We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I guess that I just like Churches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church of Our Lady (Frauenkirche)

Church of Our Lady (Frauenkirche)
Frauenplatz 12, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
49 89 2900 820
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$42*
and up
Private Tour: Munich Old Town Walking Tour
Ranked #52 of 157 Attractions in Munich
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Observation Decks/ Towers, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This 15th-century cathedral is most famous for its domed towers.
Atlanta Georgia
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
512 helpful votes 512 helpful votes
“I guess that I just like Churches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Pope Benedict XVI who was the last person I would have ever expected to resign, was the Archbishop in Munich from this church, prior to his move to Rome and election as Pope. This church incorporates both ancient and modern history.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    117
    71
    11
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
363 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Not that great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very tall and big church that, as others mentioned before, doesn't look like much from the outside. I was also not particularly impressed by the interior. Maybe I've really been to too much churches :)

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
194 attraction reviews
Reviews in 165 cities Reviews in 165 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Inside so much better than the exterior.Well worth seeing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It was Sunday and the day before the Epiphany which may explain why we heard the wonderful bells long before we could even see the church. The peal went on for almost an hour.
The stark, light interior exaggerated the extreme height of the pillars which along with tall thin lancet windows made it almost impossible to avoid looking up to the roof.
I would like to return and explore it properly.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
134 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
312 helpful votes 312 helpful votes
“For a different view of a gothic church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Die Frauenkirche with its twin towers can be seen from miles away and one knows you are in Munich. As you approach this church which is built of red brick outside is it not particularly impressive but as you enter, you are stuck by the modern, white starkness of this very tall church. While it had been built in the gothic style, is was terribly damaged during WWII and was reconstructed in a modern way - the columns are straight and very tall leading the eye to the height of the ceiling. The stain glass windows are lovely and it is a quiet spot to sit and contemplate away from the commotion outside (it is situated in the main shopping area near Marienplatz). The Devil's Foot has been mentioned in many reviews but it noteworthy. I don't think it requires more than the majority of an hour, though a guide could entertain you with much more information

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Not much but has its charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The church is not anything different from the cathedrals you come across Europe but when you come to it, the church has its own charm with the crucified jesus statue and the stained glass and the details that form the interior of the church adds to its beauty. Though not enough to make one detour to visit it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Our Lady (Frauenkirche) also viewed

 

Been to Church of Our Lady (Frauenkirche)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of Our Lady (Frauenkirche), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.