We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Munich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pullman Munich to your Saves list
Pullman Munich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Theodor-Dombart-Strasse 4, 80805 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very nice hotel. Newly decorated, really clean, nice rooms, good bar, decent food. Yeah it's good.

The superior room (which seems to be the basic room) is quite spacious. There's two large single beds pushed together, wall mounted TV, desk, chair and a lounger. The room also has an iron, ironing board and mini-safe and there's tea making facilities too, although a slight annoyance was they weren't always refreshed each day. The bathroom is fine, it has walk in shower and there's a hair dryer in there too. The mini bar in the room wasn't stocked but there was a small shop at reception where you could purchase food and drink at reasonable prices.

Breakfast was good. It was extremely busy on the Sunday I was there so I had to wait 10 minutes on a table. There's a good selection of hot and cold food and breakfast is served until 11am so you can have a long lie if you're on a break. I didn't eat at the hotel other than breakfast so can't comment on the main dishes of the day.

The hotel bar is nice, tries a little too hard to be trendy with its music at times, when, well, it's a hotel bar at the end of the day. It's not that big so it can get quite crowded at times, but it's a good bar, pleasant staff and a good selection of beer - there's also a lot of cocktails on offer. If the weather's good there's a terrace outside with comfy seats to enjoy the weather - you can have your breakfast out there too if you like.

As for internet access there are two Apple PCs in the hotel lobby and they can be used for free. Hotel wifi is very expensive though so make plans to get your own Internet connection if you need it in your room, it was best for me to take out a roaming package from my UK phone company.

As far as location goes, it's a bit out of town but it's right next to the U6 U-Bahn which takes about 10 min to get to Marienplatz. The Lufthansa run airport bus also stops just outside the hotel, that takes about 35 minutes to the airport. Surrounding the hotel there's not that much in terms of facilities but there is a supermarket nearby and a bank across the street. If you fancy a stroll it'll take about 10 minutes to get to the main Schwabing area where there's more restaurants and bars.

I'd have given it five stars but the unreasonable cost of wifi knocks a star off.

Bottom line. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    280
    92
    44
    16
See reviews for
85
260
43
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three nights during my visit to Munich. I stayed at the same property a few years before when it was a Renaissance-branded hotel.

The hotel was quite centrally located, within walking distance to English Garden and a short U Bahn ride to Munich's university and city centre.

My room was located on the 4/F with decent view over the street and terrace houses nearby. The room was in an average 'standard room' size. Definitely enough space for 1 person though.

As compared to my previous stay a few years ago, the room was fully renovated with modern equipment like LED TV, etc. A strange feature was that my queen-size bed was covered by two single-size duvet (instead of a queen-size duvet).

Staff's service standard was inconsistent. During my stay, I met a couple of helpful Front-desk staff members, and a few unhelpful ones. Problems seemed to happen in early morning (around 6am) when I was sorting things out with them before I went out. It seemed they did not want to be disturbed from their office chats inside the staff room behind the front desk (when I could see them clearly).

I dined at the in-house restaurant in one occasion. The portion of food were satisfactory but the quality was not. My risotto was half-cooked. The buffet breakfast was reasonable in terms of choice of food and quality.

In general, I feel that even though the "Pullman" brand is branded as an upper-medium hotel within the Accor hotel group, it is inferior to similar class of hotels from the other chains.

I would consider staying at this hotel again only if a seriously good deal comes up in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We got a really good deal for this hotel and I'm so glad we chose to stay here.

Let me start with the only negative point - the cost of parking. €22 per day is excessive, we parked at the nearby Ibis hotel for €9 for the days we had a car which was much more reasonable.

Next, the wifi - we have sky wifi at home so had free access to the Cloud so wifi was not an issue for us.

The accommodation was spacious, clean and modern. No complaints there at all, also the staff were very helpful and courteous. There was one man who works in the restaurant at breakfast who was particularly friendly however I don't recall his name.

On the subject of breakfast, if you have it included in your package it is well worth it. Lots of variety, hot and cold food, lovely breads and pastries. It will set you up for a day of exploring.

The u-Bahn stop is literally 200m away from the atrium entrance and the train takes about 10 min to get to marienplatz, also the Lufthansa bus stop is just around the corner for airport transfers so all in all, it's ideal (unless you want to park your car there!).

Thanks Pullman for a great stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was a little disappointed about this hotel....for a 5 Star hotel I expect to have a little bit more.
Very small bathrooms, bad ammenity service. Bar service was poor, but the food very good. I'm platinum level at Accor but did not feel anything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed it!
The location is very convenient: next to U-Bahn (only 5-6 stops before Marienplatz), next to the Lufthansa Bus Stop and in a quiet area.
The staff was nice, the room well decorated. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet and had some drinks at the bar.
The spa is also really nice!

I wouldn't hesitate to go back next time :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The highlight of the hotel for me was to have been able to check in at 9 in the morning even when check in start way later, thank you! such sensitive and understanding front desk agents.

The rooms are ultra modern and clean, loved it, together with the bathroom, impecable! kudos!

Internet not free and only one device can be used with the internet fee, when second device would like to be used is for an extra fee... not good... but all above was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Munich

Address: Theodor-Dombart-Strasse 4, 80805 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Munich
#33 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#40 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
#49 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman Munich 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Schwabing district in the immediate vicinity of the English Garden we welcome you in the Pullman Munich!After a complete transformation our hotel will offer you elegant design and up-to-the-minute technology at 4-star superior level. Discover our new rooms since May 2012.The Pullman Munich has 331 extremely spacious, bright rooms and suites with their own balcony or loggia. Absolutely quiet and nevertheless centrally located, with its direct connections to public transport, the hotel is the perfect base for exploring Munich. Reach the city center by underground in 7 minutes. Transfer time from the airport is only 25 minutes with the Lufthansa bus shuttle, which stops just 200 metres from the hotel.Enjoy international specialities in our restaurant or round off the day with a drink in the bar. From early summer the quiet and beautiful beer garden terrace in the courtyard is an inviting place to linger. Without disturbing our guests' peace at night, the capacity will be increased from 261 to 331 spacious rooms and suites. From May to October 2012 fitness- and wellness area will not be available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Pullman Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Munich Hotel Munich
Renaissance Munich
Munich Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.