We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant production and experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayerische Staatsoper Opera House

Bayerische Staatsoper Opera House
2 Max-Joseph-Platz, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
49 89 2185 1920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 157 Attractions in Munich
Type: Operas, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The best place in the city to view opera and ballet, although it can be a tough ticket.
missdebosiom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant production and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We recently enjoyed Tosca which was fabulous.

The opera house is brilliant and the seats which we had were excellent/ Would highly recommend paying the extra and getting the seats in the stalls.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    65
    16
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naxxar, Malta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The opera house is spectacular.... the seats, well...read on !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Ladies and gentlemen, do yourselves a favour. If you are going to see an opera at this splendid and beautiful opera spend a bit more and get DECENT seats, Avoid by all costs the seats that cost less than 50 euros (especially the ones that cost less than 20). The Euro 11.50 seats have a standing area RIGHT IN FRONT OF THEM so naturally all you will see are bums. The Euro 15.50 seats consist of a highly perched wooden padded bar with a small backrest. You have to kind of climb up to sit down, like you would do on a high bar stool. Very uncomfortable and you will see next to nothing especially if the 11.50's start standing in front of you.

Also if you do not understand German (or any of the foreign languages) you will not get any form of subtitles up there (not sure about the more expensive seats).

So yes, spend more to get the full experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Worth the ticket just to experience the building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A beautiful building on Opera Platz. If you like opera and have the time, don't miss attending one in these opulent surroundings. It is all a part of the experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Magnificent opera house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Beautiful theatre with a wonderful ambience. Comfortable seating. Effective ticketing process to seat a large audience of polite Bavarians. Knowledgeable and passionate audience who clearly enjoyed their opera and enjoyed watching one another process around dressed in their best.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash state
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Actually go to an Opera; you'll be Captivated!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went online and booked tickets in advance to see the Bavarian State Opera's "Marriage of Figaro." While not committed opera buffs, my husband and I couldn't believe that we were sitting in velvet upholstered seats, in a rose colored/silk wall-covering hall, and a huge royal box, experienced for centuries by the monarchs of Germany.We packed just a tiny bit fancier clothes than we wore for our tourist days (for me, a skirt) and we didn't feel out of place. My husband pointed out men in jeans....yes, but chic, European skinny jeans I noted. It was a thrill to both experience an opera, and to be in a royal palace for the event.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayerische Staatsoper Opera House also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Bayerische Staatsoper Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayerische Staatsoper Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.