We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #75 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Stewart Manor, N. Y.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Happily surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were on a tour with Gate 1 travel and this was one of four hotels we stayed in while we traveled through Germany, Austria and Switzerland. We were happily surprised by the new carpets in the halls, the cleanliness and especially the wonderful linens on the beds. There were no laundry facilities and no restaurant but we found a lovely chinese restaurant on the same street. There was a supermarket on the lower level. Some people on our tour bought salads and ate in their rooms. The breakfast buffet was amazing because of the choices. I have never seen this kind of buffet in the states. The two computers in the lobby were always busy so one of the young ladies at the desk checked my flight, checked me in and printed my boarding pass. She did it so quickly and was cheerful as she worked. Thank you Holiday Inn for a good last night in Germany!

Room Tip: All rooms were the same but we like to be far away from the elevators so that no one walks past our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Pam112,
Thank you for your lovely feedback with useful tips for our future guests. I just would like to add taht we have our own restaurant. We also have room service if you ever need one. The laundry facility is also available Mon to Fri. We do not have coin operated laundry though.
It is our sincere effort to provide all our guests with superior service and comfortable accomodation. I am glad that you left with nice memories of your trip to Germany.
Thank you once again for your business. Look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiasm in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    759
    271
    73
    37
See reviews for
320
422
102
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This Holiday Inn was perfectly reasonable for a 4 star hotel. It is a large hotel, so it was busy, but that is to be expected. The staff was friendly. The rooms were an average size, well appointed, and very clean (especially the bathroom). The breakfast was slightly expensive, but for the amount and diversity of the food, it ended up being worth it.
The location of this hotel was really fantastic, with just a short walk, we were able to get to a ton of great restaurants, shops, and public transportation.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Alex C,
Thank you for your nice feedback. It is our sincere effort to provide all our guests with superior service and comfortable accomodation. There are economical offers available for breakfast buffet. Please ask our freindly reception team at the check in. We will be happy to assist you accordingly.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forwrad to welocming you with greater enthusiasm in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Holiday inn is a hotel which is pretty average. The rooms are somehow not up to date and the give you a feeling of the late 80´s. Nevertheless, the breakfast is good but it is always very crowdy (stayed here several times) and not very structured. The bar at the entrance level is is very good, fast and good service. I am a IHG Gold member and should have stayed on the 7th floor which is one of two IHG floors. I changed my room to 366 instead (third floor) which is a huge room for disabled people. (They did not expect any disabled guests). I can recommend this room, very spacy and well located.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Michael W,
Thank you for your candid feedback. It is sad to know that we could not impress you with new flat screen TV in the rooms. All of the rooms are now equipped with Wi Fi. The lobby is also newly decorated to make it more spacious and comfortable for all our guests during peak check in or check out hours. However, I will certainly share your comments with the relevant department to reconsider necessary improvement.

Thank you once again for your loyalty as Gold member. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you with enhanced service standards in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Hts, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very clean hotel with a helpful staff and an excellent location. The metro station connected to the hotel is extremely convenient as is the mall with a grocery store under the hotel. While the breakfast was good, it did seem a bit pricey. Rooms were very clean,comfortable and well appointed. This hotels can be very busy with tour groups, but if you read the reviews you should pretty much plan for it. This being said the front desk staff does a pretty good job of servicing the customers in as timely a manner as possible. I would probably stay here again when traveling to Munich. I thought the price we paid was actually pretty good for an urban hotel in Europe compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear B1j2m3c1,
Thank you for your encouraging words for our staff. I will certainly share with the rest of our team. It is our pleasure to be at your service. I look forwrad to welcoming you with added enthusiasm next time you stay with us.
Thank you for staying with us and for your further recommendation.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location was perfect, few minutes walk to city center.

Breakfast is amazing, all kind of hot/cold buffet stuff available.

The room was a bit cold at winter, so I asked for a warmer.

The service was average, especially out of working hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Lordbabak,
Thank you for taking time and reviewing our house. I am glad the location worked out well for you. I hope that we rise upto your service expectations next time you stay with us.
Thank you once again for choosing us. Look forwrad to welocming you with gretaer professionalism.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Munich-City Centre in June 2013. The hotel is convienent due to the S bahn station being located in the same building. There are a few restaurants fairly close by within walking distance. I took the opportunity to walk to the English Garden from the hotel: it was a pleasant comfortable distance. The X-games were in Munich and the hotel was full of attendees. I don't know how busy the hotel normally is, but during that week it was busy! The desk staff was very nice and efficient. The wifi was included. The breakfast was good, but not amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear TravelLouisville,
Thank you for providing us with your most valuable feedback. It i sour pleasure to be at your service. The breakfast buffet is usually everybody's favourite because of Live Cooking Station and Gluten Free Choices. It is sad that we could not impress you with that.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you with greater enthusiasm and enhanced service satndards next time you visit us.
Bets regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 3 days for a city trip.
The pros:
Comfortable beds, choice of different pillows
Central location and direct access to S bahn
Spacious rooms, nice view from the upper rooms

The cons:
For the internet, it is charged 5 Euro/hour. Even restaurants provide wireless nowadays, a 4 star hotel shouldn`t be charging this much money for the internet from the customers
The temperature arrangement of the shower was not working properly
As much as I liked staying in the hotel, I think it is too expensive for what it is offering; especially with charging extra for everything

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear xxrxx27,
Thank you for your candid feedback. It is our pleasure to provide all our guests with comfortable accomodation and quality service. I undersatnd that free internet is the need of the day and therefore the two computers in our business center are always available to all our guests for free to use. The charges for Wi Fi are fairly competetive for our area.
My apologies for the inconvenience due to water temperature.
Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to regain your trust in our facility and services next time you visit Munich.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Munich
#47 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#50 Family Hotel in Munich
#63 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and Cocktails are available in the stylish Bar and Lounge Hoch³. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.