We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #87 of 383 hotels in Munich
Wehr
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Short stay in Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very good hotel near the centre of Munich. A pleasant 10 minutes walk to the centre, crossing the Isar. Cannot find anything to fault with the hotel. Room good and clean, buffet breakfast good and to top it all a very good indoor pool to relax after a stressing day! The Hotel shares an underground car park which costs 20 per day.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back. The rooms appear to be well insulted. If you want to sleep with the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Wehr,
I appreciate your positive comments about our location, cleanliness, the buffet breakfast and the indoor pool. I am glad that you could enjoy the surroundings too. Thank you for choosing us for your short trip. I hope to welcoming you back with added enthusiasm in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    629
    212
    58
    30
See reviews for
246
322
97
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Staying at this hotel for about 2 weeks, cos of S-Bah / U-bah and also the connected supermarket, thus my husband pick this hotel. This is my 1st time staying in this hotel.
1) Room - ok
2) Bathroom - Not ok, woman essentials was not provided , we got to call house keeping to request, i find it was rather troublesome, thus i buy my own , cotton wool , cotton bud.
3) Breakfast - everyday is the same! After 2 days of the same breakfast, it turn me off! And it charged 9 Euro.
4) Housekeeper - attitude ok , but cant communicate . Request for cotton wool / buds , but the house keeper does not understand me.

Overall, ok. The next time i will not pick this hotel. Still prefer next door Novotel Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear WennKoh75,
Thank you for taking time in providing us with your most valuable feedback. I am pleased to read that the location and room were upto your satisfaction. My apologies for not rising upto your expectations of available vanity items and the breakfast offered. It is our sincere attempt to offer variety of food items including fresh fruits, gluten free choices etc. to make a healthy start of the day. The live cooking station generally suits everybody's taste. However I have made a note of your observation and will certianly share it with the relevant department to reconsider improvements.
Thank you once again for staying with us. I hope to regain your trust in our facilty and services next time you visit us.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days on a business trip, the location of the hotel was very good, connected to the sub way not far from the city center. over all the hotel was very good.
this hotel does not offer free Wi-Fi you need to pay 35 EURO for one week. hotel is connected to a good supermarket, breakfast was great however it is too crowded.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Mohamed E,
Thank you for taking time and sharing with us your thoughts about our facility and services. I am glad our location worked out very well for and you liked our breakfast and facility over all. I agree it is sometimes busy in our breakfast area during the peak hours. We recommend our guests to utilize the off peak hours if possible for a much relaxing expereince.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with added enthusisam.
Kind regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was a quick overnight stay necessitated by an airline strike, so I chose this hotel in order to get the opportunity to see part of Munich. The rooms were comfortable and reasonably quiet. Of course my travel agent forgot to provide my Priority Club number, and I forgot to mention it at check-in, otherwise I'm sure I would have receied an even nicer room. I didn't get a chance to enjoy the breakfast as I had to get back to the airport. There are several nice restaurants in the area, along with a subway stop.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Larryd6578,
Thank you for choosing us for your travel plans and for leaving us the positive feedback. I am glad that you liked your room. It is always a good idea to mention the PC membership number at reservation so that you get the PC benefits at check in e.g. already prepared registration card, room blocked on the PC floor when available, free water etc. I am sorry that you had to leave without enjoying our breakfast buffet. I look forward to welcoming you back soon in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights in April. Rooms were clean and plenty big for me. I had a room on 7th floor as a priority club member and also had a room with free wifi. The only comlaint was having to ask how to get the free wifi as it was not explained at reception and I didnt want to have a large charge on my bill.

Ordered the Clb sandwich on room servce whch was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear TravelfanEdinburgh,

Thank you for your loyalty as PC member. We value it. I am pleased to read that you liked the room on PC floor. The use of WIFi is usually explained as soon as you log in. However, I understand your concern and will certainly share it with my colleagues at reception so that they can inform our future guests. Thank you for your candid feedback. I appreciate it.
I look forward to welcoming you again with greater professionalism in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Fl
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is located on the Rosenheimer S-Bah stop which gives you excellent connections to visit the city. The S8 train takes you directly to the airport (40min). The hotel has different room configurations, for a family of four we had to reserve two rooms (65 Euros each), even though we requested a connecting room months in advance they did not have one available when we check in and had to settle for a room across the hall. The rooms are clean and small. For some reason this hotel does not offer free Wi-Fi, and it is expensive (Shame on you Holiday Inn). The biggest benefit of this hotel is the location above the S-Bahn station, with easy access to a supermarket and to a nearby restaurant Villa Italia with excellent food and price. There is a Hilton and a Novotel very close.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Elector,

Thank you for taking time and providing us with your candid feedback. My sincere apologies for not being able to fulfill your request upon check in. It is sometiems extremely challenging to block connecting rooms because of the high occupancy. I appreciate your undersatnding. Wi Fi is included in our high floor city view rooms and the two computers in the lobby are also available free of charge to all our guests. I hope this info helps you next time you visist us.
Thank you once agin for choosing us for your travel needs. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you with higher service standards in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

nice location with an easy access to the motorway (to go to Ottobrunn) and close to the historic part of the city. Room correct except the TV ( poor reception unacceptable for this kind of hotel) and noisy clim.
Breakfast is good but too many people in the rooms. Special mention to the club sandw on the evening which is "une tuerie !"

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Cedric B,
Thank you for leaving us your valuable feedback. I am glad that the hotel location worked out well for you. The TV upgrade to flat screen is awaited this month and will surly improve the reception. The breakfast room unfortunately gets overcrowded on our busy days and therefore we recommend our guests to use off peak hours if possible, for a relaxing experience. I will share your comments with the relevant department to reconsider improvemts.
Thank you staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you in the days to come with enhanced service standards.
Warmest regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#50 Family Hotel in Munich
#55 Business Hotel in Munich
#76 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities.Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and Cocktails are available in the stylish Bar and Lounge Hoch³. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.