the airport as it's a short walk past supermarkets underground and all sign posted to the hotel from the station until you come to a set of steps. Up you come into the hotel itself. Quite a close hotel for a must visit Hofbrauhaus although the beer is good the food isn't.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear jezz c,

Many thanks for your nice feedback with useful tips for our future guests. It is indeed very convenient with indoor access to the public transport. The Hofbrauhaus is in the city center but we have Paulaner, Wirtshaus in der Au etc. for some good local food and drinks right next door. I am pleased to read that we could rise upto your expectations and you had good time in the city and also in our hotel.
Thank you for choosing us for your travel needs. We value your feedback and business. Hope to be at your service soon.

Wishing you a very happy holiday season on behalf of the entire Holiday Inn Munich City Center team!

Warm regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about the reviews for this hotel are accurate. The hotel staff are the friendliest I've ever experienced! My only recommendation would be to turn on the fan in your room as there are a few hostels on the street that cause loud street noise (we were on the 7th floor and it woke me up every night at 4am).

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ECR217,

Many thanks for your nice feedback. I will certainly share your love with the rest of the team.
My apologies that you were woken up at 4AM with the outside noise. It is sometimes difficult with the windows open. However please let us know and we will assist you accordingly.
Thank you once again for staying with us. It is our pleasure to be your host.

Happy Holidays from your own Holiday Inn Munich City Center!

Warm regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wanting to take my wife to Munich Christmas market for her birthday, I chose the Holiday Inn centrum for its location. This turned out to be an excellent choice, due to the fact we flew in to Munich airport and the hotel is based on top of the Rosenheimer Platz train station. It only cost 10.40 euros each, each way so is good value and only takes 10 stops if you use the S8 train. We had no issues with queuing up at reception, but that could have been because it was Friday evening, there were queues on Saturday but this was due to coach parties, seeing as people are happy to be stuck shoulder to shoulder in crowds at the markets I don't see the argument ! The receptionists are professional and helpful, the hotel is spotless and the room was perfect. Access to the city is a mere 20 min walk although taxis out front will take you in town for 7 euros. I would like to add, there is an excellent oriental food outlet in the shopping area under the hotel, some of the best we ever have had, and a bar at the entrance to the station which was great to party in after 9pm when the foodies leave. All in all, a great place to stay without a doubt.

Room Tip: They will all be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 194Outlaw666,

Season's greetings from the entire staff of Holiday Inn Munich City Center!
Many thanks for reviewing our hotel and leaving the useful tips for our future guests. It is our pleasure to be your host for your wife's birthday. Happy belated birthday to her on behlaf of our team. I am delighted to read that you had a great time here.
Thank you once again for staying with us and recommending us further. We value both your business and feedback. Look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusaism in the days to come.

Best regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a very decent hotel, clean, good service, decent sized rooms, and a pretty good location, although it takes 15/20 minutes to get to the main part of the old town it isn't far, and it also sits on top of a metro station where you can get to anywhere and really helpfully, it is on the straight line to the airport which takes 40 minutes.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Richard F,
Season's greetings from the entire team of Holiday Inn Munich City Center!

Many thanks for your nice feedback. It is good to know that you liked your room, the location andwere completely satisfied with the room. I agree that the train connectivity is really convenient. The train S8 is easy to take from the airport directly to the Rosenheimer Platz. The hotel is in the proximity of old town and is 2 stops away from the Marienplatz like you said.
Thank you once again for staying with us. We value your business and look forward to serving you soon with greater enthusiasm.

Best regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#54 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
#72 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and Cocktails are available in the stylish Bar and Lounge Hoch³. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.