We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Viktualienmarkt

Viktualienmarkt
Viktualienmarkt 3, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
89 89068205
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Viktualienmarkt like an insider
Private Tour
$38*
and up
Private Tour: Munich Old Town Walking Tour
Ranked #15 of 402 things to do in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The city's largest and most famous outdoor marketplace.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were here 2 years ago and thought it was a great market, both for eating at the restaurants and cafes and for the food stalls selling fresh produce. On this last visit there seemed to be a lot more places to eat and less stalls selling fresh produce and the produce on sale was not as fresh as last time or as fresh as we would want. We had hoped to stock up with fresh food for our trip, but bought very little as the quality was not good enough and the prices very high by comparison with other places.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    266
    49
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out in the sunshine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We walked to this market which was quite easy to find. I think we just asked one person for directions and they were very helpful. ..all the people in Munich seemed helpful, btw. This market has everything you could wish to see, from vegetables and fruit, to various meats and cheeses
Wine shops, craft beers,toys,traditional bavarian curios, cafés,tea shops etc,etc. We walked and tasted for ages and had lots of fun. Very good vibe too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Make it your first stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I like to visit markets in every city I travel to as you get to learn a lot about the people of that city from their local markets. This one is lots of fun. Has a good variety of foods, cooked and uncooked, wines, beers, fruits, vegetables, cheese shops, delicatessens in addition to many other specialty shops. The market is centrally located and is surrounded with all types of attractions, department stores, and hotels and very easy to get to by public transportation. We shopped and had a great lunch here. Make this one of your first stops in the city.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Nice Beer Garden under Chestnut Trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The way to do this market is to go there mid-afternoon to peruse the market and the area. Take your time but keep an eye on the beer garden. You want to buy beer and grab a table before it gets too busy with the after work crowd.

We met some Munich friends at this beer garden and enjoyed the atmosphere very much. We arrived there around 5:30pm. Get there earlier because we had to wait for a table that would host 5 people. You get your beer and then have free reign on where you get your food from any stand you want. We enjoyed ourselves very much.

One of our favorite beer garden experiences!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Don't Go Before Lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I read many review of this market so we decided that it was a "must see"...don't waste your time going before lunch because all you will do is walk around looking for food when the only thing open is coffee and pastry shops...really not what I expected and it is really probably just another outdoor bar after dark.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viktualienmarkt also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Viktualienmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viktualienmarkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.