We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a convenient choice in Munich” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #88 of 383 hotels in Munich
Miami Fl
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just a convenient choice in Munich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is located on the Rosenheimer S-Bah stop which gives you excellent connections to visit the city. The S8 train takes you directly to the airport (40min). The hotel has different room configurations, for a family of four we had to reserve two rooms (65 Euros each), even though we requested a connecting room months in advance they did not have one available when we check in and had to settle for a room across the hall. The rooms are clean and small. For some reason this hotel does not offer free Wi-Fi, and it is expensive (Shame on you Holiday Inn). The biggest benefit of this hotel is the location above the S-Bahn station, with easy access to a supermarket and to a nearby restaurant Villa Italia with excellent food and price. There is a Hilton and a Novotel very close.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Elector,

Thank you for taking time and providing us with your candid feedback. My sincere apologies for not being able to fulfill your request upon check in. It is sometiems extremely challenging to block connecting rooms because of the high occupancy. I appreciate your undersatnding. Wi Fi is included in our high floor city view rooms and the two computers in the lobby are also available free of charge to all our guests. I hope this info helps you next time you visist us.
Thank you once agin for choosing us for your travel needs. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you with higher service standards in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    297
    629
    213
    58
    30
See reviews for
247
323
97
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

nice location with an easy access to the motorway (to go to Ottobrunn) and close to the historic part of the city. Room correct except the TV ( poor reception unacceptable for this kind of hotel) and noisy clim.
Breakfast is good but too many people in the rooms. Special mention to the club sandw on the evening which is "une tuerie !"

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Cedric B,
Thank you for leaving us your valuable feedback. I am glad that the hotel location worked out well for you. The TV upgrade to flat screen is awaited this month and will surly improve the reception. The breakfast room unfortunately gets overcrowded on our busy days and therefore we recommend our guests to use off peak hours if possible, for a relaxing experience. I will share your comments with the relevant department to reconsider improvemts.
Thank you staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you in the days to come with enhanced service standards.
Warmest regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went to Munchen for a weekend and the Holiday is such a fab place to stay ! We loved it ! Can't fault it. Great room. Friendly staff. Amazing breakfast. Well stocked bar. Limited dinner menu, but more than adequate - the weiner schnitzel was huge !
Would certainly recommend this hotel as a base for visiting this amazing city and, fingers crossed, will be returning.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Rachael S,
Thank you for taking time and providing us with your most valuable feedback. I am absolutely delighted to read your encouraging words. We are committed to the guest satisfaction and your nice comments motivate us to exceed the guest expectations. Thank you for your further recommendation too. I will share your apreciation with our team.

I will keep the fingers crossed for you. Hope you return soon to Munich and to our hotel. Looking forward to serve you with added enthusiasm.

Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here before (3rd Visit) and for convenince will do so again however the prices have gone up and my biggest gripe is the cost of internet

As a choice for me Internet is the most importnat thing and was not very cost effectiove

Near to supermarkets and stations so very positive with that

Breakfast charges way over the top @ 23 EU

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear PoppaHopper,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I agree that internet is most important for some of our guests. It is included in our high flooor city view rooms. The two computers in the business center are also available free of charge to all our guests. The breakfast offers live cooking station and the gluten free choices. We have offers available upon check in if you would like to include it for a lower price. Please let us know your preferences upon check in and we would be happy to assist you accordingly.

Thank you once again for staying with us and for choosing us frequently. We appreciate your business.

Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here couple of times for night or two. The hotel is located very central, also connected to the metro station but you still need to walk a little bit and the underground area is not that nice, especially if you are there late in night when shops are closed. The room was every time good, comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly. My only minus is busy and not well organized breakfast room, the food was placed all over the middle area of the large breakfast room and during peak time it was like a battlefield between people looking for food. Of course, nobody queued or considered others. And, it was very noise (although the hotel staff cannot do anything about it).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Jannaly,

Thank you for taking time and leaving us with a positive feedback. I have made a note of your observation and would certainly share it with the relevant department. We usually recommend our guests to use the off peak breakfast hours if possible for a much relaxing experience. My apologies for the inconvenience caused. I look forward to welcoming you with higher service standards next time you stay with us.

Kind regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was very convenient and within walking distance to many sites. It is about a 15 minute walk to city centre where there are plenty of sites, restaurants, and shops. Below the hotel is an underground transportation hub and many convenient shopping and food stores. We dropped our car off at the airport and took the subway to this hotel, which stopped directly under the hotel. This was very convenient! The room was clean, nice and comfortable. Nice large swimming pool with towels. Very helpful staff. Common areas in the hotel was clean and nice. It was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Eringobragh08,

Many thanks for your candid feedback and useful tips for our potential guests. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay. We strive to provide superior service to our guests and therefore the appreciation from our guests is our true reward.

Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you once again in the days to come.

Kind regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed several times now at this hotel but this was my worst experience here. Not only had they significantly hiked their rates, but their service levels seem to have gone down. Being a business hotel, they still do not have wifi in the rooms but only in the lobby. Internet access in the rooms is only by cable. They also charge very steeply for the internet access when many other hotels now offer it included in the room rate. Breakfast is good with a lot of variety, though it is the same daily. The location is very convenient with easy access to the entire city. Only some of the rooms have a safe provided in the room – otherwise you have to use the lockers they have at the reception but then you have to wait in the queue each time to use it. It doesn’t make sense why they cannot provide this simple amenity in all the rooms. There is only one restaurant Gratz there where the breakfast is served. I was given a discount card to use there but it was closed for dinner and only the bar was open.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor room with city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RituAgni, Guest Relations at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Sally_pgw,

Thank you for sharing your valuable opinion. It provides us the opportunity to improve. I would like to use this opportunity to share with you that the whole property is now Wi Fi equipped. The guest has a choice of 1 Hour, 24 hours and 1 Week internet offer depending upon his length of stay. The two computers in the business center are available free of charge for quickly checking the email or printing the boarding pass etc.
Please know that the room rates depend highly on the availability. The rates are usually economical for a reservation made well in advance.
My apologies for not being able to use the discount voucher for dinner. I have made a note of your observation and will certainly share it with the relevant department. Thank you once again for staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you with enhanced service standards in the days to come.
Best regards
Ritu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#50 Family Hotel in Munich
#57 Business Hotel in Munich
#76 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#88 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities.Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and Cocktails are available in the stylish Bar and Lounge Hoch³. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.