We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bavaria and Rumeshalle, Theresienwiese, Munich” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ruhmeshalle und Bavaria

Ruhmeshalle und Bavaria
Theresienhohe 16, 80339 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
89290671
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 157 Attractions in Munich
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks
Attraction details
Near Jerusalem
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bavaria and Rumeshalle, Theresienwiese, Munich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The huge statue of Bavaria (you can climb up inside, for a fee, closed in winter) is the centerpiece of a little hill near the Theresienwiese, where the famous Oktoberfest takes place. It is surrounded by the Rumeshalle, a Greek-temple-like structure that commemorates great Bavarians.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    30
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Lady Liberty of Bavaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Upon first seeing the statue of Bavaria towering above the Oktoberfest plains, the resemblance to another famous statue of a woman, located on Ellis Island in New York City harbor. Lady Bavaria stands regally upon her pedestal and looks out over the wide open space used each year for what many call the 'real' Oktoberfest. Upon approaching her you are treated to the classical columns and hallways of the building flanking her on three sides, the Ruhmeshalle or Hall of Fame. For a small fee, you can climb within her to the top and look out across the rooftops of Munich. Equally as satisfying (and what's more, absolutely free) is the opportunity to wander through the halls behind her, browsing the busts of famous Germans, some dating back to hundreds of years ago. Many famous composers, artists, and theologians line the walls with their plaster likeness. And from the end of either hall, again the lovely skyline of Munich stretches forth. Definitely a good spot for the weary traveler to sit and rest in the shade while enjoying the scene. Lady Bavaria has been good to me, I hope you will find her enjoyable as well!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't make my mistake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I was so looking forward to climbing up to the top of the statue and viewing the busts in the gallery behind it. How disappointing to find that it wouldn't open until April. I could see everything from a distance and will have to go back to see it up close and personal because it still appeals!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A sign of a wonderful trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The statue was a sign that our trip was going wonderfully! We got to enjoy the kickoff party for Oktoberfest and tons of wonderful, friendly people to enjoy it with! It's nothing like America where there were drunken fools, people were happy, and knew how to limit their alcohol intake!

The statue comes out during the Oktoberfest and it's a beautiful statue. It's pretty big, about 5 stories high! When my husband went to get beer, he told me to meet him at this statue afterwards. You can't miss it, it's a gorgeous statue!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
190 attraction reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
“Let the fest BEGIN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

There's nothing like being at the foot of the Bavaria Statue during Oktoberfest! Standing there you can see the thousands and thousands of people from all over the world who visit Munich each year for the fabulous festival. It's a great vantage point.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruhmeshalle und Bavaria also viewed

 

Been to Ruhmeshalle und Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruhmeshalle und Bavaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.