We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its just OK!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bier- und Oktoberfestmuseum

Bier- und Oktoberfestmuseum
Sterneckerstrasse 2, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 2423 1607
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Bier- und Oktoberfestmuseum like an insider
Special Offer
$51*
and up
Munich Super Saver: City Bike Tour plus Bavarian...
Ranked #67 of 402 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Learn about the history of beer and see artifacts relating to beer’s production. Tours are offered in German and English. Sample different beers or eat Bavarian food in the restaurant.
Meerut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Its just OK!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Not very impressed by the Museum. It more look like a old fashined big house with jumbled-up corridors and fllors. Nice to know the history of beer and the film which is being played, but rest other things are just OK. Its a mix of oktoberfest and beer history. Its at a central location in munich, so can be covered easily. Yo can easily sum up entire museum in 1-2 hrs.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    30
    19
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Lots of funny Oktoberfest posters ;) do not forget to watch a film about beer and look into all rooms :))

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went in here and the chap on the front desk wasnt very helpful or friendly. We walked round the displays but only a few had the info in english so didnt really get to find out all that much on the history. The best bit was the beer cellar where we had a drink and it was loveky and cosy. The staff im afraid to say were not as friendly as we had experienced everywhere else in Germany. Bit of a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lack of English information”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

A bit of a disjointed museum.
Did not really flow nor tell us much.
Unfortunately the only English language information boards were one per display room, but each separate exhibit was only labelled in German. So the display on the top level of numerous cartoons of Donald Duck were lost on us.
A nice building but the contents were not so good.
Maybe good for a rainy day.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good for Beer Lovers - try 3 beer sampler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Beer culture is a big part of Munich and a visit to the Beer Museum should be on the Beer Tourists itinerary. At €2,50 its not expensive, the museum well constructed and fitted museum, good photo opportunities set up with props and a good set of Beer memorabilia. I was a bit disappointed with the Stein collection, I expected a wider collection. Afterwards we went for a drink in the very nice Cellar Bar ... we asked for the sampler of 3 small beers which was advertised, this seemed to be all too difficult.... we eventually persuaded the bar staff. However this is a Beer Museum for tourists and we were disappointed at the reluctance of the staff to sell us beer.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bier- und Oktoberfestmuseum also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Bier- und Oktoberfestmuseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bier- und Oktoberfestmuseum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.