We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOR BUSINES...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich

Save Saved
You added Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Domagkstr. 26, 80807 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Golden Tulip Munich City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 383 hotels in Munich
Larisa, Greece
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“GOOD FOR BUSINES...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in a four-day visit to the BAU 2013 Construction Exibition in snow covered Munich in January. Rooms were of adequate size, in a simple modern decorative style, providing facilities for hot beverages (coffee and tea). View from our 3rd floor window was over a large park over the street, covered in snow (quite spectacular alpine sight in a big city!!). Transport seemed a bit of a problem, since Underground was our preffered means of moving around and the closest station (Alte Heide) is a 10 min walk from the hotel. We took advantage of a bargain deal for 4 day transportation in any trip in the city (including airport shuttle) for two persons at 55 euros, which proved very useful indeed! Overall the hotel was OK, although we had to ask for the slippers and bath robes (included in the initial package deal offer, breakfast excluded, at an extra 18 euro pp). Late check out is also on offer though Munich city is such an inviting destination, you hardly want to stay long in your hotel room...

Room Tip: There are two buildings, obviously the higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear semer13,

thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you had a nice stay at The Rilano Hotel München.

The hotel is located in Schwabing and by public transport the city centre can be reached easily. In front of the hotel you find the bus station which drives you straight to the subway station. Also the tram is just a five minutes walk from the hotel.

Slippers and bathrobes could be ordered easily by phone at the reception. We only offer it on request because of our environmental thought.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon at one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    17
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent, modern hotel which was easy to reach from Munich Airport by bus and then a short taxi ride. We only stayed one night but were very impressed. Ate an afternoon meal which was very nice. I'd chosen the Hotel pretty randomly as it was near a venue we were going to for a concert.

The following day it was easy to reach the city centre. The Underground station was a short 10 minute walk up the main road and the train took roughly 10 minutes to Marienplatz.

Highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Nick H,

thank you for yor positive feedback. Great to hear that you had a nice stay at The Rilano Hotel München.

The hotel is close to the airport and it´s easy to access by public transport. It is located in Schwabing - from here it takes a short time to get to the city centre of Munich.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon at one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on business. Basically the room's were modern and clean. With coffee making facilities in the room. Air conditioning functioned very well. The room had a mini bar avaiable to be stocked on request. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of hot and cold available and all of the staff I came into contact with very very helpful.
The only downside was the hotel location. About 10 minutes walk from a U bahn station (in previous stays the hotels I have visited have been situated directly near a U bahn for convenience).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear MarkEngland61,

thank you for your positive feedback - great that you enjoyed The Rilano Hotel München and your stay with us.

Here some advice for your next stay: Actually there is a second, very quick connection to the centre of Munich. Within a 3 minutes walk the tram can be reached. From there you can go to the "Münchener Freiheit" which is in Schwabing.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon in one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent a weekend here and found this hotel to be just perfect. Reliable Wifi access (I think free) allowed me to work one morning, rooms were a good size, dinner at the restaurant was extremely good (one of the best steaks I've ever had) even though we arrived late and shortly before the restaurant was about to close. Breakfast was also good and the staff were friendly, polite and well homoured in a way we Brits (or maybe just my wife) like to joke about the the Germans not being capable of! Staff even provided me with a UK adaptor for my laptop, which really surprised me given nearly all the guests were German. The only issue was the hotel's distance from downtown Munich. The U-Bahn is about 10 minutes walk, and this didn't seem the most exciting part of "hip and trendy" Scwabing and reminded me of Canary Wharf.

One tip. If heading to the airport, and you want to avoid the expensive taxis, don't get the airport train from the city centre. Instead get a northbound bus from outside the hotel (ask reception but think it was a number 5) 20 mins to Johanneskirchen or Unterfhoring which are half way up the S8 line and jump on the airport train there. It's quicker, cheaper and more convenient.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Xoan,

thank you so much for your positive feedback. It´s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Rilano Hotel München - we will forward your comment to our team. You are quite right - the hotel is not situated dowwntown - but the city center is easy and very quick reachable by public transportation. Either subway, tram or bus.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon in one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Tucked away in the middle of Domagstrasße is this nice 5* to rival big name brands like Renaissance and Marriott. Executive rooms are reasonable large, modern, clean and very comfortable as is the en-suite.

