We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe European Chinese” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chi Hong Kong Cuisine

Chi Hong Kong Cuisine
Rumfordstrasse 14, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89/43571281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #677 of 2,811 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Maybe European Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visited this restaurant mid week. It was OK for a change form Bavarian food but not what I would expect from a Chinese restaurant (disclaimer, I like to eat in Chinatown). I found the food way too salty and flavours were muted in general. The dim sum appetizer mix was good but the mains were not remarkable. BTW, my comment about salty food practically applies to most places in Germany but this was even more.

I also found the bill a bit pricey

Service was good

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A good quality find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Small and cosy with very friendly atmosphere - recommend you book well in advance. Try the crispy duck - a real plateful! Also try the special teas. Really good quality food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Finally a decent Chinese Restaurant in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Been living here some time now and one of my complaints has always been that I could not find a decent Chinese restaurant in Munich. There are lots of "Asian" restaurants that service the whole range of Asian foods, including Chinese, Thai, Japanese, and whatever else they feel like putting on the menu this month. Chi is authentic, food is excellent, service is excellent, and the owner is there, and she likes you to be there. You have to try the duck, it is real Hong Kong style with just the right spices and accompanying sauces. I have been back now three times and I was reluctant to talk about this place as I want to keep my secret a secret, but it is time to share.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Without reservation no chance to eat here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We passed by this restaurant twice, on different days at different times, without reservation, and were not able to have more than a glimpse at the establishment. Both times we were told that without reservation there is no chance to eat there. We were not offered a table at a later time, but immediately complimented out of the door. Very obviously these people did not need our business...

The food may be good here, but we won't be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfectly Decent Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

A very intimate restaurant in central Munich which provides enjoyable chinese food but is a little let down by being (on the night I went at least) a little slow in the area of service although perfectly nice when in attendance. I went on a very busy Saturday night and enjoyed a very pleasant meal (Hong Kong chicken). I found the wine somewhat overpriced with the least expensive red wine (German) at €31. The food itself was good but not as hot as I might have liked when it arrived at table. My companion certainly enjoyed their crispy duck pancakes and indeed their visit more than I did. Faster service may have bumped this retaurant up to a 4 for me.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chi Hong Kong Cuisine also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Chi Hong Kong Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chi Hong Kong Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.