We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lux to your Saves list
Hotel Lux
Ledererstrasse 13, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 380 Hotels in Munich
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Super Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel Lux was a great, modern retreat. Offering free wifi, soft comfy beds & directly in the middle of the Historic City Center, this is a fantastic base for your touristy travels

No elevators so beware if traveling w/ heavy bags or people who have limited mobility. My parents cannot handle too many stairs so we called ahead of time & they were nice enough to make sure we were placed on the first floor (that's the 2nd floor to us Americans)

Even though we were right above the bar, we couldn't hear a peep from below however the noise from the hallway was very loud - voices & door slams echoed throughout

Parking is not free but there is a nearby garage that is happy to drain your wallet. Also, you'll want to beware of traffic! The hotel is on a 1-way street but cars are going all over the place & my Dad was almost hit by some guy trying to park

Happy to discover there was no buffet-style breakfast but real off the menu made-to-order! We enjoyed eggs cooked a variety of ways & bircher muesli (there were other kinds of muesli as well) & let's not forget the espresso drinks.

Lattes were pretty creamy but had to order an extra shot of espresso to get a better coffee to milk ratio but even so, still delish

Would recommend Hotel Lux to anyone looking to make a centralized base in Munich

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    48
    13
    5
    9
See reviews for
11
50
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario-Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

hotel is very clean, excellent hot breakfast and very close to center of the city. Very convenient location with very pleasant and helpful staff. Room was a decent size but lack of elevator makes carry your luggage to your room a bit of an issue. Room was quiet and bathroom was a bit small but typical for European accomodations

Room Tip: hotel does not have an elevator so ask for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

As the other reviewers indicated, rooms are clean and the location is excellent. However, if you don't speak or understand much German, you can be at a lost. There is nothing in the room in English. The rooms are not noisy but I wouldn't call them quiet. There is not a lot of lux here--no laundry service, room service, minibar. It is more of an expensive no frills place. With a reduced price, this would be an excellent value. Right now, it is just a great location at a hefty price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked by my cousin who lives there with his wife - the four of us went and had a fantastic night. Food excellent, service excellent. Very intimate small place so need to book - perfect for couples and small groups.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We (me and my husband) have just had a great stay for 8 nights during cold February at Hotel Lux in Munich. Super central location ...in the middle of everything and all kind of possibilities just around the corner.
The room was fine...roomy and clean and no problem with noise from the street ...and very important...their wifi worked absolutely perfect all over the hotel - incl. rooms - and is free !!!! :-)
You can have Hotel Lux arranging transfer from the airport as well...at a really fair price - easy going :-)
The staff were absolutely great as well....they were really helpful and service oriented in any way....all of them. They even went out and bought some special tea for me to help me sleep ....thanks a lot, Sven :-)
We can highly recommend Hotel Lux ...and their restaurant/bar (ground floor)....and we will be back for sure.
Many warm regards, Gitte and Michael Sehested Lund

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I wrote this entire review as a 3, then changed to a 4 at the last minute. Here's the break down.

Location is great. Rooms are clean (no worries about this one at all). Breakfast is included and tasty. Bathroom seems new. Price was not the cheepest, but reasonable.

Now, the only reason for my hesitstion on a 4 (3.7) is the overall feel of the hotel. There is no lobby. You have to go into the door to the left which is the entrance to the attached restaurant, then check in at the cash register at the bar. That also eliminates all the amminities that come with a lobby and front desk service.

There is no lift so be prepared to carry your bags to your room (3rd floor in our case). The decor of the stairwell is okay but just seems a bit dated. Rooms are similar, very clean with enough space but seem dated.

At the end of the day, we are here for 1 night, we have a clean room in the center of the city, and free breakfast in the morning. Can't get too picky.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed there one night. It was difficult decision to stay there as this hotel has no ordinary reception... It's reception is in the bar on the ground floor.
It is not good for people with huge suitcases, as there is no elevator.
Rooms are big and well equiped. Breakfast is very-very tasty and various. Staff is friendly.
Hotel is two steps away from the Hofbräuhaus, there is no chance to lost your way when you are drunk. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lux

Address: Ledererstrasse 13, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.