We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bavarian Treats Done Right!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rischart

Cafe Rischart
Marienplatz 18, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 231700320
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 28 Ice Cream in Munich
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, Ice Cream
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Coffee & Tea, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Coffee & Tea, Breakfast
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Bavarian Treats Done Right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Near the Munich S-Bahn (train) station, we found this nice shop to be open late when most other cafes were already closed for the evening

Being tasked to hunt down an English newspaper for Daddy, Mom also tasked the Mr & I w/ finding something yummy for dessert.....but this was harder than it seemed given the late hour

Well, after taking the train a couple of stops to the International Papershop, on our way back we see Rischart as we top the stairs of the station

There were still a goodly number of cakes & pastries available & we selected a Strawberry-Rhubarb for Mom & the Mr & I chose the Bavarian Cream Cake for ourselves......afterall, couldn't NOT get something after all that running around!

Mom said the Strawberry-Rhubarb was incredibly delish & nice & sweet - the strawberries were tender & perfectly in season & the nice & tart rhubarb complimented it extremely well

Our Bavarian Cream Cake was custardy & the pastry part of the cake was soft & had a hint of vanilla flavor - very nice indeed!

Thanks for being open, for offering takeaway, & for your super-nice staff who joked around w/ us about the pronunciation of rhubarb

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    116
    35
    10
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location - but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We found ourselves at Cafe Rischart when all of Munich seemed to have a collective hangover after their 2013 Champions League triumph.

We'd walked around the city in light rain and decidedly un-springlike temperatures, just looking for somewhere to have breakfast. And everywhere other than Cafe Rischart seemed to be closed.

So we can't fault them too badly - as they were at least open! And the views from the top floor out over Marienplatz are excellent.

However, there's little other than the central location to recommend this place. The prices are reasonable, but the quality's no more than average, and the seating is cramped. Not to mention stressed (it's permanently busy - who can blame them?) and slightly aggressive service.

Certainly not dreadful - but there are loads of far better options dotted around Munich. And, so long as the football team haven't just become champions of Europe, they'll probably be open!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Three star is being generous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Ok, these guys dish it out all over Munich, its supermarket quality food, so if you think that's good, then I can understand some of the reviews.
Just save your money and head for Confiserie Rottenhofer which is about a 200m walk from Marienplatz or about 50m from Odienplatz. If you know what good food is about head for it.
We had breakfast at Rischart, the restaurant by the Church in Marienplatz. The XL breakfast was 14.40, the second or any additional orders of the XL breakfast is charged at half price. A decent meal, although the scrambled egg is well below par. Choice of bacon (plenty of) or ham cubs with the egg plus a further two or three slices of ham plus salami+ two cheeses, orange juice, three types of bread jam croissants was a good deal when it worked out at less than a tenner each. Coffee was extra but you get a second cup free.
It must be the same restaurant Bob-T visited, except that we wildly differ in our views when it comes to the quality of the food dished out.
We also tried three different cakes from their shop at the Central Station (hauftbanhof), ok I guess, edible.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Cafe in Munich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The cafe Rischart in Munich is one of the nicest paces to eat. The food is delicious and the cakes are better than anywhere else. It is a little bit expensive but it is worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“RIP OFF”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had a bread roll with antipasti because I was in a sleep laboratory and had to get my breakfast early. So this was the closest thing that was open.
I know Rischart and I knew that it was expensive but I did not know that I had to pay 60 cents more to get my bread roll on a plate. The waitress was arrogant. The atmosphere was TERRIBLE. The café had this ugly and corny grandma look. The surprise came at the end with my bill. I had to pay 3.80 Euros for a TERRIBLE cappucino that was not even "handmade" with a steam- or piston-driven coffee machine but with a fully automatic coffee machine which is crap. It tasted like one of those 1 euro cappuccinos you get at some cheap bake-shops.
The bread roll tasted ok but it was not worth so much money. In total I paid 8 Euros plus tip for a tiny breakfast with a crappy coffee! NEVER EVER AGAIN! If you are not going out too early, check out nice little cafés like tresznjewski or something like that...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rischart also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Cafe Rischart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rischart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.