We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Munich Munchies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangostin Airport

Mangostin Airport
Flughafen Muenchen Terminal 2 | Ebene 05, landside, 85356 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 97585000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #907 of 2,804 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $11 - $39
Cuisines: Asian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The MANGOSTIN dependence within the public area of Terminal II at the Munich Airport. A spacious restaurant spread out over the gallery furnished with exquisite wood, statues and Thai flair, frequented by travellers and Munich citizens equally. Seven different types of Asian noodles are served at the Noodle Bar with savoury broth and tasty soup vegetables and meat as stew or served with fried vegetables, meat, fish or seafood directly from the wok onto your dish. Thailand is famous for its excellent curry specialities. Sushi and Sushi To Fly or for Take Away are prepared on the spot. Top quality authentic dishes are our mission. That is why we have our own purchasing office at the heart of Bangkok from which all products are flown out to us per weekly by air freight in the desired top quality which we would otherwise only get from Thailand.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Munich Munchies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

There is no better place to set yourself up for that 9pm flight back to Blighty than the Mangostin:

"Delicious Thai cuisine, a noodles bar and sushi from the restaurant Mangostin Airport at terminal 2, level 05 invites guests to stay."

I had a bowl of duck noodles and have to say that they were every bit as good or surpassed the quality I have experienced in city restaurants. And..... what better way to set yourself up for the flight home than warm food in your belly and a glass or two of wine. Especially if you are as uneasy on those infernal flying machines as I am.

Efficient, delicious but as you would expect at the Airport, a little pricey. Recommend heartily.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Mangostin Airport, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear "GaryCoughlan", thank you very much for taking your time to write your kind review. We are always glad if we can "upgrade" our guests travelling experience :)
With our best wishes all the way to Chesterfield, The Mangostin Airport in munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“unbelievable quality @airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

didn't feel like eating after oktoberfest, but when i took a look at the menu i had to "thai"

thought it was a bit pricey, because lot of airport venues are oberpriced an they try to save on quantity and quallity and not expect a return visit!

But after ordering we were surprised about the quick service, and everything was great! we spent 160 euro and left a american style tip! cause we thought everything was great, only 2 little complaints 1. drink service was on slow side 2. no ice in any drink (but that might be german custom)

hope I'm ever in the neigbourhood on a sunday, but basically any day will do!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfram S, social media management at Mangostin Airport, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear "SonnyGlasses", thank you for writing about your experience at our restaurant. We are glad you liked our food - especially after visiting the Oktoberfest :)
Sorry about the slow drink service - our crew may have also visited the Oktoberfest the night before ..... and yes, in many parts of europe guests have to ask for ice in drinks. This is only because some people feel that they only want to pay for a full drink, and not for ice. "Usually" our service crew asks our guests if they want ice.... but i guess .... the Oktoberfest.
Thanks again for visiting, and for writing about it on TripAdvisor.
Best wishes to Florida, from the Mangostin Airport in munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food, a little on the pricy side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Good, friendly and quick service, excellent food. Variety of Thai, Chinese Japanese food. Very well prepared, a little on the pricy side. We easily spent 120 € for two adults and two kids, each of us just having one soda and one main dish. Only one of us had soup, which was also excellent. If you like above mentioned food style, you would definitely like Mangostin.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Very good, clean place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very good, clean place but they should have more varieties.
It is in the second floor of the airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starnberg, Germany
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Pricey bu delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I will eat every meal at this restaurant when I'm flying out of Munich...the Cashew Chicken is DELICIOUS and it's a large enough portion to share. The dish is 15,90Euros and we also got spring rolls which were 9,90Euros...there were either 6 or 8 but I can't be sure. Best of all, the staff are lovely. I left a 3Euro tip before our Christmas Eve flight and was thanked with a handshake and really felt I made the server's day. The second time I visited, the service was just as great - I came with my mom both times! So, if you're looking for a good pre-flight feed or a nice sayonara meal, this is your place! :) They also have a buffet on Sundays (maybe other days too) with lots of sushi...I'm not a sushi fan so we passed on this! :)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangostin Airport also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Mangostin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangostin Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.