We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South to your Saves list
Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kistlerhofstrasse 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #202 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Durham, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Found this hotel to be clean, comfortable and functional. Stayed here with wife and two kids ( 16 and 13 years) and found the room to be fine, two double beds (Queens?) and bathroom clean. Knew when i booked it that it was a little way out of the centre but it is very easy to get to and from. The UBahn is a 5 min walk from the hotel, just around the corner ( Machtlfinger Strasse stop) on the U3 line and it takes 10mins ( i timed it) to get into the centre at the Marienplatz stop - trains are very frequent, we never waited more than 5 mins for a train and usually not more than a couple of minutes. We took the S8 train to and from the airport to / from Marienplatz and that took 40mins. There are a number of tickets and prices for the SBahn and UBahn depending upon zones but we purchased an airport city day ticket to get to and from the airport on arrival and depature days as we crossed over several zones ( this cost just over 20 Euros but covers all 4 of us from time of purchase until 06:00am the next day for as many trips as you want to make on the system). On the remaining days when we were just staying in and around Munich ( inner zone) we purchased a partner ticket, again this covered all 4 of us from time of purchase until 06:00am the next day for as many trips as we required - cost 10 Euros 40 cents. Didn't eat in Hotel as breakfast was extortionately priced, just went into the centre and ate as much cheaper ( come on Holiday Inn you need to sort this out, i know you cater for business people, hence the high cost for breakfast as companies will just foot the bill but it's way way too much for tourists to pay, especially if paying for 4 people). Staff in hotel were fine, If you don't mind being a little out of the centre then i would recommend this hotel as centre is very easy to reach on UBahn.

Room Tip: Not a tip about a room but if you go to Dachau Concentration Camp it's worth going into Dachau i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Hunterfamily, thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. We are very happy that we have big bed in our family rooms. Yes you are right, 20 Euro for breakfast is not cheap but we have an exellent breakfast, fresh food, fruits, a lot of different chees etc. For you next stay book the beakfast in advance, thank ist not so expensive (Sometimes we have special arragements). We are looking forward to welcome you and your family again in our Holiday Inn Munich South. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    170
    110
    24
    12
See reviews for
97
68
28
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, Kent
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights whilst sampling the delights of Oktoberfest.
We took the S-Bahn from the airport to Machtlfinger Strasse. Took us a few goes to master the trip. I'd recommend taking the S8 to Marienplatz then the U3 to Machtlfinger Strasse.
Check in was OK, the lady on reception was not overly friendly and our room wasn't ready. Not a big problem as we went straight to Oktoberfest. It's about a 15 minute U-Bahn ride, direct to Poccistrasse.
Later on we got back, checked in fine and had a beer in the bar and found our room. The room is not luxurious but comfortable and clean enough.
Breakfast was OK, the staff were either really friendly or miserable (the man) but we were hungover so ate and went back to the room for a sleep :-) The quality of the food was OK and there was enough. The usual scrambled eggs, fried eggs, mushrooms, potato etc.
The location of the hotel is fine, 5 minutes from the U-Bahn an local supermarket which stocks everything you need, including traditional Bavarian clothing if you need it.
Beer prices in the bar were pretty standard and the servers seemed friendly enough.
Next time (we hope we get a chance to go back to Oktoberfest) we will try and get somewhere a little more luxurious and closer to the festival.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear scruffty, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the not professional Check in. Our Hotel is a little bit older but it´s always clean. For the octoberfest it´s a good location here and it´s also quiet. We hope you had a good time here and on the octoberfest. We are looking forward to welcome you next year again! Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Location is at the edge of an industrial area with a fair amount of road noise out front (but mostly dies down during the night). Subway is a 5 minute walk, then 15 minute ride to the city center. Building is from the eighties - solidly uninspiring. Renovation must have been some years ago - hotel is reasonably well maintained, but could use some updating. Room was in decent condition and fairly clean, but nothing to write home about. Hotel staff was friendly but I had to ask 3 times for thinner blankets (the provided blankets are very warm). Wifi was very flaky and frustrating - kept disconnecting, and low transfer speeds. During part of our stay there were several groups of somewhat 'sketchy' guests - I wasn't concerned about safety, but the feel of the place was strange - more like a train station, with a lot of coming and going. Overall, our stay was just OK but I would not go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Lieber terrencebarr, thank you for your time to give us a feedback. We would like to apologize for not having met your expectations. We hope you give us a second chance and we will welcome you again in our house. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Visited this property on holiday but may be better for business travel as is some distance from major tourist sites. Rooms are adequate but show some wear. Staff was friendly and attentive and grill has a really good menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Dennis G., thank you for your time to write us a feedback. Yes our hotel is not in the city center but we have an exellent connection by underground. Thank you for the compliment to our hotel staff and the dinner. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our House. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

