We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swimming pool chaos” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #94 of 378 hotels in Munich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Swimming pool chaos”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel solely because of the pool and were disappointed. There were a lot of families staying at the hotel and the kids were out of control. At the pool, they were diving, pushing, and shoving. The pool attendant did nothing to stop them.

The room carpet is dirty and needs to be replaced.

Official check in time is 3:00pm. We arrived around 4:30pm and the front desk lady asked if we could wait 20 minutes for the room to be cleaned. I complained and all of a sudden a room was available. Why made your guests wait for no reason?

The only saving grace is the supermarket & S-Bahn station next to the hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear WY01,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am pleased to know that our location was convenient for you. My apologies for the wait at the arrival. It is equally unpleasant for us to keep the guests waiting and therefore we do our best to get them settled as soon as we can. The summer holidays bring our younger guests too partly for the same reason like yours: the indoor pool. The lifeguard allows the younger guests entry only with their parents. However I will pass on your comments to the relevant department. for necessary action both at the pool and in the room.

Thank you once again for staying with us. Look forward to restoring your faith in our amenities and services next time you visit Munich.

Best regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    654
    226
    60
    33
See reviews for
267
340
98
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is very convenient if you want to go into the town centre for shopping. However, staffing is short. I had to wait for my room and was not the only one. Breakfast is basic and again not enough staff on duty to deal with the amount of guests. Otherwise OK for a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear mm_wizard,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Our central location benefits all our guests reagrdless of travelling on business or for leisure. I hope you enjoyed not only the shopping nearby but also the nice walk along the river right here in the heart of the city.
My apologies for the wait at check in. Sometimes the delay is unavoidable due to the holiday season. However we value your feedback and I will certainly forward your concern to the relevant department.
Thank you once again for satying with us. I look forward to restoring your faith in our amenities and services next time you visit Munich.

Best regards
Ritu Agnihotri
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A exceptionally locatead hotel, you are everywere just waking. A meters to the munchen museum (recomended) , the market and Mariet platz.
Big Rooms but what it have, than you can pay is:
The Metro under the hotel and the metrobus close by
And.......The Breakfast!

Room Tip: All of them are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear "Cotecba",

we thank you for your effort evaluation your stay in our hotel. We highly appreciate your comments. It was our pleasure having you as our guest and we hope we see you soon again in Munich!

Best regards,
Franka Henke
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Got a great deal traveling with family for a family suite, which actually is 2 connecting rooms (one double and one twin).
Reasonable size rooms, very quite and good quality sleep. Generous breakfast. Conveniently and easily accessible by car, on-site parking (separate charge). Alternatively, a direct train from the airport stops just under the hotel.
Got free Internet access, being an IHG member.
Good, quite central location - just a short downhill walk (via a nice park) to the Deutsches Museum.
Large and clean pool, enough room both to swim and have fun.
It's a large hotel with lots of people (businessmen, families and groups) moving in and out, but it runs efficiently and smoothly!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear guest,

wow! We thank you for your 5-star evaluation!
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and you had a great time visiting Munich with your family.

We hope to see you soon again in Munich!
Best regards,
Franka Henke
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to stay here as it was cheaper than the Novotel next door. When we got there it seemed almost identical to the Novotel that we have stayed at. The rooms were a good size and clean. As it was an overnight stop to have a chance to see Munich we were pleased how close it was to the city centre. It took about 15-20 minutes to walk into Marien Platz which was a straight walk from the hotel and across the river. Munich centre was really nice with lots of places to eat.
Car parking for the hotel was convenient with an underground car park directly underneath the hotel with a lift with access into the hotels lobby area. Perfect place to stay to explore Munich - just wish had had a bit longer and it hadn't rained all the time we were there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear guest,

we are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay in Munich. Thank you for your honest evaluation!
We wished so but regrettably the weather is not in our hands. For your next trip to Munich however we keep our fingers crossed for a bit of sun. We would be pleased if you chose the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre again for your base while exploring the city!

Kind regards,
Franka Henke
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Once you find your way, accessing the S-Bahn through the underground mall is extremely convenient. There is also a tram nearby. The hotel itself is fine--no real character, but we appreciated having 2 double beds for our family. the location is perfect for accessing all of Munich and the airport easily by transit. The Deutsches Museum is an easy walk.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear "wsflyer",

first of all thank you for staying with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging in Munich and we appreciate your including IHG in your travel plans!
Thank you for your candid evaluation. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the central location, close to the S-Bahn and tram station, city centre and the Deutsches Museum.
We would be pleased if you would choose our hotel again for your next city trip to Munich!

Best regards,
Franka Henke
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is conveniently located on the transport system but only a 10-15 minute walk from MarienPlatz. Greeted as we would expect to be as Platinum Priority Members. The room had a great view over the city.
Our room was clean and we got free wifi.
The pool was big enough to swim in but was VERY cold (and we swim in open water!)
My only gripe was that having dropped our luggage off for the day when we checked out the luggage room was chaotic and we had to go in and find our own bags - had we known this we'd have looked more carefully when they were placed in there.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your evaluation. We highly appreciate you taking the effort!
All the more I am happy to read that you had a pleasant and convenient stay in our hotel.
Good to know that you enjoyed the view over the skyline of Munich!
My apologies for the chaotic state of the luggage room. We label all luggage pieces with numbers in order to make the handover easier. I am sorry that nevertheless you felt the pick-up cumbrous.
However I hope that this experience does not prevent you from visiting us again. We would be pleased to welcome you once more!

Greetings from Munich,
Franka Henke
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#54 Family Hotel in Munich
#67 Business Hotel in Munich
#77 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#94 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities.Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and Cocktails are available in the stylish Bar and Lounge Hoch³. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.