We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum to your Saves list
Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Rablstrasse 2, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Motel One. Rooms were new and clean, staff were very helpful and friendly and the location was convenient. However, the rooms are small (although this depends on your preference but we were fine with it and had enough room to store our luggage and clothes) and the hotel was quite busy.

It really depends on preference, but for us, the value for money, location and the rooms and customer service far outweighed the other factors and we would not hesitate to stay at Motel One again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    242
    59
    9
    3
See reviews for
46
172
29
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is perfect! Can't say a bad word about it! Everything is new, clean and modern. Very close to the city centre. Great service and nice small rooms. Lovely showers! It is very good value for money! Bar & lobby area are very modern and great to relax in. Rooms are small, but it is all you need really. Staff are friendly and extremely helpfull. Perfect for a short city break!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Motel one in Munich is okay but not more. If you do not want to have anything extra will you have value for the money you pay but there are several hotels with low price offering more. Bed is okay, rooms are small but okay. You can hear thru the doors when someone is passing outside. Don´t stay close to the elevator.
The breakfast is ok but really like a "drive thru area". If you want to have a calm start of the day with a relaxing breakfast is this not your place to stay.

Room Tip: Dont stay close to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The hotel is just prepared for business travellers, and not for leisure.
The rooms and bathrooms are tiny, with almost no place to put your clothes in, or to leave your luggage.
The exhaust fan in the bathrooms did not work very well.
Additionally, the wireless connection at the rooms was extremely cumbersome and poor.
We had booked three rooms and in everyone of them the problems were the same.
There was no wow! effect anywhere, except the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you travel with a little toddler I wouldn´t recommend this hotel because the rooms are too narrow. We asked the staff to take away the cradle because otherwise we didn´t know where to store our luggage.
Breakfast was really varied and fresh, specially the fruit salad.
The neighborhood is quite and calm, but a bit far away from the bustling and exciting Marienplatz.
From the eighth floor the city´s view is unique.

Room Tip: Grab a handful of blue sweets at the entrance. Those are delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed overnight for a business trip.

Hotel is well located in the city centre, on a quiet street. It is clean, very recently renovated - so everything is shiny and new or maintained as such, stylish and efficient. Breakfast provides a good selection of food in a lovely restaurant area, that extends into an outside patio.
All you need for a short trip.

The downsides - not the friendliest staff, not all of whom speak english. (It is not that bad, just could be better). Rooms are new and have a nice color scheme, but decor is sparse and easy-jet-like. Toiletries selection is very limited.

The downsides are what makes this hotel less of a choice for a long stay, but it is a perfectly good one for a short trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

One of three motel one hotels of our trip - the rooms were the same - they are consistently modern, chic and small with basic amenities. We stayed 4 nights and I don't think the ventiliation system worked at all - it could get really warm at night but we just kept our window opened, which translate to loud construction noise in the morning. The bar opens late but they do not serve food - we were disappointed when we wanted ice cream one night.

I was afraid that the hotel is across the river and thus out of the way but I think it is wonderfully situated with lots of restaurants nearby in the Haidhausen area. The nearest S-bahn station is about a five minute walk away. Unlike other motel one, the in-room wifi password only works for one device so if you have multiple devices, you need to ask the front desk for different user names and passwords.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum

Address: Rablstrasse 2, 81669 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#28 Business Hotel in Munich
#40 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#66 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum 3*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Munchen-Deutsches Museum
Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Munchen-Deutsches Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.