We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern stylish hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich to your Saves list
Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Moosacher Strasse 90 | 80809 Munich, 80809, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 394 Hotels in Munich
West Lothian, Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Modern stylish hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I stayed here for three nights with a group of lads for Oktoberfest 2013. It is a very modern stylish hotel.The hotel is also very clean and the rooms are comfortable.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is a bit away from the city centre - approx 15 Euro in a taxi. It was quite expensive, but we stayed here during Oktoberfest so all hotels are expensive then. Overall this is a good hotel and I would stay here again when visiting Munich.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gord1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
falmouth, maine
Level Contributor
451 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Got 5 rooms for 8 guys for Oktoberfest. Ok rate. Initially very impressed. Slick modern super clean. Bathroom fixtures were spotless. But wifi didn't work AND there were charges minimum 5.90€ for an hour 11.90€ for 24h. I never got connected. When asked about this at desk I was told to call an 800 number. Next day a guy at desk watched me log on and it worked …until I got to my room. And I have NO idea if I got charged for every time I tried to sign up. Next - towels weren't changed. Yeah I know all about hanging them up vs leaving on floor. Then I used a ceramic coffee cup each morning. On the second day they left the dirty cup and didn't replace it or the coffee makings. Left used glasses in bathroom. There were also paper trash left on floor
On the plus side convenient to u bahn which was very easy to use. Breakfast was NOT included. So overall it worked for us but I wouldn't ever use this again if I had a reasonable alternative.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chimayred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoRoyal, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear chimayred,

We are very pleased to have been able to welcome you at the Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich.

It is very unfortunate that you were nevertheless confronted with inconveniences during your stay. Therefore I would like to thank you very much for your feedback. For our hotel chain we decided to use an external provider for internet access and TV in order to ensure the best and latest technology. This does not allow us to offer internet access free of charge except for the computers at the business corner. However, together with our provider we are constantly in progress to improve our internet connection for all existing devices. We just doubled our bandwidth to offer a better and stable performance.

Furthermore I would really like to apologize that your room was not perfectly cleaned up and the towels were not changed. I am afraid your room wasn’t checked sufficiently, which of course is inexcusable.

Dear chimayred, I would like to thank you for your feedback and hope that one day we will be able to welcome you in our hotel again and convince you of its high quality.

Kind regards

Jan Heringa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

even though the hotel was within good walking distance of the train station, it is quite removed from Munich Central and therefore the action....the hotel itself is great, good room, great amenities, very helpful staff

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Verna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed here due to a client's recommendation. First, the good points are the hotel including the room is clean, fairly new and close to the subway station. Now the bad: expensive, no free wifi, front desk people seemed to have bad attitudes, 21 Euro breakfast and no other food option in walking distance outside the hotel. The closest restaurant is Burger King, but it opens from 9am. There is a free early bird breakfast from 4:00-6:30am at the hotel, but don't expect much. I went at 6:20am, but they only had orange juice and yogurt remaining. At 6:25am, they started to clear the remaining stuff and I was only able to get a glass of orange juice. I got there too late but it's not worth waking up early for it. The cost to stay was about 300 Euros per night. Maybe because it was just before Oktoberfest, but this was ridiculous. I'm on a business trip, so the company pays and doesn't hurt my wallet, but if I was there on vacation, I would stay at a hotel closer to downtown Munich.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluemanta333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is within walking distance from the Olympic park and BMW welt, museum, plant, and head quarter. It is 5 km from the city center.

The hotel is clean and the rooms are small.

Parking is available at 15 € a day. No luggage services.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_Saihati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was ideal for our BMW visit. The only shortcoming was no free wifi, BUT....great location to the train station from the Munich airport, downtown Munich for dining shopping, and walking distance to BMW Welt- 10 minutes tops with luggage! The Room is comfortable, clean, and quiet. Though mostly a business persons hotel, the breakfast was an absolute feast and falls into the "Sunday Brunch" league. Easy to hit the autobahn access also.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alaskanjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Where in the world do you pay for internet? I am sorry but that was in 2003. Not today. When you come from abroad, WiFi is the best way to connect home. Management, get real! E.T. wanna phone home!

The size of the lobby makes it look like a french Hypermarche or an unpersonal Bahnhof (despite that it looks good on photos....).

They have live music in this oversized hall, and that puts me stright back in the sadder parts of the 80s. This is so over. Place looks like it is filled with used cars salesmen on business trip. A couple of nicely dressed girls in the bar looked expensive in a cheap way. I almost turned around before reaching the reception, but since the night was paid already I chose saving money and live with the depression. Could not understand what the receptionist said due to the loud music, but seemed to be someting nice and professional.

Rooms are correct though. Very standardly boringly correct. No surprises in any ways. Playing safe. Probably built in the late 90s when examining the style - Beige and dark fake wood. And probably this is the reason for keeping internet payable.

Room Tip: Pick a room closer to city center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stale V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardoRoyal, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Stale V,

I would like to thank you very much that you have taken the time to give us a feedback about your stay. We are very pleased to have been able to welcome you at the Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich. We are convinced that our beautiful hotel is an enrichment to Munich. Nevertheless it is very unfortunate that you were confronted with inconveniences during your stay.

For our hotel chain, we have decided to use an external provider for our TV service and Internet connections. Our main focus of interest is to offer a fast connection and the latest technology to our guests at any time. In addition to that, in our business corner we have 8 terminals to access the Internet, free of charge.

Once more, thank you very much for your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you in our house again.

Kind regards

Jan Heringa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
5.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
2.3 mi away
Innside by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
5.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Munchen Ost Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adagio Access Munchen City Olympiapark
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre
2.4 mi away
Pullman Hotel Munich
Pullman Hotel Munich
#52 of 394 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich

Address: Moosacher Strasse 90 | 80809 Munich, 80809, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star superior Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich welcomes you near the Olympia Park and is the perfect hotel for every stay in Munich. From here the city of Munich, the trade fair Messe Munchen and the airport are within easy reach. Modern architecture, tasteful interior and a harmonious colour concept are distinctive for the 424 rooms, the spacious restaurant>>Vitruv<< and the trendy lounge>>Leo90<<. Spread across a total area of 1.800 Sqm, seven light-flooded meeting rooms and the royal ballroom for up to 800 guests offer a lot of space for all kinds of meetings, events and corporate conventions. The hotel also offers sauna, fitness area and a Zino Cigar Lounge by Davidoff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing