We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy, yummy, yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schmalznudel - Cafe Frischhut

Schmalznudel - Cafe Frischhut
Pralat-Zistl-Str. 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 26023156
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 2,700 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, German
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“yummy, yummy, yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The most scrumptious "Schmalz" pastry ever. So so so delicious! Try the Schmalznudeln!!! You won't regret it. Deliciously light and ever so pleasing to the palate. Such a lovely little cafe. The Virkutalien market across from it is a must!!!!! You can eat your way through it.....delish delish!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    35
    19
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Traditional cafe with amazing donuts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was walking past and noticed a guy frying dough, when cooked they look like flying saucers dipped in sugar. They are lovely though and even better with nice cup of coffee. Not good for the waistline but if you're on holiday the that's OK. Loved the cafe and will take friends who visit for a real German experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply the most delicious fried dough I have ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I'm not sure what else to say. For those who said it was "average" I am not sure what they ate?!

In the front window they make the plain flat donuts and the jam filled ones all day long. They are always warm and fresh.

Incredible. We stopped by to take them out every time we passed by the market whether we were hungry or not. I had been on a previous trip and nothing had changed. Maybe it isn't worth it if you sit down and order the "wrong item"? I don't know as I've never tried

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A local top tip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Early in the morning is the best time to meet the locals from the market. Be prepared, you might encounter all sorts of characters. And have a go at the menue. For one day do not worry about the calories!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“It'll do in a pinch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I enjoyed it here. Coffee was good, so was the Danish. Is it the best I ever had? No. But I didn't need it to be. I needed it to be good, and supply me with the morning caffeine I wanted to begin my day. It did that just fine. I would come back. Service was polite and efficient. It won't compare to a coffee house in say, Vienna. But it isn't trying to. Give it a try.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmalznudel - Cafe Frischhut also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Schmalznudel - Cafe Frischhut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schmalznudel - Cafe Frischhut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.