We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dhaba

Dhaba
Belgradstrasse 16, 80796 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 089 38367771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 2,803 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chicago, IL Suburbs
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went as a group of 10 friends to visit Dhaba.
We sampled a large variety of the appetizers and dishes and found the food quality to be very good, as was the service. Very authentic dishes, probably not quite as spicy as we would get in either the UK or the US.
Place was very busy with local patrons, we had tried to get into the restaraunt the earlier in the week but it was full so we made a reservation.
Very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    21
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is as close as it gets to authentic Rajasthani Indian cuisine without having to shell out the airfare to Jaipur. ;-) Add to it a pleasant atmosphere and excellent service.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Doesn't quite get there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I've yet to find a really good Indian/Pakistani/Bangladeshi restaurant on the continent of Europe. There's a little fast food Indian cafe on Munich's Barerstrasse called, imaginatively enough, Indische Fastfood, that I reckon comes fairly close to that elusive authentic combination of Birmingham and the subcontinent which makes a proper "Indian restaurant", as we insist on miscalling them. Dhaba, on the other hand, tries very hard and cooks some very tasty food but definitively doesn't get there. Little things: the chapatis on the menu aren't chapatis at all, but roti, cooked in the tandoor and not as they should be on a hot flat skillet or stone. Rice is included in the price - but I often prefer not to eat rice at all, using chapati bread as my starch and my eating implement, so why should I pay for it? The sour lassi was bland. The main dishes were on the whole good, the excellent Achari Ghosh tangy with the cooked pickles and well-cooked lamb-mutton. However, the dal was too sloppy in consistency, though nicely flavoured, as was the lamb palak (spinach). The samosa pastry was too thick. You come out feeling bloated a la 1970s curry house. In Britain, we've moved on, with places like Tayyabs or Giftos. And finally my bill was far too high: equivalent to more than £30. Sorry, it doesn't get my vote, despite its inflated local reputation.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

If you feel like really good Indian food and you happen to be in Schwabing don't miss this restaurant. It has become one of my favorite places to eat out. Start with samosas, which in my opinion is a reliable test for good Indian cuisine, or the delicious spicy chicken tika masala. The plain butter naan is very good and the chai tea one of the best in Munich. I have had different daals, the classic spinach and cheese dish, a fragrant potato dish..... all of them very tasty.
The atmosphere is lively but not too noisy, so it is a perfect restaurant to go to with family or a friend for dinner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience! (perfektes Erlebnis!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

After living in Munich for 9 years now, and giving witness to the many Indian restaurants that have arrived on the scene, I must say that DHABA is truly special! The warm, welcoming staff (the smiling owner personally checks in on each table), the fragrant, delicious kitchen (wonderful flavors, perfect textures), and gorgeous deco (red, white, and adorned by stunning wall hangings, and Indian icons) all offer a few hours escape into an exotic land. Oh, and the prices are quite reasonable, as a bonus (especially the "Mittagskarte" or Lunch Menu).

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dhaba also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Dhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dhaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.