We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical HI, convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South to your Saves list
Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kistlerhofstrasse 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #202 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Typical HI, convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was pretty much your typical Holiday Inn. The staff was pleasant but not exceptional. The bar area was perfectly okay but again, not exceptional.
The location was very convenient to the U-bahn Machtlfingerstrasse station and for that it deserves some credit. You can get a good deal on this hotel because it is not in the centre of town but you can get to the center of town in a matter of minutes thanks to its proximity to this station. I am going to be a repeat visitor to this hotel for that exact reason and have already booked my next stay.
Generally, you can pay more and get a better location or better amenities but this hotel is perfectly satisfactory and a good opportunity to save cash / PC points.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    170
    110
    24
    12
See reviews for
97
68
28
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

stayed at the hotel for two days.
The trip was associated with Oktoberfest and choice was limited.
nahodinsya far from the center, but near the metro.
standard hotel with lots of rooms and long corridors.
There is a mini gym.
There is a supermarket near the metro "REAL."
breakfast very good and varied for this level of hotel.
You can probably stay at this hotel again if no other central options

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Took advantage of the fact my husband was working in Munich and came for the ride.
The hotel is basic, but clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Was nervous of doing touristy bit on my own but need not have worried. Underground so easy to use which is saying something for someone with no sense of direction at all! No ticket checks on tube but Austrians very honest and courteous, the young people giving their seats up for the elderly on the tube. Most people speak English and are very friendly. Munich is very clean and well organised.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The good thing about this hotel is that its coveniently located near a 2-storey REAL Hypermart where you can find a wide range of products from food stuff to clothings to household items cheaper than most places in Munich. It open early in the morning and closes at 8pm daily and closes on Sunday. There is also a small Macdonald restaurant there.

The is also a U-Bahn train station which is about 8 to 10 mins walk to and from the hotel. The station is called the Machtlfinger Str, which is under the U3 line (orange color). This station is about 15 minutes away (9 stations away) from Marientplatz station (City Centre).

Around the area are mostly residential and commercial office buildings but its usually quite quiet most time of the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in September. We were in Munich at the same time as the Oktoberfest and had booked this hotel 9 months in advance as we knew everything filled up well in advance and we were also using reward points. The hotel is in the south part of Munich, and is about 30 minutes from the airport (which is north of the city) by U-Bahn. There is a U-Bahn stop about 10 minutes walk from the hotel which is convenient, and you can get to the Oktoberfest stop in about another 10 minutes. Since we were only going to the festival for one day, this distance was acceptable. If you were going just for the festival you might want a closer hotel.
The hotel is located in a quiet residential area with a nice park across the street and feels very safe and is certainly quiet at night. There is not much of interest to the traveler in this neighborhood. There is a “Real” brand grocery store right across from the U-Bahn station which is convenient -- think "Super Target" --- groceries on the 1st floor, clothes and home goods on the second level (we bought a hair dryer there at a quite reasonable price.)
The room we were assigned was in an older wing of the hotel and felt dated with Ikea type furniture and worn carpet and the towels were very thin and worn. The room was a decent size and good air conditioning and also had a small balcony although there was nothing to see. There was also a mini-fridge and a coffee maker in the room. There is no airport shuttle available; we took the train from the airport to Marienplatz and then made one connection to get to the hotel-- pretty easy even with our luggage. Also, breakfast is not included at this hotel and costs 19 euro per person per day. There is also a heated swimming pool which is nice for doing laps that is open until 10pm, as well as a sauna. The staff was always pleasant and helpful.
In summary, this is a good budget option (especially during the Oktoberfest) but if you are traveling outside of that time and would like to be closer to the city center there are other options. It is also a good option if you will be leaving Munich by car (as we did) as you will be able to easily connect to the major southbound expressways (which are toll-free in Germany) without having to from the city center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is situated quite far from city centre in a suburb with small factories and offices nearby. Suitable for tour groups and travelers with own transport. We have to use the U Bahn which is a good 5 – 10 minutes walk away but it takes only 15 – 20 minutes of travelling time to the city centre. There is a hypermarket and a Mc Donald near the U Bahn station, if you want a quick meal. The breakfast is quite disappointing with limited choices.
The room we had is old and tired, screaming for a makeover. The towel is thin and old. The worst is that there is no free Wifi in the hotel, not even in the lobby. I was forced to buy my own air time when I had to check in for my onward flight, which the hotel front desk refused to do for me.
If you have the choice, go elsewhere. I booked this hotel just because my tour started from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear hl56beh,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had with breakfast and with the unsatisfactory service you received from our front desk. I'm also sorry you were unhappy with the appearance of the room. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This Holiday Inn in Munich offered some of the best prices for rooms during Oktoberfest. We are typically budget travellers, so staying at the Holiday Inn was a treat.

What's good:
- it's a 5 minute walk to the U3 metro line, with direct access to the city center and the Oktoberfest grounds (no transfers!)
- the hotel is located in a very quiet area, so noise was not a problem at night
- the room was nice, and the bathroom was a good size. Great water pressure from the shower, and complimentary amenities such as toothpaste (although you have to call front desk to get it sent to the room)
- lots of free parking available on the streets around the hotel
- in room (tiny) fridge and close by grocery stores mean that you can save some money by buying your own food

What you need to know before booking:
- the internet is not free in the hotel (just purchase a German sim card with data - it's the cheapest option to get data overseas!)
- there were no restaurant options within walking distance of the hotel (besides the hotel restaurant).

We did not use the pool, gym or hotel restaurant, so we cannot comment on that.

This is a great hotel, located near transit lines. It met our needs, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South

Address: Kistlerhofstrasse 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#71 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 stars hotel Holiday Inn Munich South is situated in a quiet and central location in the suburb of Obersendling and it is only 15 minutes away from the city centre. Because of the good traffic connection to the A95, A8 and A96 and also the "Mittleren Ring", our hotel is very good accessible by car. The suburb station "Machtlfingerstrasse" line U3 is just 5 walk-minutes from the hotel Holiday Inn Munich South away and takes you fast in the Munich city center. All our 320 comfortable rooms are equipped with balcony/terrace, most of them offer a wonderful view over our courtyard, bathroom with tub, air-conditioner, SAT-TV with Pay-TV, telephone, internet, mini bar and tea & coffee making facilities and also a pillow-menu. Enjoy international and Bavarian specialties at our restaurants, on the lobby-bar or during summertime at our quiet beer garden - terrace. We offer our business traveller guests a modern business centre as well as W-LAN (without fee) in the whole Hotel. Our conference area offers every comfort for a successful conference, workshop or meeting. All rooms are modern equipped for up to 180 people. Set the planning of the implementation of your event trustful in our hands. We ensure for creative and innovative ideas, the perfect logistic and the professional implementation of all events on basic of best conditions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich South
Munich Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.