We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude hostess” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Lounge

Lotus Lounge
Inh. Ralf Plitt e.K. | Hans-Sachs-Straße 10, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 - 21899755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #330 of 2,811 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rude hostess”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We entered the restaurant at 19:45 on a Saturday. The hostess immediately turned us down saying all spots were reserved. Interestingly enough, 3 of the approximate 20 tables were taken. We are not sure why we were turned down but he appeared to be anti-tourist. There are plenty of great restaurants near by that were willing to accept us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thai Food in Münich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Good food, ok service, big menu.
Located in the city centre, 15 minutes walk from Marienplatz. Many good bars nearby and it also is located near Gärtnerplatz, a great place to bring your beer/wine to drink outside during the evening/night.

Possibilities for outdoors serving.

Spicy food!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing Special!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

The decor was nice but the food was mediocre. The waitress insisted we give her a tip even though we told her we didn't want to, persuasive Chinese lady.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My first review ever as i feel compelled to give one!
I saw that this restaurant had good reviews and booked for last Friday night (18th May 2012) for 6 people but after some messing only 3 of us turned up. I was quite embarrased but the restaurant was completely unfazed by this. The service was unhurried and unpressured yet responsive when wanted. There was great wine. But above all the food was of amazing quality, freshness and taste with portions "perfectly" generous i.e. not overly so. My 2 companions live in SE Asia (and questioned me with humour as to why i had chosen Thai cuisine for our evening). Yet in the end they were gushing in their praise describing it as one of the best Thai meals they have ever had. Praise indeed.
The dining room was brilliant... just right, feeling "busy" with great atmosphere yet it did not feel crowded at all.
I do not quite know what i had expected... but what we got was superb in all aspects and as my title says - a wonderful surprise.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good dinner in very relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The staff, a young Asian Lady, was very nice and kind, The food arrived very quickly and it is well presented and good. I had a soup (chicken, mushrooms, coconut milk and coriander) and prawn in green curry. The size of the plate were quite big and I struggled to finish all!
We spend 55 Euros in two with two courses each, jasmine tea, water and rice.
Good value for money. Very nice also the tables outside with candles and flowers. We choose it via Tripadvisor and it was a good choice!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lotus Lounge also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Lotus Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.