We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip to eat here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayers Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Mayers Bar & Restaurant
Gollierstrasse 39, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
0049 89 59976381
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Spotted this restaurant on Trip Advisor and decided to go. A UBahn and bus ride were really worth the journey. Delicious home made bread brought to table with pre dinner drinks. Staff really friendly. Presentation excellent. They spoke excellent English. I had the 4 fish selection served with spinach and purreed celleriac. The fish were Red Snapper, Wolf fish, Zander and shrimp. Served with basil and oil. My husband had veal served with vegetables. We shared the 3 different creme brûlée and a cherry sorbet, followed by excellent coffee. Our bill with 2 drinks was Euro 65 so not expensive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    10
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unpretentious with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

If you are tired of the Classic German fare this is the place for you. Excellent friendly service with sophisticated preparation . Located on a quiet street about a 30 minute walk from the Bahnhof.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Lunch, good and fast service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Ideal place for a (business) lunch in Schwanthalerhöhe. 3 course menu with soup/salat as a starter and fish/meat/pasta as a main course.
Food is always good and tasty. Portions are not too big as usual in good restaurants.
Service is nice as well. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozona, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite Meal in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Our charismatic waiter lead us through a perfect meal. Suggesting a starter of salmon tartar with wonderful accompaniments and an excellent bottle of French wine he picked out for us. The wine paired with the meal perfectly which is not always easy to do with a variety of fish and pasta for entrees. I had the whole grilled dorado with a delightful salad and petite potatoes-all delicious. My husband had the tagliatelle with a pork ragu kicked up a notch for great spiciness. Too full for dessert, the waiter treated us to a little grappa. Thank you for the perfect first dinner in Munich and all for $88 euros. Excellent!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Quality restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We visited this place based on reviews on Tripadvisor and it turned out to be a good choice. Staying at the nearby Hotel Bavaria, we wanted somewhere close by for the first night.

The restaurant seems to be mostly visited by locals, which is as ever a good sign. As for cuisine, check out the website but it's basically standard semi-posh restaurant grub. It's well prepared and presented and we were very pleased. The style is fairly modern but without being too much up itself; there's nothing particularly German about this, but you can't spend your entire holiday in Munich eating roast pork, can you?

The bill for 2 of us came to about €85 for mains, wine and puddings, which is about what you'd expect for such a place. Service was excellent, too, and our limited German was not a problem as the staff kindly helped out with translations. It's not a touristy place and hence no English language menus (fair enough, really).

The only quibble you might have is that the menu is a touch short - but that's a matter of judgement.

Overall, we liked the place and would visit again on our next trip to Munich.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayers Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayers Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.