We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt

Salt
Rundfunkplatz 4, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49(0)8989083695
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 2,849 Restaurants in Munich
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Was our last night in Munich, and went hear based on other Trip Advisor reviews. A bit out of the way and tucked around a corner, but well worth the effort to find. European chic atmosphere, quiet jazz in the background, and a widely varied menu and attentive, English-fluent service. Food was beautifully presented and superbly prepared - was one of the top two meals we had on a three country tour of Europe. Opted for the 3 course prix fix at 40 euros - duck breast with Roquefort spaetzel and pears was superb, and their version of bouillabaisse is spectacular - the base is a lobster bisque that is to die for. Highly recommend this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    23
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I went here on the recommendation of a client after we finished our meeting, and thought it was great. The service was quick and the menu was great - large selection of food for a decent price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was there for lunch, and I have to say that the Service was quick and efficient. There was a good selection of lunch dishes, also for Vegetarians. Excellent Food - recommended...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife's birthday so I wanted somewhere different but walkable from our hotel and found this on Tripadvisor. Did not book but not too busy on a Monday night and we had a table downstairs. The menu is a la carte but you can have 3 courses for 40€, 4 for 48€ etc. We had the three course option, the food was wonderful, very helpful waiter matched wines for each course from the excellent selection and we had a really good time.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“5 stars ++++++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I ABSOLUTELY HAVE TO RETURN THE FAVOUR TO TRIPADVISOR FOR THIS RESTO.

This was the best dining experience we had in our 5 day trip around Bavaria (Munich, Garmisch, Salzburg, Linz).

EXCELLENT FOOD and probably the BEST SERVICE i have ever experienced in Europe. Period. I've been to over 20 cities in Europe, and i can say that this place has got the right idea. To the waiter that took care of us, you really made it a memorable evening for us.

Pros
Reasonable prices for pretty much central Munich (3 courses for 40 euro)
Trendy spot
Reservations accepted and very easy even for a friday night
Waiters spoke English super well
Very tasty and visually appealing dishes
Great cocktail list and wines
Nice location in a courtyard with a fountain, close to the city center (5 min cab out)
REALLY IMPRESSIVE SERVICE

I have to make a point here of the service:
The waiter, a young guy that's half Greek (so you know who to look out for), went out of his way to make sure we were accommodated for. It seemed like he was like this with all clients. Some of the nice gestures that we appreciated were making us requested drinks off the menu, amending meals to suit our tastes, cancelling our last main course without any sort of issue, bringing us extras if we asked for them without any qualms, etc. He even brought me a whole extra carafe of wine free of charge because my sangria (off the menu item) wasnt strong enough. I was just impressed.

For the food, we had the following meals:
Gazpacho with croquettes
Veal tenderloin with truffel risotto
Artichoke ravioli with lamb
Beef steak with potatoes

All were perfectly cooked, very tasty. The food here is kinda mediterranean/international. We went to Tantris the night before (2 michelin stars), paid twice the price, but enjoyed the ambiance and food at this restaurant more. I recommend this place for friends or couples. I don't see it as a family type place though...

If you're asking yourself about this place, don't. Just go. Youre doing yourself a favor.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.