We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayers Bar & Restaurant

Mayers Bar & Restaurant
Gollierstrasse 39, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
0049 89 59976381
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #14 of 2,629 restaurants in Munich
Restaurant details
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Food, nice atmosphere, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food is truly delicious, the chef really knows their trade. I had a delicious veal dish, it was cooked to perfection.
The restaurant is not too big and has a nice, modern but comfy atmosphere.
Prices are as can be expected for a good restaurant in Munich, i.e. not cheap, but you get good quality.
Can only recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    19
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The restaurant was within walking distance of our hotel near the main railway station in a semi residential district. We arrived early so did not need a reservation. The waiter, an Italian, in perfect English described the menu dishes. I had broiled 'loupe de la mer', a trout like fish which was cooked to perfection. The service and presentation of the dishes could not have been bettered. We had a great evening experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent small restaurant of the beaten track, a real jewl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I've been here on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed.
The quality of food is just that little bit better with plenty of variety.
The menu changes from week to week and there's always something that will appeal to you.
You wont be short of a choice of wine either.
It's a little bit pricier than your normal Gastätte but also in a different league on quality.
Not far from the Hauptbahnhof & just round the corner from the subway, with a taxi rank merely metres away.
A place you really should think about visiting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A surprising gem of a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came across Mayers by chance, staying at the nearby Hotel Bavaria. I'm so very glad that we chanced upon it and decided to eat there.

We asked for an English menu straight away but unfortunately, they did not have one. This was no problem though as our fantastic waiter took the time to translate and explain everything for us. He was one of the best things about our visit, being kind, helpful and attentive.

We chose to sit outside, which was a lovely experience. It sounds strange but, being on a city break, this really did feel like being on holiday! The restaurant is very clean, modern and classy.

The food was just fabulous. The chef is clearly talented and whilst the menu wasn't massive, the choices were all quite interesting and innovative. I have to say that the food went way above our expectations (only because we stumbled across Mayers). Everything was cooked exceptionally well and I liked that there was a bit of a wait for each course (not too much, though). The meal felt relaxed and we weren't rushed at all. I also had the best mojito I've ever had here (and I have had a lot of mojitos!).

Overall, whilst we did pay more than we would normally pay for a meal on holiday, I do think that this was quite good value bearing in mind the quality of the overall experience and of course, the quality of the food. We would definitely recommend Mayers and thoroughly enjoyed eating there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb meal with excellent & friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We visited Mayer's with 3 'fussy-eating' teenagers on a busy Friday evening. We had a superb full meal while the youngsters all had a starter and dessert with no main course. It was perfect! Our waiter could not have been more friendly or helpful. Great food, great service, great atmosphere & ambience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayers Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mayers Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayers Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.