We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel with employees better than policies” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South to your Saves list
Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kistlerhofstrasse 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #200 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Tired hotel with employees better than policies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel is in a business area with limited eating opportunities. However, it is close to the Machtfinger Strasse U-bahn stop. The bar tender left his station and walked us to the door to provide directions to our first stop. Great service.

That said, for four days we receive 1 hour of free wifi; as platinum Priority Club members we received a standard room with a "free" single day stock in the mini-fridge, and the amenities are limited. In the states the upgrade is generally a suite and access to the club room.

I think a local hotel or pension might have been a better option, but might-haves do not work. It is an acceptable hotel, the small room is clean, although beyond soap there are no toiltries such as shampoo or conditioner. Come prepared.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, floor 3-4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    184
    118
    26
    12
See reviews for
100
74
30
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Even though the hotel is a bit far from the city center, it is close enough to the subway, so not a big trouble. The neighborhood is very quiet. Hotel service is very good. When we checked in they have already had every documents ready. Because they had no room available for upgrade for me as Platinum card member, they gave us one mini bar for free and 2 hours of free wifi, which is really generous.

Hotel room is typical Holiday Inn in Germany: not too big but definitely enough. Nothing to complain about. Considering the price we paid is relatively low compared to many other hotels in Munich as well as hotels in other cities in Europe, this one is definitely a good bargain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

A typical 3 star tour hotel far from town but managed to have a subway (Machtlfinger Strasse station) that links to the city center. My room was clean and everything was standard but not attractive. My first impression of the hotel was that "time gone back to the eighties". Hotel lay out and furnishing were outdated. Although a subway station was not far from the hotel, the long quiet street that led to nowhere made one feel that the location was kind of "isolated".
What I remembered about this hotel was the yellow painting; no free Internet service,and my awful dinner:fish fillet with lots of small bones, and the clear soup tasted like salted water.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Amber201083,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your feedback. I apologize you did not find our hotel to your liking. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope to have the chance of hosting you again should your travels bring you back to Germany.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is a liitle bit far away from the city center, but the metro station is very close. So, it takes about 20-30 minutes to reach Marienplatz. The hotel is very clean, the staff is helpful and breakfasts are delicious. The underground parking and free pool are also a plus. But wifi should be free, not 5 euro for three hours.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon for our overnight stay at the Holiday Inn Munich South. Everyone was restless and of course hungry for dinner. Service was kind of slow but the food was satisfying. Clean rooms, comfortable beds with a sliding glass door leading to a garden area which was a unique experience (ground floor rooms). We were "sausaged out" after eating sausages for almost every breakfast buffet, but still a good breakast from this hotel. I would say it was a pretty decent hotel with a friendly staff to attend to your needs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in January 2012 while I was on tour. It was a very standard and decent holiday inn. The rooms were clean. The staff was nice and friendly, even to foreigners. There was a pool, and a sauna. It was located five minutes away from the subway, which took you right into the centre of town. It was in a residential neighborhood so it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Being located partly in an industrial zone you would not spend the last day of your vacation there?! Yes, for sure, as the hotel is great, people are friendly and suportive and the location is very convenient to travel downtown with the local subway, which is 5 min walking from the hotel.
The garage is very safe (door is closing after each car) and is video monitored at a reasonable price.
In case you like to stay in the hotel you have a bar and a restaurant.
The overall atmosphere is nice with a touch of business, which is no surprise as over the week for sure most of the visitors are on business travel.
Our room was top as we have found it in other **** HI already. The bed was large and convenient., the furniture modern in style and relaxing and there was a wel designed desk for business as well.
Nothing special on the bath room. Normal high standard as usual for this group.
The room was clean and we could not say anything negative.

Bottom line:
A good location for a business trip as well in case Munich is visited for leasure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South

Address: Kistlerhofstrasse 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#76 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 stars hotel Holiday Inn Munich South is situated in a quiet and central location in the suburb of Obersendling and it is only 15 minutes away from the city centre. Because of the good traffic connection to the A95, A8 and A96 and also the "Mittleren Ring", our hotel is very good accessible by car. The suburb station "Machtlfingerstrasse" line U3 is just 5 walk-minutes from the hotel Holiday Inn Munich South away and takes you fast in the Munich city center. All our 320 comfortable rooms are equipped with balcony/terrace, most of them offer a wonderful view over our courtyard, bathroom with tub, air-conditioner, SAT-TV with Pay-TV, telephone, internet, mini bar and tea & coffee making facilities and also a pillow-menu. Enjoy international and Bavarian specialties at our restaurants, on the lobby-bar or during summertime at our quiet beer garden - terrace. We offer our business traveller guests a modern business centre as well as W-LAN (without fee) in the whole Hotel. Our conference area offers every comfort for a successful conference, workshop or meeting. All rooms are modern equipped for up to 180 people. Set the planning of the implementation of your event trustful in our hands. We ensure for creative and innovative ideas, the perfect logistic and the professional implementation of all events on basic of best conditions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich South
Munich Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holiday Inn Munich-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.