We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bavarian athmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Augustinerkeller

Augustinerkeller
Arnulfstrasse 52, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 / 59 43 93
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 403 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Beertasting, Drinking, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1824, this popular beer garden is considered by many to be the best in town, both for its Augustiner beer and its beautiful grounds.
Leppavirta, Finland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Bavarian athmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Never experienced that kind of Bavarian athmosphere before. The beer was good and foodportions big like everywhere in Germany. But the food tasted just average.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    70
    13
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hearty food and no problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The atmosphere here was pleasantly busy one late afternoon and the half-chicken with potato salad was more than satisfying. This is a remarkable oasis in a dull part of town. Take the 17 tram from the train station to avoid the (relatively short but ugly) walk up the Arnulfstrasse. There is a table-service area but self-service strikes me as part of the Biergarten charm.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh (Scotland)
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Fantastic Beer Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I visited the Augustiner Keller on a couple of occasion on our recent visit to Munich and found the place amazing The first visit was on a Friday afternoon when the beer garden was fairly quiet and we had a couple of fantastic beers and a large traditional meal that we shared. We found the waiter serving us very helpful and friendly. We went on the Saturday night and the place had a fantastic family atmosphere. We both ordered traditional Bavarian food that was again very good again the waiter was very friendly and attentive. On our first visit maybe because it was quiet or it was the afternoon we were allowed to order 0.5ltr beers but on the Saturday evening we could only order a 1ltr Mass, I wasn't complaining as I love the beer.
The beer garden is massive and has both a waiter/waitress service area and also a self service area. Well worth a visit if you are in Munich when the weather is good and it's only a short walk from the main railway station.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best beer garden in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

If you want to have great local German beer, good food and meet locals go there. The best time to go is between 18:00 - 22:00, the atmosphere is at its best, the tables are packed with beer drinkers, just join one of the tables with your 1litter beer glass and start a conversation. Don't skip the pretzels they are also great. To sum great beer!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is Bavaria!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My first visit here was on a very warm night for Munich. The park was crowded, but we found a table quickly. We enjoyed watching the locals drinking large steins of beer. There was a Mexican musical group singing when we first arrived. The park like setting was lovely. The food good, but the drinks expensive. My friend, a Munich resident said, the drinks were almost as much as October Fest! Everyone seemed to be enjoying the beautiful evening. Don't miss this.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Augustinerkeller also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Augustinerkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Augustinerkeller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.