We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable stay outside the city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum to your Saves list
Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Rablstrasse 2, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Affordable stay outside the city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Getting here was a little tricky. I accidentally canceled our booking while staying in Salzburg while trying to alter the length of our stay and fortunately we were able to call and they quickly rebooked us. We had some difficulty finding this hotel at first, but it truly is located about 5-7 minutes from the nearest metro station, Rosenheimerplatz. This turned out to be a great benefit as the metro runs all hours and we are able to easily travel throughout Munich and beyond. The staff was so helpful with checking us and giving us advice on the metro. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable--they felt brand new. The shower is amazing. It is a small room, with limited space in storing luggage. We ended our stay at this hotel after a two week tour throughout Austria and Germany. While we only had two big suitcases and two book bags, we were able to fit them on the floor. There's not much space for storing them-but it wasn't so cramped that we felt uncomfortable. However, for the price it's worth it. We stayed for three days and would definitely stay again. Everything was so clean, modern and was also managed very efficiently.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    255
    62
    9
    3
See reviews for
48
181
29
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

While this chain doesn't admittedly have all the bells and whistles you get with a 4 star hotel, you shouldn't be expecting this if you've read the reviews and priced it up. It doesn't have a safe or proper cupboards or a phone, but you can lock your things in your case and use your mobile, after all, you probably didn't come to Munich to sit in a hotel room all day. You do get a very modern room, large comfy bed, airconditioning, with an ensuite bathroom that's very clean and with a rainfall shower for a very reasonable rate. This is my second stay at this hotel and it still looks brand new and is very well run and conveniently located near an S-Bahn station (Rosenheimer Platz- take the Franziskaner Strasse exit and take a left after the chinese supermarket, then right after the VW garage on the corner) on the main line so it is equally convenient for accessing the city centre and the airport (Line S8 is fastest).

I think the only niggle is that you won't find anywhere in the room to easily put your suitcase. We did find storage space for clothes, there was a rail with hangers by the tv and behind the bed, plus some shelves. There is at least space in the bathroom to put washbags on a raised shelf by the loo and a small tray in the shower for toiletries. The hairdryer in the bathroom is better than many I've used in other hotels.

We had no trouble checking in and were allowed to check in several hours earlier than the actual check in time. I noticed that on this visit, they do not allow guests who are drinking in the bar to use the outside garden/decked area after 22:30, which should allow guests staying on that side of the building with their windows open to have a quiet night's sleep. This shouldn't be necessary since the air conditioning was good, with easy controls and not too noisy. The cleaning staff do turn it off once they've been though, so don't expect to come back to a glacially cool room. Most places in Europe for this value won't be airconditioned.

The wifi has improved and there is now an iPad in the reception that can be used to procure a taxi with surprising speed and reassuringly gives you the driver's photo and licence plate when it notifies that your taxi is on it's way. If you don't speak German, the reception staff speak very good English.

Room Tip: Higher floors can have nice views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a very new hotel, few minutes walking from the city center and the metro station.
Rooms are small but comfortable and clean, wi-fi covered and even if in my room there were no windows in the toilet, I appreciate the accommodation. You can ask for more then one key-cards to access your room.

Breakfast usually is not included in the fee for the room, you can pay €7.5 while checking-in; otherwise there are lots of bakeries in the neighborhoods.
Hall full of places to enjoy a drink from the bar.

Staff very helpful and friendly, maps of the city are available at the desk.

Excellent accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We’ve arrived from the airport approx 3 hours earlier then the scheduled check-in, but still the guy from the reception helped us with a room, and this was much appreciated!
The room was large enough (but be aware that some may see the rooms as small; i say large enough considering that is a Motel and that we have stayed there for a 4 nights city-break), very clean, breakfast was more than OK, again considering that this is a Motel. Wi-Fi worked excellent in the room.
Great location, 15 min walk to the city center, close to the public transportation, with good connections to all city attractions, including direct line to the airport).
Also, we have forgotten a pair of quite expensive headphones in the room, we called the hotel, and Mrs. Jessica from the reception was very kind and helped us recover them extremely quickly and in good conditions - thank you for that!

Overall, i definitely recommend it, especially for city breaks tourists!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rottnest Island, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Clean small rooms with free wifi, check in service very good although we wanted breakfast but was not charged at time so had issues in the morning at breakfast line up. Breakfast good value. Parking a bit expensive (13 euros a day) for guests could be cheaper as carpark was pretty much empty. Good location with walking distance to old town and centrum.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a good budget hotel minutes away from the centre of Munich. This modern hotel has a stylish bar and outside seating area. The rooms are small but well designed and spotless. The staff are very helpful, friendly and knowledgable. One pays for the room on arrival so checking out is achieved by handing in the room cards at reception. Breakfast is a bargain at €7.50 per person and sets you up for the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room facing the city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Good location. Only a short walk to the city centre. Excellent reception staff. Friendly and helpful.

Rooms are on the small size, but clean and modern with very nice bathrooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi was excellent.

Breakfast buffet was €10 and very good.

Great looking bar area with lots of seating. Very busy when we were staying. Probably because of the terrible weather.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum

Address: Rablstrasse 2, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#26 Business Hotel in Munich
#41 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#58 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Munchen-Deutsches Museum
Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.