We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayerischer Hof Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bayerischer Hof Hotel to your Saves list
Bayerischer Hof Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-6 Promenadeplatz, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #72 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
santa rosa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 and found this hotel to be very accommodating and comfortable. It is a beautiful hotel, very close to the Maironplatz, and the staff were very helpful. We were there with a large group, yet it didn't feel like it. They staff was so friendly and did everything they could to help us find a rental car, recommend places to walk, tour, eat, etc. The mornign Breakfast is amazing.
Our room was very large for a European room with a great bathroom and especially shower!
We thought it was great and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    170
    103
    60
    31
See reviews for
81
182
57
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Elegant Hotel, very traditional style. Breakfast up on the roof was wonderful. Staff helpful and overall facilities very good. Stayed on business with others and located centrally so easy to go out and sample the lovely area.

Room Tip: Higher up the better. Not too noisy on the front and very sunny (weather dependent).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great location and service was very good. The doorman was very helpful with luggage together with directions. The morning Breakfast was superb and the waiters went out of their way to help.
The Restaurant called Kellers in the basement has great German food both for lunch and dinner.
Within close walking distance to numerous attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

When we arrived, judging from the lobby, we thought, sure, this was just another business hotel. But the next morning when we went upstairs for breakfast, were we in for a shock--kids, families, people of all ages. What a delight! This is a hotel that appeals to everyone. Service and food are superb, as you'd expect from a five-star hotel. We had a basic deluxe double room and it had lots of space. Location is ideal, right in the heart of the old city. Stay here and really enjoy Munich.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Your professional greeting after your doorman points out the Michael Jackson Memorial in the small park just outside the hotel sets the tone. This is a serious continental luxury hotel with all the amenities including luscious weisswurst for breakfast including that wonderful sweet Bavarian mustard. The rooms are spacious and airy with the usual comforter and a very nice bathroom. Room service is prompt and tasty. All the expected services for a hotel in this class including a number of excellent restaurant choices. Do not miss the rooftop with steaks grilled personally by a chef.
You are close to all the action in the main plaza where the glockenspiel rules.
This is the place to be Munich.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in Munich.

First of all, the location is excellent. It is very easy to walk to most of attractions from this hotel.
Also, there are variety of restaurants inside this hotel so you have few choices. There is a German restaurant named KELLER (It means CELLER), you can order delicious German food and beer. And Trader Vic's restaurant where you can order MAI TAI and PUPUs.

Most of all, their buffet style breakfast is the best in Munich I think. The breakfast alone is worth staying at Bayerischer Hof. It's simply the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Price are overdone in this hotel, at least for the room i got...and it was the second one i asked for as the first one was not bigger as a maid's room in singapore. Orherwise service was good and friendly, breakfast excellent with a nice terrasse and the spa/pool are also nice. The gym is a bit small...looks like people in muenchen prefer to drink mass of beer than to practice. Design is a bit oldish.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityManager_HBH, Manager at Bayerischer Hof Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe the inconveniences that you had to face during your recent stay with us on the “Tripadvisor” homepage. Please allow us to contact you herewith in order to express our sincere apologies. Your opinion is an important tool for controlling our quality standards on a daily basis.

We are pleased to learn that you considered the Hotel Bayerischer Hof for your journey to Munich and enjoyed your stay with us.

Nevertheless, we are sorry to learn that you perceived our 1.300 qm Blue Spa Wellness area, including our gym which was refurbish with the assistance of Mr. Ralf Möller (Ex- Mister Universe), as too small. The perception might be due to the traditional structure of our building that we took into consideration during the entire reconstruction phase in 2005.

Dear guest, on behalf of the whole team of the Hotel Bayerischer Hof, we are very happy to welcome you again.

With kindest regards

Hotel Bayerischer Hof
Gebrüder Volkhardt KG

Christin Kluth
Training & Quality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayerischer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayerischer Hof Hotel

Address: 2-6 Promenadeplatz, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Munich
#28 Business Hotel in Munich
#44 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bayerischer Hof Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally conceived by King Ludwig I, the Bayerischer Hof is one of Munich's most legendary hotels. History and contemporary flair mingle with easy elegance. Its iconic Blue Spa, offering barbecues in summer and an unique ice bar in winter with views of Munich, was created by Andrée Putman. The latest restaurants, Atelier and Garden, are by interior designer Axel Vervoordt, who also devised the Cinema Lounge; complete with its own Night Club with live Jazz, five restaurants, six bars and the theatre, it is a self-contained haven that draws celebrities and heads-of-state. Guest rooms are in a variety of styles, designed by famous architects. Top-floor suites have breathtaking views, private spa access, terraces or open fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Bayerischer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayerischer Hof Munich
Hotel Bayerischer Hof

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayerischer Hof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.