While not located in the city center, this hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the metro which will take you right to downtown. In fact, the staff can sell you a transit pass that works very well if you are going out to Dachau, for example, and generally touring around the city. We merely left our car in their underground parking for 2 days while we went sightseeing. All in all, a good hotel and one that I would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear GM-HIEKelowna, thank you for your great review on tripadvisor! Yes, we are not a city hotel but we have a great connection to the centre. The underground is 5 minutes walkin distance. Thank you for the compliment to our Hotel. We hope we welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Munich South. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of our office so we use it regularly. It's very clean and the staff are quite pleasant, however over the years it has gotten quite dated. The rooms are small but adequate and they do have some nice new linens and pillows. Don't forget your toiletries though. You'll just get soap here. The breakfast buffet was surprisingly good with lots of hot items as well as typical fruits, cheeses, breads and cereals. There is also a small workout room if you need it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Amy B., thank you for your time to give us a feedback. We are pleased that we were able to surprise you positively with our breakfast. Everything what your heart desires. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Munich South. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I booked this hotel in August for the height of Oktoberfest and there weren't very many reasonable yet not scary looking options. This choice ended up suiting our needs perfectly. We arrived to Munich around 10:00 and wanted to get to Oktoberfest as soon as we could so despite the fact that our room wasn't available, they gave us a key to the pool area to change and then held our bags until we returned much later that night. The staff was friendly, helpful and spoke perfect English. The room was average and maybe a little bit dated but was clean and suited our needs. My only gripe with the room is that they put us on the ground floor and we could hear people out in the courtyard in the morning. We ordered room service a few nights and it was nothing great but perfectly edible and they also can bring you liters of beer via room service if you're too lazy to go down to the bar. Oktoberfest was about 15 minutes by subway from the hotel and the stop was about 2 blocks away. We cheated and took cabs home a few times and they were in the 20 euro area, if memory serves me. There are also always cabs outside if you prefer that option to public transportation and it takes approximately 35 minutes to get to the airport via car from this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the ground floor (Rooms 0**).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicole j, Front Office Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Jason K., thank you for the kind feedback. Thank you for the compliment to our staff and the hotel. We are sorry that it was not quiet on your floor, it was the Octoberfest. Normaly it is more quiet in the house. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Munich South. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South

Address: Kistlerhofstrasse 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#71 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 stars hotel Holiday Inn Munich South is situated in a quiet and central location in the suburb of Obersendling and it is only 15 minutes away from the city centre. Because of the good traffic connection to the A95, A8 and A96 and also the "Mittleren Ring", our hotel is very good accessible by car. The suburb station "Machtlfingerstrasse" line U3 is just 5 walk-minutes from the hotel Holiday Inn Munich South away and takes you fast in the Munich city center. All our 320 comfortable rooms are equipped with balcony/terrace, most of them offer a wonderful view over our courtyard, bathroom with tub, air-conditioner, SAT-TV with Pay-TV, telephone, internet, mini bar and tea & coffee making facilities and also a pillow-menu. Enjoy international and Bavarian specialties at our restaurants, on the lobby-bar or during summertime at our quiet beer garden - terrace. We offer our business traveller guests a modern business centre as well as W-LAN (without fee) in the whole Hotel. Our conference area offers every comfort for a successful conference, workshop or meeting. All rooms are modern equipped for up to 180 people. Set the planning of the implementation of your event trustful in our hands. We ensure for creative and innovative ideas, the perfect logistic and the professional implementation of all events on basic of best conditions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich South
Munich Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.