We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Muenchner Freiheit

Cafe Muenchner Freiheit
Muenchner Am Rotkreuzplatz, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 (089) 33 00 79 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,067 of 2,824 Restaurants in Munich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Dessert
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I wouldn't say this was worth going out of your way for. The food and drink were alright, if nothing special, but the service was downright strange. No smiles, no politeness, just a brief and mildly aggressive curtness. And, while I don't think it was deliberate, we were also overcharged. If you're nearby, you're starving and it's raining, then pop in. Otherwise, I'd say just about everywhere in Munich will be just as good, if not better.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    29
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Extremely poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I guess location is everything and these guys don't need to focus on offering at least semi-decent service even, because they seem to be busy, all the time. Location, location location! We have been there several times now and have always been greeted with a long face. Last time we sat outside, almost-spring-time weather. The waitress dramatically crossed her arms as to let us know she was cold, and huffed and puffed while we ordered. We ordered a simple coffee. It took less than 50 seconds and we didn't even need to look at a menu. Even though Location might be "everything" they don't seem to offer anything outstanding. There are several other cafe's in that area, in my opinion, all offering a better quality/taste of coffee anyway. Their baked goods are nothing special, nor is their ice cream. To boot, the place is filthy...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service, decent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Not so friendly service because I didn't speak German, and no menu in English. The food was excellent and at a reasonable price. Crowded with locals enjoying coffee. 20 Euros for lunch for 2.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had the impression that the personnel hate people and hate taking orders. If you ask what something is, they'll give you an ugly face... I wrote a letter of complaint, but never got an answer!!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great for people watching.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The whole experience was good. Took a while to get the attention of wait staff; but once engaged they were very friendly. A nice place to sit and enjoy the passing foot traffic.
Food was excellent.
They were very accommodating and trusting when our TRAVELLEX card could not be operated by them.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Muenchner Freiheit also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Cafe Muenchner Freiheit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Muenchner Freiheit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.