We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #87 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Adelaide
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed one night using Priority Club Points. The staff member that booked us in wasn't very friendly and at first couldn't find our booking. We had a good size room and bathroom with the shower over the bath. Good beds and good airconditioning and tea & coffee facilities. The room had an old tv and expensive wifi. As breakfast was expensive we brought breakfast from the local shop. The train station is under the hotel and has a supermarket and fast food outlets but they are closed on Sundays. The hotel also has a swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear AdelaideJulie,

thank you very much for your feedback. Your comments are very important for us.
It is nice to read that you were happy with your stay in Munich and in our hotel.
Thank you for recommending us!

We are looking forward to welcome you once again at the Holiday Inn Munich City Centre.

Kind regards from Munich,
Julia
Holiday Inn Munich City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    701
    250
    68
    34
See reviews for
289
379
100
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NEW JERSEY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed one night. Loved the under pass from the underground station to the hotel. Quite a few shops in the under pass ranging from breakfast place to a grocery store.
Reception was cordial and knowledgeable.
No complimentary wifi in such an advanced city is a miss. But overall a good stay. Recommended if price is right.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear travellerSANStourist,

thank you very much for your comments!
We are happy to read that you recommend the Holiday Inn Munich City Centre.
It is correct that we do not offer free Internet. But we guarantee WIFI at the rooms and all public areas of the hotel with a fast connection. As we are one of the biggest conference centres of south of Germany we need to guarantee a high speed and constantly good connection.
We really hope that you choose us again for your future travel needs.

With best wishes,
J.Hug
Holiday Inn Munich City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Want breakfast? 23€. Want a snack? 5€ for a small can. Want Internet? 18€ a day. Want a movie? 13,50€ a day with porn. What seems like a reasonable room rate could have ruined my Munich stay had it not been for the pleasant cafes nearby, the grocery on the lower level, and the S stop downstairs. Want tourist info? Hope a rack of pamphlets and computer-generated maps will be enough, because that's all they had at the unmanned desk. Taxi is 60€ to the airport. My room for 4 nights was clean, but the housekeeper kept placing my toothbrush in new spots each day. Why touch personal items?

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear M P,

Thank you for your comments. The comments of our guests are very valuable for us and give us the opportunity to constantly adjust our services to the needs and expectations of our clients.
We are very sorry for this negative impression you got due to the pricing. We recommend you the packages which include breakfast as well as internet. We have two guest relation desks with an employee sitting next to the reception. Please apologize if there was no help when it was needed during your stay.
We truly hope you will give us the chance to be your host again to show you a better service.

Kind regards from Munich,
J.Hug
Holiday Inn Munich City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed in July 2012 with my husband and daughters (15 and 11). Booked one queen room and adjoining two twin bed room for the children. At the time of booking, they were offering the second room for the children at 50% off. Very convenient and welcome for our stay of seven nights.

Rooms were clean and comfortably furnished. Beds and pillows were comfortable. My husband and I especially liked the individual duvets/comforters on our bed. However, I did have to request the duvets be changed in our rooms after the first night as I found they may not have been laundered the best prior to our stay. This request was met with an apology and quick action.

Minibar in room had small area for personal items. TVs were dated and internet was wired only in the rooms. Too expensive for me to care to purchase but I understand these issues are being addressed very soon.

Lobby was very busy with families just seeming to sit around and many young unattended children running around and climbing on and over the furniture. The staff seemed a bit exasperated at this some times and tried (unsuccessfully) to have the parents regain order over their children.

We used the free internet terminals in the lobby each day. Seems that the morning was the best time to access - we were able to use each day with no problem and no waiting.

We ate in the bar/restaurant area a few times and were able to access the "Kids eat free" for our youngest daughter. Paninis were excellent and kid's meals were tasty, even for our picky eater. Service at the restaurant/bar was fantastic and very friendly. Did not eat at the breakfast buffet as the cost was higher than we wanted to pay for what we could eat for breakfast - it would have come to about $100 Cdn per day for us. Instead we picked up pastries at one of the food places attached to the hotel, and fruit and juice at the grocery store. Gas station next door was also great for purchasing snacks and water, and for exchanging large bills for us.

Excellent location, easy walking distance to many Munich attractions. Attached to the S-Bahn with a direct link to the airport. Very handy after a long overseas flight. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: If travelling with children, inquire about special rates for second adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Guest_Relation, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear jendon,

Thank you very much for taking time to make some comments about your stay at the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre.
The comments of our guests are very valuable for us and give us the opportunity to constantly adjust our services to the needs and expectations of our clients.
We are very happy that you had a great time at Munich and at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Munich and to our hotel.

Kind regards,
J.Hug
Holiday Inn Munich City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for three nights on business and found the restaurant very good.The best feature by far was the night porter who after I returned in a taxi which then would not take a card payment said don't worry and payed the bill and put it on my room a life saver!
The hotel could do with a revamp but the rooms are cleaned by a great team she hung all my cloths up as I had not had time it was like having the wife with me.
Great stay with no major issues

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Guest_Relation, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Tebbsy,

Thank you very much for your comments. We really enjoyed reading it.
I have forwarded your very friendly words to the hotel team.
It is excellent that you enjoyed your stay so much, and your words encourage us to keep our service on a high level.
We look forward to welcoming you once again to Munich and to our hotel.

Kind regards from Munich,

Julia Hug
Holiday Inn Munich City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

It's a Holiday Inn, staff were pleasant and efficient in all aspects... The bed was comfortable, the room and bathroom was clean... The internet is a little pricy... The S-Bahn being underneath the hotel was extremely handy, but it was an easy walk to the Old City and some sights. No safety issues that I could identify and I was out at all hours of the night. EuropCar has an office attached the to Esso next door, and there is underground parking at the hotel, both extremely handy.

Room Tip: High rooms facing Old Town give a good view of the City, especially at night, so I'm told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I selected this hotel due to its proximity to the city center which is within walking distance. The hotel seemed very busy at all times with many guests occupying the lobby area. Reception is small and waiting times long. Although mentioned on the booking, my request for early check in was not met without any prior notice so I had to wait another 4 hours after a long flight. As mentioned before, the internet charge of EUR 22 per 24 hours is prohibitive. I did not try the breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre

Address: Hochstrasse 3, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Business Hotel in Munich
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
#72 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre! Just over a quarter mile from the Deutsches Museum, this hotel in Munich offers comfortable rooms. The S-Bahn Station 'Rosenheimer Platz'is only 55 yards away, just 2 stops from the 'Marienplatz'.Located in a shopping complex, the Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre has air-conditioned rooms with comfortable beds, pillow menu, a spacious desk, satellite TV, minibar and and tea/coffee facilities. Please be aware that we are a non-Smoking Hotel! Bavarian and international specialties are served in Restaurant Grat³. Snacks and Cocktails are available in the stylish Bar and Lounge Hoch³. The front desk is open 24 hours a day. Computers in the business Center in the lobby provide free internet access.Covered parking spaces are available in the public garage in the same building complex(against extra charge. The Munich Central Station can be reached in 10 minutes by S-Bahn, Munich's Airport (Josef-Strauss Airport)in less than 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre Hotel Munich
Munich Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.