We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #77 of 390 Hotels in Munich
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The USP of this hotel is the location and its proximity to S and U bahns. One of the hotel exits takes you to the platform at Rosenheimerplatz. You are only 2 train stops from Marienplatz, the heart of the city. Also a very convenient connection to the airport,take the S8 and you will be there in less than 40 minutes. The passageway from the train platform to the hotel is all covered with plenty of shops and you don't have to step out in the open. Though, it gets little scary at night if you are walking back alone and all shops closed.

The check in was very smooth and being a priority cub member helps. They have two floors for members and I was on the 7th floor, breakfast and wifi were included in the package. Rooms were clean, comfortable with a decent view of the city and had all the basic amenities. Buffet breakfast was excellent and had a large choice of food and beverages.

I enjoyed a swim everday during my stay, the pool on the 2nd floor is heated and pretty decent. Staff was very friendly and professional. Overall, a great property, centrally located and good value for money!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Ashimprabhakar,
Thank you for taking time and leaving us your nice feedback. We are committed to the guest satisfaction and I am delighted to read that you found our facility and services as good value for your money. We value your loyalty as PC member and it is our pleasure to provide you with superior service each time you visit us.
Thank you for recommending us. I look forward to welcoming you once again very soon to Munich and to our hotel with extra enthusiasm.
Kind regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    836
    311
    82
    41
See reviews for
372
483
107
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Pretty much what you'd expect from a Holiday inn, comfortable rooms, decent restaurant, friendly staff... no problems.
The real benefit of this hotel is it's proximity from the the clean and very efficient S and U bahns. The side exit of the hotel takes you into a small covered Mall and within 5 minutes your on the platform at Rosenheimerplatz with easy access to all areas of Munich and just a 35 min journey to the airport.
Alternatively a 15-20 minute stroll across the River Isor and your in Marianplatz square enjoying the atmosphere of this lovely city.

Room Tip: We found the rooms very quiet with little traffic noise.. We were north side (I think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Travelbloke,
Thank you for your lovely feedback with some useful tips for our future guests. Truly appreciated. I am pleased to read that we could meet your expectations and you enjoyed your time in our beautiful city.
Thank you for choosing us for your travel needs. We appreciate your business and look forwrad to welcoming you once again with greater enthusiasm.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just returned from a business trip to Munich. This is my 2nd stay at the Holiday Inn here. One tip is to enroll in Holiday Inn's Priority Pass program. Wifi and breakfast was included in my package, cost for a major city (when there isn't a major event in town) is reasonable - for a room with twin beds, cost was about 120 Euro/night. The week prior there was a major convention in town, and the cost was over 300 Euro/night.

Rooms are clean, small (by US standards), don't have a room safe, but does have an honor bar, ironing board and coffee maker.

The buffet breakfast was excellent and had a large choice of foods.

The best feature of this hotel is the adjacency to the S Bahn - you don't even have to walk outdoors to access, there is an underground tunnel/shopping center that links the hotel to the train station.

You are only 2 train stops from Marienplatz, the heart of the city.

The hotel does not provide any toiletries - which is a bit surprising; but there is a grocery store next to the hotel that you can buy whatever you need.

Room Tip: Join the Priority Club before traveling, they have 2 floors for Priority Club members, however, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Randy O,
Thank you for taking time and providing us with your feedback. Our location is mostly liked by all our guests. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and liked your room also. We have the basic toiletteries available at the desk in case the guest needs them. Please do not hesitate to ask our friendly reception.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future with added enthusiasm.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just back from 3 days in Munich staying at this hotel. Used to Holiday Inns and am Priority Club member. This hotel could not be better re transport into the city centre and to and from the airportand has a handy supermarket and other shops downstairs in the shopping area. Hotel is excellent, Breakfast is super with loads of choices - all fresh and the staff friendly. Plenty of restaurants nearby as the restaurant in the hotel is a bit pricey.
Only downside was the dark empty passageway we had to walk very late at night to get to the hotel from the S Bahn , would not have liked to have done it on my own.
Apart from that everything was great even the weather ( 23 degrees +)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Jen M,
Thank you for your lovely feedback with useful tips for our future guests. The appreciation from our guests is our true award. It motivates us to go the extra mile.
Many thanks for your loyalty as PC member. We value your membership and look forward to welcoming you once again with greater enthusiasm.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wehr
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very good hotel near the centre of Munich. A pleasant 10 minutes walk to the centre, crossing the Isar. Cannot find anything to fault with the hotel. Room good and clean, buffet breakfast good and to top it all a very good indoor pool to relax after a stressing day! The Hotel shares an underground car park which costs 20 per day.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back. The rooms appear to be well insulted. If you want to sleep with the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Wehr,
I appreciate your positive comments about our location, cleanliness, the buffet breakfast and the indoor pool. I am glad that you could enjoy the surroundings too. Thank you for choosing us for your short trip. I hope to welcoming you back with added enthusiasm in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Staying at this hotel for about 2 weeks, cos of S-Bah / U-bah and also the connected supermarket, thus my husband pick this hotel. This is my 1st time staying in this hotel.
1) Room - ok
2) Bathroom - Not ok, woman essentials was not provided , we got to call house keeping to request, i find it was rather troublesome, thus i buy my own , cotton wool , cotton bud.
3) Breakfast - everyday is the same! After 2 days of the same breakfast, it turn me off! And it charged 9 Euro.
4) Housekeeper - attitude ok , but cant communicate . Request for cotton wool / buds , but the house keeper does not understand me.

Overall, ok. The next time i will not pick this hotel. Still prefer next door Novotel Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear WennKoh75,
Thank you for taking time in providing us with your most valuable feedback. I am pleased to read that the location and room were upto your satisfaction. My apologies for not rising upto your expectations of available vanity items and the breakfast offered. It is our sincere attempt to offer variety of food items including fresh fruits, gluten free choices etc. to make a healthy start of the day. The live cooking station generally suits everybody's taste. However I have made a note of your observation and will certianly share it with the relevant department to reconsider improvements.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I hope to regain your trust in our facilty and services next time you visit us.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days on a business trip, the location of the hotel was very good, connected to the sub way not far from the city center. over all the hotel was very good.
this hotel does not offer free Wi-Fi you need to pay 35 EURO for one week. hotel is connected to a good supermarket, breakfast was great however it is too crowded.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Mohamed E,
Thank you for taking time and sharing with us your thoughts about our facility and services. I am glad our location worked out very well for and you liked our breakfast and facility over all. I agree it is sometimes busy in our breakfast area during the peak hours. We recommend our guests to utilize the off peak hours if possible for a much relaxing expereince.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with added enthusisam.
Kind regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#76 of 390 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Munich City
Hilton Munich City
#115 of 390 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,886 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#4 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Styles
Ibis Styles
#21 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jedermann Hotel
Jedermann Hotel
#36 of 390 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#52 Business Hotel in Munich
#54 Family Hotel in Munich
#60 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, free Internet, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and Cocktails are available in the stylish Bar and Lounge Hoch³. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.