We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Martinelli

Ristorante Martinelli
Wilhelm-Diess-Weg 2, 81927 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 089 931416
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #179 of 2,803 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Italian Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This restaurant is great. They make you feel like you are home. The food is amazing! Very recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    9
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great experience and absolutely lovely owners!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband and I ate at Ristorante Martinelli on the last night of our trip to Munich. We craved some nice, fresh Italian food after a week of heavy (but delicious) Bavarian food. We chose this based on previous TripAdvisor reviews, but a word of caution -- the restaurant is located fairly far away from the city centre in a residential area. It cost us about 17 Euros each way in a taxi. if you're staying at the Westin Hotel this would be a great choice.

The interior of the restaurant is beautiful and cosy. There is also a lovely terrace where you can sit outside in good weather.

The restaurant wasn't super busy for a Saturday night, but that only meant we had super personal service from the lovely owners, a husband and wife team (she's from Tuscany and he's from Puglia). The chef is a fan of mixing many different flavours together, and this worked well. He whipped up a 5-course meal for us off-menu and the flavours were really inventive and fresh. We had a starter of mango, white asparagus, calamari, cucumber and tomato; followed by beetroot ravioli with toasted pumkin seeds; followed by a delicate, roasted river pike with pureed carrots and wilted spinach; then a superb rack of lamb with potatos and roasted vegetables; finished with light lemon, strawberry and cream desert, and a great bottle of wine!

We really enjoyed meeting and speaking with the owners - they are friendly, love what they do and have created a great place! Everyone else in the restaurant seemed as if they were regulars too -- a good sign. We left extremely full and happy, with memories of a great experience. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh Italian with wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This tiny restaurant is run by a husband and wife who do a fantastic job of catering the menu to you. We had the Trocchioli with duck ragout which was amazing. We also had the Turbot to share which was a lovely white fish. We told the chef we wanted something chocolate for dessert and he made chocolate souffle, raspberry soup with basil sorbet (just to die for) and chocolate truffles. The chef also sent out a amuse bouche of pasta, a plate of freshly cut prosciutto and we finished off the meal with a bit of grappa from his private stash. Overall, this restaurant is a total find - romantic, quiet, catered to you. highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Hosts, AMAZING FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Eating at this restaurant will be something you will remember forever. The four of my friends and I loved this place. The owners were amazing and went over the top to make sure we were happy. I will eat there again.
Kassie from London

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Truly excellent Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

One of the best, if not the best place in Munich (and far beyond Munich) to go to for an excellent Italian meal served by charming hosts. Easy to find a place where the bill is higher, but very difficult to find one where the food is better. In fact I have been trying for some time now... Luca's cuisine is a fantastic mix of classical and truly innovative dishes, including cross-over dishes with far eastern or Bavarian cuisine. Whatever you like, pasta, carne, pesce or a vegetarian dish, Luca will always have something special for you, and he has much more to offer than what is on his menu. And Elena, his wife and sommeliere, will have the right wine recommendation. Just try it out, talk to them and trust their recommendations. You will never regret it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Martinelli also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Ristorante Martinelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Martinelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.