We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not ever stay here again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Hotel Munchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Hotel Munchen to your Saves list
Maritim Hotel Munchen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goethestrasse 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would not ever stay here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for only 1 night at the end of our 2 week European vacation. Thank goodness it was only for one night. The room was not clean and extremely outdated. We wanted a queen size bed and we got two twins added together. It was extremely uncomfortable to try and sleep with a huge crack in the middle. We might as well slept separately on two twins. It was a shame because this was the last night of our vacation and we were extremely disappointed to have spent it in such a horrible hotel. The staff was friendly but not much help. In addition, the server at the downstairs restaurant was extremely nice and sweet. She was accommodating and friendly after a long day of being out in Munich. Overall, it was a below average hotel for the money we paid for it. I would never stay here again, complete waste of money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear "AMM60795",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

Your comment on the condition of the room we have taken note with regret.
A renovation of our guest rooms and public areas will be progressively implemented. We would like to keep you up to date. Unfortunately we can not undo your experience but we would like to apologize.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel Munich



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    201
    137
    39
    6
See reviews for
52
116
48
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

You really can't beat the location of this place. Within walking distance of all the big sites and a few steps away from the train station for the sites that are a bit further out. Rooms are adequate for sleeping in. Like many hotels in Europe, bring your own shampoo. Also, let them know your Skymiles # because they do honor the miles program.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear „Emily H“,

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights during Oktoberfest and was quite happy with both location and value for money, taking into account that all prices seem to go up during the festivities. The room was a good size and clean, the staff friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear "15MW",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is not really a 4 star hotel. Maybe a 3 star... Location is beneficial, being close to the railway station, but the area is not the best one (like any railway station neighborhood).
Rooms are large, but the furniture somewhat dated. They want additional 34 Euro for upgraded rooms on the 5th floor.
Breakfast is 22 Euros, so we did not even consider it.
Had hard time sleeping, as the matresses and pillows are not particularly comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear "Alexander R",

Referring to your stay at the MARITIM Hotel Munich, we want to say thank you for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our service.

Your comment on the condition of the room we have taken note with regret. We are renovating the guest rooms as well as the public areas, step by step.
We started the renovations in August last year by renewing our main restaurant „Rôtisserie“ and our PianoBar. Since April 2012 we have implemented the new concept of living in our rooms on the 5th floor. Unfortunately we can not undo your experience but we would like to apologize.

In conclusion, we want to thank you for the interest shown towards our MARITIM Hotel Munich and would be glad to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel Munich




Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Really nice hotel; large rooms with a couple of easy chairs and good size bed. Good value which we got via hotwire. Don't be put off by its location; its a lovely hotel just next to a table dancing place; but you wouldn't know. You feel very safe. Its very close to the station and 10 minutes walk to the station. We didn't get breakfast as there are lots of places to eat very close by. Good pool, steam room and sauna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear "mooch81",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My first stay was last year, and this time I stayed for the second time during my trip to Munich where I always love the city with it's nature. Suggestion as repeater guest they should have the record. Front liners should talk in English fluently. Saw some Asian guests also got difficulty to talk with the front liners in English language. Breakfast was good, the staffs are friendly. Except the housekeeping team, who cleaned my room, she wasn't friendly enough, no smile. Even I have to greet her first but no response, maybe she was in the ad mood. The other teams are nice. Room was big and comfortable enough. Close to the train station and some shopping places.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear "honeypie78",

Thank you for your stay at MARITIM Hotel Munich and for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in our MARITIM Hotel in Munich.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel München



Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBX, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a great time in Munich. We were pleased to find the hotel only half a block from the Hauptbahnhof and a few minutes walk to the Theresienwiese for Oktoberfest. Location could not have been much better. Yes there are some "adult" businesses around it, but if you don't look hard you would miss them. The hotel itself could use some serious updating. Lobby looks nice, but the room was disappointing. It was small and outdated. The chairs in the room had rips in the upholstery. It was clean though, which is the most important thing to me. Overall I'd say the hotel is just average, but with an above average price tag. The location is the redeeming factor for this hotel. Also, only English speaking channel was cnbc. That got a little old, but you have to remember you're not in America anymore! The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. We were able to use a computer there to print our boarding passes free of charge.

Room Tip: We were on the side of the building across from the Hostel, and we found it to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaritimHotelMunich, Manager at Maritim Hotel Munchen, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear "dixieOBX",

Referring to your stay at the MARITIM Hotel Munich, we want to say thank you for the time you have taken for the evaluation of our house. Especially remarks from our guests may help us to improve our service.

We were very pleased to read your comments about our hotel and passed this on to our employees. But again thank you very much!

Your comment on the condition of the room we have taken note with regret. We are renovating the guest rooms as well as the public areas, step by step.
We started the renovations in August last year by renewing our main restaurant „Rôtisserie“ and our PianoBar. Since April 2012 we have implemented the new concept of living in our rooms on the 5th floor. Unfortunately we can not undo your experience but we would like to apologize.

In conclusion, we want to thank you for the interest shown towards our MARITIM Hotel Munich and would be glad to welcome you again in the future.

Yours sincerely
MARITIM Hotel Munich




Richard Mayer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Hotel Munchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Munchen

Address: Goethestrasse 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#77 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Munchen 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maritim Hotel Munchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Munich
Munich Maritim Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Hotel Munchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.