We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a decent Chinese Restaurant in Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chi Hong Kong Cuisine

Chi Hong Kong Cuisine
Rumfordstrasse 14, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89/43571281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #737 of 2,849 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Finally a decent Chinese Restaurant in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Been living here some time now and one of my complaints has always been that I could not find a decent Chinese restaurant in Munich. There are lots of "Asian" restaurants that service the whole range of Asian foods, including Chinese, Thai, Japanese, and whatever else they feel like putting on the menu this month. Chi is authentic, food is excellent, service is excellent, and the owner is there, and she likes you to be there. You have to try the duck, it is real Hong Kong style with just the right spices and accompanying sauces. I have been back now three times and I was reluctant to talk about this place as I want to keep my secret a secret, but it is time to share.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Without reservation no chance to eat here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We passed by this restaurant twice, on different days at different times, without reservation, and were not able to have more than a glimpse at the establishment. Both times we were told that without reservation there is no chance to eat there. We were not offered a table at a later time, but immediately complimented out of the door. Very obviously these people did not need our business...

The food may be good here, but we won't be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfectly Decent Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

A very intimate restaurant in central Munich which provides enjoyable chinese food but is a little let down by being (on the night I went at least) a little slow in the area of service although perfectly nice when in attendance. I went on a very busy Saturday night and enjoyed a very pleasant meal (Hong Kong chicken). I found the wine somewhat overpriced with the least expensive red wine (German) at €31. The food itself was good but not as hot as I might have liked when it arrived at table. My companion certainly enjoyed their crispy duck pancakes and indeed their visit more than I did. Faster service may have bumped this retaurant up to a 4 for me.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We went there for a quick lunch menu, but we saw so many dellicious courses in the menu that we had to come back also for a dinner. And I have to say it was really good idea, the atmosphere, stuff and meal from appetizer to desert was great, and soups! We enjoyed this place very much, spend there more than 3hours.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Crispy Aromatic Duck !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was the second time we went to Chi having read in a local newspaper that (finally!) there was a restaurant in Munich serving Crispy Aromatic Duck. Previously I had the pleasure of enjoying this only when visiting the U.K..

It was worth the visit. Depending on your appetite Chi offers a "starter" and "main dish" version. Yes, I chose it as a main dish. Really good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chi Hong Kong Cuisine also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Chi Hong Kong Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chi Hong Kong Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.