The breakfast bar is fairly comprehensive in the hotel's restaurant - all self service, even the cappuccino/espresso machine. They have a bar operating till late in the evening. The service is GREAT - they remembered my name each time we fronted at reception or at breakfast!!

Four minor issues remain, although solutions were available:
- The shower door does now cover the lower quarter of the body, which is normally fine, except for the mini flood which soaks the carpet right outside the bathroom. Perhaps something will be done here. We used a towel to jam to doorspace each time we have a shower to prevent the overflow from reaching the nice carpets.
- no U-bahn stations nearby, even if the area is served by bus routes.
- WiFi and cabled internet is free if you're patient but not good enough if you have large downloads. You can "upgrade" for 10 EUR or 12.50 EUR for the high speed limited or limitless versions for 24 hours .. lower pricing is available if you require 1 or 5 hours respectively.
- Parking was at 12 EUR / day or complementary with room but you'll have to visit reception each time you wish to exit the parking space... they are working on a "season pass" solution during my visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie M, Manager at Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear hanra,

thank you for your detailed and positive feedback. We are very happy that you had a pleasant stay at The Rilano Hotel München.

The subway station is a 7 minutes walk from the hotel, very close is the tram - you can reach the station within a few minutes and in front of the hotels you find the bus stop.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon in one of our Rilano Hotels & Resorts.

Best wishes,

Your Rilano Hotels & Resorts Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

An elegant hotel with a sophisticated luxury! When I arrived at the hotel the staff was so friendly and helpful. The check-in was fast, and the staff showed me to my suite and helped me with the luggage! The suite was spacious and had a modern and elegant interior and design. When I entered the room I was welcomed with a petite plate of fruit and petits fours, and of course, a welcome card. The wardrobe had a clean and modern design in dark wood, and the size was surprisingly large. The bathroom was modern and ad good space. The bathtub had a nice size.

In the suite there is two televisions, one work desk of good size, a sitting group in the living room ++. There is an extra toilet in the entrance area and a huge and comfy bed!

I would said that this is one of the best choices for business and leisure travellers, though the hotel isn’t in the centrum of Munich. There is no problem of getting to the centrum.
The U-bahn (Metro) is a 7 min walk from the hotel, and it only takes 13 minutes with the U-bahn and you are in the middle of Munich centrum!

The only minus is the view from the suite and the distance to centrum, the last mentioned is only a problem when you are tired and stuffed with delicious Bavarian food. Since the top floor is located in the 5th floor, you can see rooftops of some business buildings.

All in all i want to give this hotel 9 out of 10 points.

A big thank you to the hotel staff, and a wonderful experience at the Worldhotel The Rilano Munich! 

I will defiantly recommend this hotel to other business and leisure travellers.

IQ Locks AS and I will defiantly use this hotel again.

Best regards,
 
NICOLAS HOLDA
 
Business Development Manager
 
IQ Locks A/S
 
Bygdoy Allé 37
 
 
P.O. BOX 2851 - Solli                       
NO-0230 Oslo
NORWAY
 
E: holda@iqlocks.no
 
www.iqlocks.com
 
Please note: Postal address, and visiting address has ben changed.
The above businessaddress will take effect from March 1st 2011.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, and don't be affraid to ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich

Address: Domagkstr. 26, 80807 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Golden Tulip Munich City)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 383 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rilano Hotels & Resorts flagship hotel is in Munich in the trendy Schwabing quarter: “The Rilano Hotel Munich” – a hotel for superb taste in the center of the Bavarian metropolis. Come enjoy our modern and elegant interior design, first-class service, exceptional restaurants, and jazz lounge. The Rilano Hotel Munich is located in the new “Parkstadt Schwabing“ office center near Leopoldstrasse. It captivates with excellent service, modernly furnished rooms and a passion for the latest technology. The Olympic Park, the English Garden and Allianz Arena are all quite close. Our hotel in the heart of Munich offers 150 elegant hotel rooms and suites. With comfort, LAN and flatscreens in every room, The Rilano Hotel Munich is the perfect springboard for a weekend in Munich or a business trip. It also offers an exquisite restaurant, cozy bar, modern cafe and pasta bar. In the “Vitello” Restaurant, the “Jazz Bar”, “Coffee Fellows” and “MammaMinuti”, guests can kick back, relax and enjoy our exceptional service. The Rilano Hotel Munich offers 700 m² for events, plus a board room and 10 breakout rooms flooded with light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worldhotel The Rilano Hotel Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.