We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the ticket just to experience the building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayerische Staatsoper Opera House

Bayerische Staatsoper Opera House
2 Max-Joseph-Platz, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
49 89 2185 1920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 157 attractions in Munich
Type: Operas, Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The best place in the city to view opera and ballet, although it can be a tough ticket.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Worth the ticket just to experience the building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

A beautiful building on Opera Platz. If you like opera and have the time, don't miss attending one in these opulent surroundings. It is all a part of the experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    55
    11
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magnificent opera house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Beautiful theatre with a wonderful ambience. Comfortable seating. Effective ticketing process to seat a large audience of polite Bavarians. Knowledgeable and passionate audience who clearly enjoyed their opera and enjoyed watching one another process around dressed in their best.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash state
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Actually go to an Opera; you'll be Captivated!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went online and booked tickets in advance to see the Bavarian State Opera's "Marriage of Figaro." While not committed opera buffs, my husband and I couldn't believe that we were sitting in velvet upholstered seats, in a rose colored/silk wall-covering hall, and a huge royal box, experienced for centuries by the monarchs of Germany.We packed just a tiny bit fancier clothes than we wore for our tourist days (for me, a skirt) and we didn't feel out of place. My husband pointed out men in jeans....yes, but chic, European skinny jeans I noted. It was a thrill to both experience an opera, and to be in a royal palace for the event.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Opera in the open air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Loved being able to listen to the Bavarian State Opera on an outside stage. Wonderful ambience in a wonderful city.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A firm favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

An amazing array of operas is offered here every year and the Opera Festival in July is always worth a visit.
The stagings can be controversial, but the music is just fabulous.
Comfortable seats and friendly ushers.
Watch the chandelier being lifted before each performance and marvel at the mechanics.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayerische Staatsoper Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Bayerische Staatsoper Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayerische Staatsoper Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bayerische Staatsoper Opera House to your Saves list