We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension am Jakobsplatz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pension am Jakobsplatz to your Saves list
Pension am Jakobsplatz
Dultstr. 1 | 80331 Munich, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 60 Munich B&B and Inns
Northwest
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“December 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was our second stay at Jakobsplatz. This is one of our favorite places to stay.
The location is super convenient and even more so now that the pedestrian zone has been extended to almost directly in front of Jakobsplatz. We stayed in room 4, which is the same room we stayed at previously. Bed is comfortable, Nice to have electrical outlets next to bed. free wifi, good size bathroom with nice size shower. Currently there is some construction in the area due to expanding the pedestrian zone and a new building. The construction workers were on break while we were there, but if you ask the owner what the status of the construction is, he will tell you. If you are all about sleeping in, it might be an issue, but if you are going to be up and out and about, my guess it's not that big of a deal.

Christoph is super helpful and is just a interesting person to talk to. He knows and loves Munich and so it is really nice to be able to ask questions and get a lot of information or at least, he can point you in the direction of how to get information.

The breakfast is really nice, typical european breakfast with fresh breads, yogurt, cheese, dried fruits, meat, juice, jams and coffee. It is included in the room price.

Rates are reasonable and the room is clean and comfortable.

The pension is in the heart of the city, but that being said, it is pretty quiet. We didn't hear a lot of street noise on either trip here.

Great location if you want to spend time in town and easy walk to market area and we walked to train station even with our packs. It is a about a mile away, if that.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 - private bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    45
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
140
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

+++ excellent location, good breakfast, basic beds and welcoming hosts.
--- strong cigaret smell (room 4) and bad smell all over the flat, cleanliness could improve and noisy
Conclusion: Price/Quality ratio is ok. I would go back.

Room Tip: Best room is number 1 (if restaurant's tables outside are not busy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Host Christoph and his team like Mark were friendly and always willing to help us in booking of meals or advise on tour package etc. The pension is very accessible via the bahn transport system and within walking distance - about 5 mins from Marienplatz station. The breakfast was filling to set us off to a hearty start for the day. The photos on the website are true to real life so check them out to decide if you are okay to the style of the showers (separated from the rest of the room only via a shower curtain).

Overall, a good value stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 has in-room toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in Room No.1 for four nights during November and unfortunately I don't share the enthusiasm of other reviewers.

On the positive side the location is good, just 5 minutes away from Marienplatz and our host Christoph was friendly and informative. Accommodation in Munich was expensive and by comparison the price here seemed reasonable. They also provide a cold buffet style breakfast that is basic but filling.

On the negative side the room is very small with virtually no storage and we were constantly bumping into our suitcases. Noise insulation is poor and we could hear guests talking in the next room and also hear street noise from the tables outside the restaurant below. Thankfully the weather was cold and the street tables were mostly vacant.
There is a small shower in the room but because of the lack of ventilation the whole room steamed up after a shower with condensation running down the window and soaking the only available place to put papers and our computer.

There is no safe, fridge or tea making facilities in the room but you do have access to the breakfast room at all times.

Room Tip: If I was travelling to Munich again I would look for hotels closer to the Munich train station. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Perfect position close to historic centre of Munich. Only 5 minutes walk to old town hall and central markets. Clean and comfortable and great value for money. Deserves its high ranking on trip advisor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Excellent location especially for the Christmas markets. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with information about the city. I was in a room with it's own bathroom. The only downside was the shower was very small even by German standards (in my opinon). But aside from that I found nothing wrong. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast is plentiful and tasty. I would stay here again when visiting Munich.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I were guests at the Jakobsplatz for three nights in late November. Our room was one of the two with the toilet outside the room. We did have a shower and wash basin in our room. The room itself is very small, but clean with a large window that floods the room with light. It was perfect for our needs as we were there only to sleep, and the beds were soft and comfy. Christoph and Marko were friendly and helpful, and provided a breakfast of breads, jams, meats, and cheeses. We would stay again at the Pension am Jakobsplatz, and it was the perfect choice for viewing the Christmas Markets in Marienplatz!

Room Tip: If you could get an en-suite room, I'm assuming that it would be larger and you would have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension am Jakobsplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension am Jakobsplatz

Address: Dultstr. 1 | 80331 Munich, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Pension am Jakobsplatz" is located on the first floor of a quiet side street only 300 metres from Marienplatz. It features modern, comfortable rooms with bath or shower, TV and Wi-Fi. Check in possible any time by appointment. We are very sorry, that we have to inform you about the construction site on the premises next door to the pension until the end of 2014 . If, then only room no.4 Is mostly affected, because it faces to the backyard / construction site. The other three rooms are facing to a small lane part of the pedestrian zone. We can not predict what will be the stage of the reconstruction during your stay and how much noise will be hearable. On construction sites it is allowed to work from 7:00 am until 20:00 pm on workdays. Up to now they worked until 17:00. The nights will be silent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Pension am Jakobsplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Am Jakobsplatz Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension am Jakobsplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.