We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding dining experience - Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt

Salt
Rundfunkplatz 4, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49(0)8989083695
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 2,702 restaurants in Munich
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding dining experience - Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was truly one of the best meals I have ever had. The food was absolutely delicious, the service fantastic, and the atmosphere perfect. You have to really search out Salt, it is well hidden and when you are outside it was not obvious as there was a drape over the door. But when you get inside, you get a great welcome. The staff were absolutely on the ball, very attentive but also friendly and chatty. The food though was truly delicious. Great value for money as well, only e40 for 3 courses. Not only would I go back, this restaurant gives me a reason to go back to Munich! We would never have found Salt without Trip Advisor so well done and thanks Trip Advisor and well done and thanks Salt!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    47
    14
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Was our last night in Munich, and went hear based on other Trip Advisor reviews. A bit out of the way and tucked around a corner, but well worth the effort to find. European chic atmosphere, quiet jazz in the background, and a widely varied menu and attentive, English-fluent service. Food was beautifully presented and superbly prepared - was one of the top two meals we had on a three country tour of Europe. Opted for the 3 course prix fix at 40 euros - duck breast with Roquefort spaetzel and pears was superb, and their version of bouillabaisse is spectacular - the base is a lobster bisque that is to die for. Highly recommend this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I went here on the recommendation of a client after we finished our meeting, and thought it was great. The service was quick and the menu was great - large selection of food for a decent price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was there for lunch, and I have to say that the Service was quick and efficient. There was a good selection of lunch dishes, also for Vegetarians. Excellent Food - recommended...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife's birthday so I wanted somewhere different but walkable from our hotel and found this on Tripadvisor. Did not book but not too busy on a Monday night and we had a table downstairs. The menu is a la carte but you can have 3 courses for 40€, 4 for 48€ etc. We had the three course option, the food was wonderful, very helpful waiter matched wines for each course from the excellent selection and we had a really good time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.