We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian food in Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garam Masala

Garam Masala
Radlsteg 1, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49089 24 24 59 07
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,185 of 2,822 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good Indian food in Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went here on our last night of a two week trip in Central Europe...was a nice change from sausage and schnitzels. Contrary to other reviews, there was virtually no one else there while we ate on a Friday night, other than an Indian gentleman who came just as we were finishing, but we were eating pretty early (just past six pm). There is work being done on the central Munich metro lines and stations at the weekends now, maybe that keeps locals away? Anyway, the food was amazing and reasonable priced, the service was good. We ate outside on the sidewalk, which was nice but a little spartan as the sidewalk is narrow and not much view...but there was little foot or car traffic, and it was a beautiful night, so it worked out great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    8
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Have been to this restaurant several times, unfortunately on this occasion we were let down by the quality of the food and the service. We had to wait ages for our drinks, and the same with the refills. The restaurant staff tried to tell us that a peshwari naan had cheese in and not nuts and raisins. They did relent and eventually replaced the naan after we had finished our meal. We were still charged for them but did not leave a tip. We were a group of 10 and will not go there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great Indian restaurant in Munich. Food was terrific, service was fine and staff was friendly.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cosy Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Service, quality of food and restaurant interior. Also very near to Marienplatz - easy to find.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Lovely Indian food in pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Small restaurant and good to reserve on the weekend though full at 1900 very extensive menu. I had a lovely fish in coconut sauce and raita. A nice Indian beer. Reasonable prices and close to the marienplatz. Worth a trip if you are in the mood for a change of pace.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garam Masala also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Garam Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garam Masala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.